We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scalford Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scalford Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

714 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 714: English reviews
Start your review of Scalford Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Marvellous valentines 7 course taster menu with all drinks and wines plus overnight stay. Excellent food, presentation and delivery. Good friendly welcome to hotel. Executive room booked to have bath. Room comfortable with cavernous well appointed bathroom possibly relatively recently redecorated, Main room a little tired. Free wi-if needing no password, strong throughout hotel. Good breakfast but staff a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The website was misleading. Driving up to the hotel gave a great 1st impression. However it was a let down as soon as you get in. The decor is in very poor taste and very dated. The whole place needs a good coat of paint, carpets, furniture and a general overhaul. There is nothing contemporary about the rooms. I reserved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twinklesandtwonkles
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Misleading images and testimonials on the website tempted us to us to book this disappointing hotel. After complaining about the room, as there was no cold water from the bathroom tap, poor decoration, with cracks in the walls and ceilings. Lisa the lovely and very helpful receptionist, showed us two alternative rooms, disappointingly both were in as poor condition, more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival, the receptionist got our booking wrong, placing us onto the cheaper deal. At the evening meal the food was very nice, although the staff's knowledge of the menu was lacking, not knowing what a terrine was. Breakfast was a shambles!! It was a buffet style breakfast and all ran out at the same time. We waited that long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
Colin W, Owner at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adam B, Thank you for your response to your stay with us. Depending on numbers we offer a full plated breakfast or buffet style. Either way it is always freshly cooked as call demands. Our new menu is delicious and well worth having - with a new Country Style menu - with dishes to die for. We are of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Main restaurant curtained off, put in a side room. Only half the Carvery this time due to lack of customers, only another couple in room with us and another couple waiting to be seated.. No condiments on table, lack of service from waitress didn't ask us whether we wanted additional drinks throughout the meal or tea and coffee at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekers888
Colin W, Owner at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sunseekers888 Thank you for your feedback. We run a carvery on Sundays and it can be very busy. Last Sunday was no different and a full carvery was provided. The room chosen was to match the anticipated number of guests. I am sorry the service was not to our full standard and the service have been advised on this...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for afternoon tea for two with champagne. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. Hotel could do with a lick of paint and room for afternoon tea was very plain but had a beautiful view which we enjoyed. Sandwiches were lovely and cakes delicious, then we had trifle and a small lemon syllabub followed by 2 enormous warm scones...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toni r
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel does need redecorating, but it is a magnificent building. The fires in the dining room are amazing. Our room had a lovely view of the garden and in the afternoon we had the gym to ourselves. The staff were very friendly and the food was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian_moi
ScalfordHallGM, Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest many thanks for your lovely comments which I will pass onto the team and I do hope we can welcome you back to Scalford Hall again in the near future. Kind regards

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The building looks lovely, the drive could use an update. The rooms were okay, everything looks a bit dated. The food was good, but sadly the real ale was 'off'--I had to take my pint back and have cider instead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrysT717
Colin W, Owner at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChrysT717 Many thanks for your comments. Our drive is one of beauty, but we do have many heavy delivery lorries using it, which means constant upgrading - our staff are onto this. Very sorry to hear about the real ale, we do change this on a regular basis with two guest ales on at any time. Best wishes, Colin

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Received a gift from friend with Groupon ~Champagne Afternoon tea for Two . We visit Melton Mowbray town before to the hotel ,easy to found ,but yellow soil road and the front of hotel you won't feel it's few star standard hotel . Good welcome reception, there had few big and nice dining area ,but we follow and be set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicKian
Colin W, Owner at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mickian, Many thanks for your interesting notes on afternoon tea. This has been such a great seller with many people coming. Our chefs cook everything from cakes, scones and trifles - they will vary from day to day. You might also like to try our lunch platter - equally good, and great for the warmer days coming, or our...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel via Wowcher for 2 nights b&b with a 3 course dinner on the 2nd night. Hotel was lovely, was very quiet while we were there but nothing was too much trouble at all for the staff to accommodate our needs. Drove in Melton Mowbray on the 1st night for a meal & enjoyed our meal in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah196999
Colin W, Owner at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah196999, Many thanks for your comments. So delighted all was good for you - we have some lovely offers coming up for Mother's day and Easter - so book early to avoid disappointment. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Colin

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
266 reviews
8.3 km away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
882 reviews
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
225 reviews
3.8 km away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
212 reviews
19.5 km away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scalford Hall cater for weddings and have a range of set packages along with the option to create a tailor made package just for you. We also hold a civil ceremony and civil partnership licence, enabling you to hold both your ceremony and reception here at Scalford Hall Hotel. Here at Scalford Hall Hotel we also have our very own Gym and Games Room, which is free of charge exclusively for residents. Scalford Hall Hotel has 80 bedrooms, 9 meeting rooms, 10 syndicate rooms and large event room catering for up to 500 guests. In addition there are 2 private dining rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scalford Hall Hotel

Address: Scalford Road, Melton Mowbray LE14 4UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Price Range: $85 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalford Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Scalford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalford Hall Hotel Melton Mowbray
Scalford Hall Melton Mowbray
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scalford Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Scalford Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lifts older manor style so long stairs to floors”
 of 5 bubbles 345brianh, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for upgrade when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Atinarolyat1, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Disabled rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles jackieb4263, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Only booked in for Sunday lunch, can't comment on rooms”
 of 5 bubbles DawnB676, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“views of the gardens are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles nhw9271, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5