We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Shepherds Rest

    Alnwick Moor, Alnwick NE66 2AH, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    USD 116*
    View Deal
    Traveller (12)
    Dining (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Overview
    • Excellent65%
    • Very good22%
    • Average4%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible6%
    Travellers talk about
    “sunday lunch” (10 reviews)
    “the pub” (23 reviews)
    “dogs welcome” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Pool
    Room Service
    Suites
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Shepherds Rest
    Deals (9)
    3 Sep.4 Sep.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Ensuite, Garden View
      USD 116
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Ensuite, Garden View (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      USD 116
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Ensuite, Garden View
      USD 116
      View Deal
    All 9 deals for this property
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Ensuite, Garden View
      USD 116
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Ensuite, Garden View
      USD 116
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Ensuite, Garden View (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      USD 116
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Ensuite, Garden View
      USD 116
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Ensuite, Garden View
      USD 116
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Hot Tub, Garden View (room 3)
      USD 155
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Hot Tub, Garden View (room 3)
      USD 155
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Hot Tub, Garden View (room 3) (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      USD 155
      View Deal
    • Standard Double or Twin Room, Hot Tub, Garden View (room 3)
      USD 155
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 9
    Langley Castle Hotel
    1,126 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
     
    Best Western Beaumont Hotel
    126 reviews
    #2 of 6 hotels in Hexham
     
    Battlesteads Hotel
    1,143 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Wark
     
    Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
    472 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (99)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 98 reviews

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Booked 2 rooms, checked into our twin room first and very disappointed to find a very shabby room, paper coming away from wall, dirty looking carpets, bathroom very small with nowhere to put anything, no soap and no hand towel on the towel ring, filthy...More

    Thank LizPrior56
    Response from Susan M, Manager at The Shepherds RestResponded 3 weeks ago

    I am very sorry to here this the rooms are clean and comftable and the showers and toilets are small but we inherited these we will take all concerns on board but if you had concerns it would of been good if you had passed...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Upon arrival the lady in charge had no idea. Customers were helping themselves behind the bar, serving each other but would not serve us!! She didn't know we were booked in, we were offered the wrong accommodation. The double room consisted of two single beds...More

    3  Thank PeterBardon
    Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 3 weeks ago

    I am so sorry you feel like this we try to help and advice every one that comes in we have other reviews that are exserlent granted the beds were pushed together we had a leak paper on wall will be sorted, but as for...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We arrived on Friday 7th July 2017 for a 3 night stay at the campsite, we wanted to camp here because of its proximity to Alnwick Gardens and Alnwick Castle. The site is small and the facilities are basic, but they are very clean and...More

    Thank bmcduk
    Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 3 weeks ago

    We enjoyed having you's thank you so much hope to see you soon Susan x

    Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

    What a fabulous weekend camping we've had at the shepherds rest. The staff, owners and customers were so welcoming to me and my family. The food was lovely definitely get value for money. We will definitely be going back it is also fab for the...More

    Thank Lizzie R
    Reviewed 18 April 2017

    We booked a stay at The Shepherds Rest over the Easter weekend in our campervan and we were not disappointed.The service was first class, nice site, nice pub with very good meals at reasonable prices and very friendly people. The site owner could not have...More

    2  Thank CampervanPeg
    Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 19 April 2017

    Hi sorry I was on the phone when you left come back soon loved your company very nice couple Thank you The Shepherds Rest Susan Martin

    Langley Castle Hotel
    1,126 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
     
    Best Western Beaumont Hotel
    126 reviews
    #2 of 6 hotels in Hexham
     
    Battlesteads Hotel
    1,143 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Wark
     
    Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
    472 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 100 - USD 154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Number of rooms
    • 2
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Shepherds Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Northumberland >
    • Alnwick
    • Also Known As
    • The Shepherds Rest Alnwick, Northumberland
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (12)
    Dining (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (17)
    Nearby
    Battlesteads Hotel
    1,143 reviews
    46.90 km away
     
    Best Western Beaumont Hotel
    126 reviews
    53.74 km away
     
    Langley Castle Hotel
    1,126 reviews
    59.95 km away
     
    Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
    472 reviews
    47.88 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Bari Tea Brewery
    301 reviews
    2.22 km away
    Thai Vibe
    300 reviews
    2.23 km away
    The Dirty Bottles Taproom, Smokehouse & Inn
    441 reviews
    2.22 km away
    Grannies
    275 reviews
    2.24 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Alnwick Castle
    3,662 reviews
    2.42 km away
    The Alnwick Garden
    3,433 reviews
    2.64 km away
    Howick Hall Gardens
    431 reviews
    2.09 km away
    Bailiffgate Museum and Gallery
    137 reviews
    2.26 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Biddis
    23 April 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Susan M | Property representative |
    Yes we are
    0
    Votes
    EmilyJar
    31 December 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Shepherdsrest12 | Property representative |
    Hi I have not got bump beds we r new owners I have a family room we have only had this pub 2 years I haven't had a famly in
    1
    Vote
    ANRYorkshire_England
    4 April 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Shepherdsrest12 | Property representative |
    I think Bob moved to America but has been seen in Alnwick hope that helps
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Do NOT stay at the Shepherds Rest"
    Read review
    "Every room is good."
    Read review
    "Nice views."
    Read review
    "Didn't look at the rooms as we were camping but campsite was lovely"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing