We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 187: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Esplanade Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Royal Esplanade hosted my wedding day and evening venue. Both myself and my husband were made to feel very special by the manager Peter he took all the stress away from us, decorations were put outside the hotel for us as we arrived. The table for the afternoon venue was also decorated to a very high standard all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MFurnell
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from spending a lovely weekend in the Royal Esplanade. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a sea view, the food was great with generous portions (they even catered for my dietary requirements) and the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Looking forward to visiting again soon. Colleen & Graham.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
Farnham , surrey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights , sea view room , bargin price as booked through Travel zoo . Check in all went smoothly, receptionist very helpful , even booked our parking permit for our stay ! Room large and bright, towels and bedding all very white , comfortable bed . Both nights we ate in the hotel , really was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathfan
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here after booking 2 nights in an upgraded premier room. I wouldn't like to see a standard room if ours was premier. We were told we were on the first floor. This was inaccurate as we climbed 3 flights of stairs from the first floor. No lift. We were at the back of the hotel looking out onto roof...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallywhewell
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very confused that you were on the first floor yet had to clime three flights of stairs. We actually do have a lift as well. I would be pleased if you would contact me direct as I would like to know what room you were allocated to save disappointment in the future and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a specific room which was confirmed. When opening the door it wasn't the right room. Was rather disappointed when I had specifically said I wanted it otherwise would look elsewhere. When sleeping the night (a Saturday) I was awoken at 1 am in the early hours of Sunday, due to the bus station being opposite. Heard screaming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123honey
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had some interviews to do on the island and this was the most convenient location for me, as it turns out it was better than i could have hoped for. The Hotel looked after me very well, as i say i had some interviews to carry out, which they let me use the bar area in the afternoon. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stevebc63
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your five star review and very kind words. We ere happy to look after you. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the royal esplanade for a week on half board in a superior room. Room 23 seaview room at the front of the hotel just opposite the hovercraft port. The room was a good size with plenty of light and storage space. You do hear the noise of the hovercraft but didn't really bother us. But the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been a few times to the Royal Esplanade Hotel and there is a bar called Harry's Bar. They have a nice lounge were you can have a drink for both non guests and guests staying at the hotel. Through to the back they have a small room called The Snug were it has a pool table and some seating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James S
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoy Harry's Bar & Snug. Your kind comments are much appreciated. See you again soon

Isle of Wight
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Finding ourselves without the children overnight on Saturday for the first time in years, we booked dinner at the Royal. My husband had seen it advertised on the ferry and was very keen to try it. Having checked out the reviews on here, I was happy to eat there. It was the perfect choice. On walking into the hotel it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MistyB
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. We are so pleased that you were impressed with everything and that we could help you unwind without the children. You deserve it. Hope to see you again soon.

mrmingly
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed last weekend in September... Large room, bit dated but clean and comfortable, food was pretty good and the staff friendly and helpful.... Our room was at the front so a little noisy at night... but hey, it was summer and people are enjoying themselves... I would certainly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmingly
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Great that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.4 km away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
346 reviews
4.9 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
384 reviews
3.7 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
414 reviews
8.3 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located on the esplanade this Victorian hotel has unique sea views and benefits from being on a level seafront position. The beach is close by and the shops and holiday attractions of the well-known resort of Ryde are only a short walk away. The hotel is also well-situated for buses, taxis, trains and the hovercraft, so offers the ideal base to travel all around the island as well as over to Portsmouth with its rich maritime history. The seafront position lends itself to some wonderful views from the restaurant and lounges - the perfect place to sit back and relax. A car is ideal for getting around the undulating roads of the Isle of Wight and there is a plethora of things to see and do for all ages. Whether touring historic houses or visiting natural adventure parks, watching the yachting action and festivities of Cowes week, or just relaxing on one of the islands many beaches, you are sure to enjoy the island’s unique charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Esplanade Hotel

Address: 16 Esplanade, Ryde PO33 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Price Range: $77 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Esplanade Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Esplanade Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not room 8A”
 of 5 bubbles sallywhewell, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A sea view is good. Third floor was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles middleagedspread, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a sea view, but then you also get a hovercraft view which we loved but may not be ideal for all.”
 of 5 bubbles LucyT863, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 70 is at the rear so it would be quieter as there is a Hovercraft terminal directly opposite the Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MauriceIsleofWight, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a front room with a Sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles alexbQ2791DJ, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5