We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Save
Share
A1 Scotch Corner Junction A1/A66 nr Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
USD 69
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Scotch Corner
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1038Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 455
  • 360
  • 121
  • 54
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RivieraWhitby wrote a review Apr 2021
Whitby, United Kingdom24 contributions8 helpful votes
Shocked is an understatement. We used this hotel to have a meal on route to a further destination. We often have done and have never had this before. We were there less than one hour to eat our meal. A month later, we receive a parking fine of £100. I am gobsmacked. I appealed and they have emailed back saying that there are machines around the car park and signs saying to input your registration number. We did not think, and never have done before, to enter our registration number into a machine to eat at a hotel for lunch. We certainly will never use this hotel again and recommend no-one else does in case you fall foul to this awful protocol. Supporting a hospitality business in a difficult time has now cost us a fortune! Disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear RivieraWhitby Thank you for your feedback and I can assure you that currently we do not expect guests of our hotel restaurant customers to pay for parking. Please contact enquiries@hidarlington.co.uk and I am sure we can resolve this matter. Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
Steve19JS wrote a review Dec 2020
Morecambe, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
On arrival we were met by a rather bossy receptionist, who announced one of us could have an upgrade to an Executive room, which I took. The room was not exactly up to the Executive standard I have seen in many other hotels, poor standard of furniture with absolutely nothing in the mini bar! The room was cold no hot air coming out of the high up wall heater, I ended up with two quilts over me fully dressed, then decided to ring reception. I was told someone would be up as soon as possible, 35 mins later and a second call got the receptionist to come up, who immediately “ chastised” me for having it on to high and the wrong setting ( I had tried all settings before calling her) she also announced rather haughtily that in her opinion the room was warm enough, I said I wasn’t interested in what she thought and again I got a haughty response. She eventually after I pointed out, her fix hadn’t increased the hot air flow went and got an oil fired radiator, that produced plenty of heat to keep the room warm. The bathroom had no heating whatsoever and there is considerable road noise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Dear Steve19JS Thank you for your feedback, but may I take this opportunity to apologise for the experience you received when staying at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner. This far from the level of service I expect and I can assure you I take your comments very seriously indeed. Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope this experience has not put you off staying with us again in the future. Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
James B wrote a review Dec 2020
8 contributions9 helpful votes
When checking in the receptionist was rude The room was cold Heating not working The tv didn’t work The kettle didn’t work The toilet didn’t work And I got bitten Gas leak in the car park Apart from that what a lovely hotel
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 4 Dec 2020
Hi A6894CBjamesb, Thank you for your feedback, however I am sorry your experience was not to the standard we come to expect at Holiday Inn Darlington Scotch Corner. Your comments are very concerning for me and if I could trouble you for a little more detail, please feel free to email me gm@hidarlington.co.uk Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
traceyhaywood74 wrote a review Dec 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom5 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi. I stayed at Holiday Inn, Darlington, Scotch Corner in North Yorkshire on 30th November for 2 nights. I've just checked out Thank god! It's 7am and it wasn't soon enough!! Check in was by a lovely young man who was so nice. The hotel room has had no tv signal signal or wifi throughout my stay. I was told that it would be dealt with but it never was. The woman on reception was quite frosty and rude. She was on the desk on Tuesday 2nd around 4pm. She said it was being looked into and to go back to my room. I have been sat staring at 4 walls. At least I had my phone. The room wasn't clean either. Flies buzzing round, dirty cups, filthy kettle, long black hairs on the bath on arrival and dirty walls. Looks very different than the photos online. Its not really good enough. I will be taking this further and demand a full refund. I will never stay with holiday inn again. Premier inn are so much more superior, with lower prices and professional friendly staff. I cant abide rude, unprofessional staff. She wouldnt have a job but for us. Disgusting!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 7 Dec 2020
HI traceyhaywood74 Thank you for your feedback and as per my personal email to you, can I apologise for the experience you had when visiting the hotel. This is not the level of service I expect, nor should ever occur. Unfortunately there was a technical fault with the TV system that was beyond our control, however the other issues you raised have all been dealt with internally. Once again, please accept my apology and I hope you can visit the hotel again in the future. Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
Sheila M wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed three weeks on business and well looked after by the staff. They ensured my dietary requirements were met and were genuinely kind. Room was comfortable and quiet. Hotel with genuine Art Deco touches. Great pool and gym.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Hi Shelia M Thank you for your response and kind feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, particularly with the pool and gym with it being closed for so long during lockdown. We hope to see you again at Holiday Inn Darlington Scotch Corner. Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 62 - USD 104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn darlington a1 scotch corner hotel scotch corner, scotch corner hotel, corner hotel scotch
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Scotch Corner Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireScotch Corner
NUMBER OF ROOMS
91
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner?
Nearby attractions include Georgian Theatre Royal (6.0 km), Green Howards Museum (6.1 km), and Easby Abbey (5.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Heifer, Mocha, and The Coach House at Middleton Lodge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Scotch Corner.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Easby Abbey (5.7 km), Stanwick Iron Age Fortifications (8.0 km), and Weselyan Chapel (6.1 km).
Is Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.