We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 370: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visiting Grimsby in December as catching up with family for Christmas, so being the price was reasonable for a 3 night stay compared to other hotels in the area we opted for this hotel being also as it was central and car parking was available. We arrived late evening as it took us 3 1/2 hours to get here, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having used this hotel a number of times previously, we have always managed to turn a blind eye to the very dated 1970s decor on account of the excellent breakfast, which has superb Grimsby smoked haddock and kippers on the menu. So, needing to visit my mother in hospital, we thought that we would again use the St James Hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GSquared2013
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your Review. In the first instance allow me to apologise for any inconvenience, confusion and embarrassment with regards to the breakfast on both mornings. I note your comments that you were unable to book breakfast through the 3rd party website. I can find no reason as to why this would...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Currently on the last morning of a 2 night stay to visit family in Grimsby, just myself and my 9 month old baby staying at this hotel. I booked through a 3rd party website and got an excellent price for a twin room with a crib. I was contacted directly by the hotel to clarify my requirements and they moved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikkiville
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thanks so much for your great review! I'm delighted that we were able to contribute so much to your stay in Grimsby. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit your family. Warmest regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here for a family gathering so I checked in went out to my function, returned, had a drink then off to bed. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. The lobby was traditional, bright and warm. The lift was quiet and quick. The room was a decent size, bathroom modern, toiletries supplied along with plenty of towels. Service and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPepper
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback, i'm so pleased you felt we offered great value. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Warm regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was in Grimsby ok a business trip and arranged this hotel. The room is decent and big. The sound proofing wasn't very satisfying as noise from Main Street passerby can be clearly heard and the bed is old as you are able to feel the springs below it. Overall a ok hotel for a short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingflash
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm very pleased you were happy with the size of the room and that overall you felt the hotel was suitable for you on your short stay. We are in the process of replacing every bed and mattress within the hotel, hopefully should you return to the hotel...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A most pleasant three nights in this large hotel in the middle of Grimsby. Situated within a minute's walking distance to the Minster, two minutes to the fabulous new shopping centre, three minutes to the station and just 12 minutes to the Gala Bingo! The beautifully designed, bright dining room and bar served first class food. Perhaps the decoration in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidhenty
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, What a wonderful review! I am so grateful you have taken the time to review us, thank you and i'm delighted you were so happy with the hotel, its location and facilities. On behalf of the entire team here at the St James; we look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Warmest regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable accommodation with good room service and very pleasant staff who was always eager to please. Free wifi ,and free large car park. 100 yard walk will bring you to the the indoor market leading into freshney place shopping centre with all the shops you could wish for. Also next door to the hotel is pepys bar a proper drinking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philsmith4
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel and its location for shopping and amenities, i.e railway station and bus services. All the staff where most helpful, would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterleesing
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I'm delighted to note that not only were we able to surprise you but also that you would be happy to return! I am so pleased you felt able to positively comment on so many aspects of your stay, thank you! I will look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I must admit from looking at some of the previous comments to say I was a little bit worried is an understatement! I'm very pleased to say though that our 2 day break here was great! We were all pleasantly surprised! Our room was very clean and we slept well. Reception ordered us a 6 seater taxi without any problems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladylatham
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review which I'm very grateful for. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the St James hotel, even more so that we managed to allay your initial worries. Thank you for choosing the St James hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back should you...

Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very unsatisfactory stay. The rooms need total refurbishment. Uncomfortable beds dated decor unsanitary bathrooms. A restaurant decorated with weddings in mind. Greasy fish and chips served in the restaurant. Management need to take a hard look at this place but will no doubt be happy servicing the Contractors Market place.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JerryH-N
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback which unfortunately on this occasion is negative. The hotel caters for a wide market which does include contractors however that is not a market that is specifically targeted. The restaurant is not decorated with weddings in mind, it is decorated in a way to promote a light and airy feel which benefits every...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.1 km away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grimsby
331 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#5 of 9 in Grimsby
169 reviews
6.0 km away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
5.2 km away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Price Range: $54 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Hotel Grimsby England
St James Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St. James Hotel Grimsby staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The St. James Hotel Grimsby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't!!! Just don't stay here - ever!!!”
 of 5 bubbles GSquared2013, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We like room 205 overlooking green and church”
 of 5 bubbles philsmith4, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Always ask about quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles 493lyndal, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Opposite side to the square might be better”
 of 5 bubbles stevemI127GM, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure that the window is closed, bit high to close fully unless you're tall like me.”
 of 5 bubbles F417HUpatm, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay