We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Continental

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Continental
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 385: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely sea view room (3) recently renovated, well appointed,but the shower was neither hot or sufficiently strong for a decent wash. Disappointing really given so much about the hotel was spot on. Nice staff good breakfast great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart r
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in room 17, which is a nice room overall. However, what lets this hotel down is the staff, who are not at all welcoming. As for the room, no toiletries and the shower was a dribble at best. When I mentioned (note, I did not complain, merely mentioned) that the shower wasn't working all I got was "oh, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAK12
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and apologise that you did not consider your stay to be good value for money. We generally receive very positive feedback about our staff, in particular how friendly they are, so it is surprising to hear that this was not your experience. Best wishes.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love the Hotel! Newly refurbished to a high standard. Great friendly staff and the breakfast was amazing. Only issue was that the room we had 17 was a box room not suitable in my opinion for a couple. It was clean and tidy ,Ok for getting your head down for the night? But definitely not a short break room. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ironman2626
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do have larger rooms available and reception would be happy to advise on which room would be most suitable if you are planning a longer stay. The water pressure is a problem that we are aware of and are working towards rectifying. Kind regards.

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely pre-Christmas stay here, 3 nights. We stayed in room number 7 with a balcony overlooking the sea, cute room with wooden floors and comfy (although a bit soft) bed. Staff are so friendly and happy - always greeting you with a smile. Fab breakfast and cosy bar downstairs too. We'll definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenaHLondon
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in room 7. Best wishes.

Wormshill
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the family room for 5. The room was very well laid out, comfortable and very well equipped. The staff were all very friendly and the night porter was very helpful when my husband needed letting into our room in the early hours of the morning after giving someone a lift to hospital and back! The windows would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyshopper65
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early on Boxing Day and were given a parking permit. Enjoyed a post Christmas stretch of legs to Herne Bay and back (approx 6/7 miles return) with a pit stop at the Hampton Inn - (highly recommended). Checked in to Room 2: clean, comfortable, lots of storage, nicely decorated. Overlooked the quiet side road and could see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roserose3
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, particularly the breakfast. The jams are locally sourced from a small company in a nearby village called Wye. We are aware of the problem with the water pressure and are working towards rectifying it. Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 December 2016

Had eaten here before but never stayed. Had lovely (compact but functional) delux sea view room with terrace. Nice and clean, decent sized bathroom, very cute, would stay again. Staff all friendly. Had mussels in restaurant - excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and meal in the restaurant. Kind regards

West Midlands
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We booked the Continental after our friends recommended it, although they had only stopped in the huts. When we arrived the staff were lovely and friendly. We had a drink in the bar with friends, great atmosphere. The hotel looked freshly decorated and clean. We then went to our room on the second floor. Although nicely decorated it has to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilove2travelalways
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. We are aware of and apologise for the problem with the water pressure in certain rooms and are working towards rectifying this. The hotel is an old building and there are restrictions on what we have been able to do regarding the size of the rooms during our renovations....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We were visiting family in Whitstable, travelling 253 miles from our home in West Yorkshire, it was only a quick overnight visit to catch up with family we haven't seen in some time. I looked on the usual sites for accommodation for my family, my wife, our 5 year old and myself. We wanted somewhere close by, a sea view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miked3781
Hotel_Continental29, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

The room you originally chose was our largest family room for 5, this does not have a sea view either so we are not sure why you were expecting one. Thoroughly enjoyed the details of your journey all the way down from Yorkshire. We apologise for the aspects of the hotel you found unappealing and will certainly pass on relevant...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We booked a room with a sea view. It was small, but cute. I didn't like the bedding. It felt a little itchy (but, I am very fussy about quality cotton bedding). The hotel is the only one on the beach and is pricey for what it is. Our room was £175! The staff were super helpful with dinner reservations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeverleyT
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be helpful. The hotel is centrally located on Whitstable sea front and this is reflected in the price. You also paid a premium for a room with sea view. Sorry to hear you found the bedding uncomfortable, it is high quality hotel...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.8 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#2 of 4 in Whitstable
797 reviews
3.4 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
319 reviews
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
633 reviews
7.9 km away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel Continental Restaurant
Hotel Continental Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Continental is the only hotel in Whitstable that enjoys a seafront location within 5 mins walk of the centre of the town. The rooms are currently undergoing a major refurbishment so be sure to ask reception for details. We also manage the very popular Fisherman's Huts accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Price Range: $137 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Whitstable
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Continental staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Continental staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view room with decent water pressure”
 of 5 bubbles stuartr271, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 17”
 of 5 bubbles ilove2travelalways, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a deluxe room or a full sea view not partial or both if you can!”
 of 5 bubbles Nik48, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sleep on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles TerryNewmarket, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay