We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitehall Hotel

Save
Traveller (55)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (4)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good17%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“afternoon tea”(17 reviews)
“four poster bed”(12 reviews)
“jacuzzi bath”(9 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
221
55
23
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
221
55
23
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teafour poster bedjacuzzi bathwhite hallbridal suitefrom start to finishevening receptionfantastic hotelreception roomnothing too much troublecouldn tperfect venuehis teamlovely roomcourse mealcouldn't do enoughtrifle
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Outstanding facilities outstanding staff all staff willing to go extra mile and beyond would recommend to everyone Dave the manager outstanding if you are looking to booka wedding this placecomes highly recommended

Thank burnleyfc2014
Response from Neil-Bullows, Manager at Whitehall HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear burnleyfc2014 Thank you for your review, we loved hosting your daughters wedding, I will pass on your comments to the entire team. We wish you and your family all the best for the future. Regards David Harvey General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, great comfortable rooms, superb food and incredibly helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to assist us. Wedding arrangements handled expertly and professionally. I highly reccommend

Thank Capefuntours
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Attended a wedding, 60/65 guests. Ceremony lovely, bar available all day. Same room for reception, cleared and tables set in time for meal. Staff helpfull and polite. Meal very nice. Rooms if you needed to stay over. Pleasant surroundings.

Thank Doreen L
Response from Neil-Bullows, Manager at Whitehall HotelResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Doreen L Thank you for your kind words, I will pass your comments onto the staff and chef. We hope to see you again soon. Regards David Harvey General Manager

Reviewed 16 April 2018

Stayed at the Whitehall overnight, upgraded our room to executive, large spacious room , a lovely room, hotel clean , nicely decorated, restaurant light and airy, food beautiful, excellent value, nice location, ideal for Botany Bay, staff friendly, couldn’t do enough for you. Spa bath...More

Thank Ethanhoward1
Response from Neil-Bullows, Manager at Whitehall HotelResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Ethanhoward1 Thank you for you review, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Whitehall Hotel, I will pass on your comments to our team. I will investigate as to why the bath mat was missing from your room as...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Was a brilliant day and night for the in laws wedding I wouldn't mind having mine there staff are very professional friendly and accommodating would highly recommend for a decent wedding package or even just a night away hotel rooms are lovelyMore

Thank dunnylaa
Response from Neil-Bullows, Manager at Whitehall HotelResponded 26 April 2018

Dear dunnylaa Thank you for your kind words, we are all delighted that you had a brilliant day attending your in-laws wedding. We would be delighted if you chose to hold your wedding day at The Whitehall Hotel, if we can provide you with any...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Darwen
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 91 - USD 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 91 - USD 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (55)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marie R
6 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Whitehall1 | Property representative |
The front door closes at 11pm mid week, at the weekend it is dependant on if we have a wedding, what date is it you are looking at?
1
Vote
Martin S
I have been looking at your hotel as a potential venue, however my concern seen by my partner to a recent reviews about poor service where of no great concerns given peoples differing opinions. However my one major area of concern is with your apparent substandard food hygiene rating as identified on ratings.food.gov.uk/business/en-GB/212113/Whitehall-Hotel-Darwen by the local council The site rates your establishment as a 2 – Improvement necessary at the date of inspection on the 03 August 2016 Area inspected by food safety officer Standards found Hygienic food handling - Hygienic handling of food including preparation, cooking, re-heating, cooling and storage - Generally satisfactory Cleanliness and condition of facilities and building - Cleanliness and condition of facilities and building (including having appropriate layout, ventilation, hand washing facilities and pest control) to enable good food hygiene - Improvement necessary Management of food safety - System or checks in place to ensure that food sold or served is safe to eat, evidence that staff know about food safety, and the food safety officer has confidence that standards will be maintained in future. -Generally satisfactory What can you do as a potential visitor to alleviate my concerns of not becoming ill due to your poor food preparation standards especially around the Cleanliness and condition of facilities and building which was reported as “Improvement necessary”? Can you advise of why such a highly rated venue would achieve such a low score? Can you confirm what improvements you have made? Can you ensure your food preparation is of a standard rather than of a dodgy back street café or take-away?
16 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Whitehall1 | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. At the time of the inspection we were undergoing structural work to the kitchen and there was issue with some of the working practice. Recommendations were made and not enforcements of which were... More
0
Votes
rendrag56
11 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Neil-Bullows | Property representative |
We believe we sell a quality product at a reasonable price in the environment in which it is offered. As is widely accepted, wine is subjective to palate and a good wine is one you enjoy.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Excecutive room very spacious."
Read review
"Stay somewhere else - rooms 22 and 26 no hot water"
Read review
"Book somewhere else"
Read review
"Ask for the jacuzzi bath!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing