We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rockstone Cottage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rockstone Cottage
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rockstone Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

A pleasant stay. The hosts Sheena and Gary are a lovely couple and do their best to make you feel welcome. They even put additional cooling into our room without being asked. Her cakes are first class. The only thing they are working on is increasing the speed of their internet connection. However, I could just get 4G internet on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puzzler16
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review,it's surprising what a extra sausage will get you. WI-FI is sorted,the booster was accidentally turned off.

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Just spent six nights at this great b & b. Our hosts went the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfy and clean, the breakfasts were delicious (lots of different choices for vegetarians). A lovely beach just a short walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8Lorraine8
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, Millie misses her morning walks,please come again soon.

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed here for two nights and found the room very disappointing. Our room was very dated, dusty and dark. We had to wipe the dressing table off before use. Bathroom also very dated and lots of hairs stuck to shower. Wet towels not changed every day. Mounted deer heads very offputting. Would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trudi R
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Before commenting on your review I would like to point out that you left without paying the outstanding balance.We gave you the benefit of the doubt and took it to be an oversight on your part.However I would also like to point out that it is your responsibility to make sure you have paid your outstanding balance before you leave...

Centennial, CO
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful stay for two nights and would love to return. Our hosts were very helpful and made for a perfect visit to the beautiful Isle of Wight. Breakfasts were perfect, the room was quiet and very comfortable...we could not have asked for more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Triumph1970
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

We would love you to return,thank you!

Castleford
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We recently stayed at Rockstone Cottage what an enjoyable stay we had ,a great find Spot on hosts excellent room , brilliant breakfasts that set you up for the day. Would definitely recommend a stay here . Looking forward to a return visit soon

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesnlynne2016
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for this lovely review,hope to see you soon!

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Lovely stay in Rockstone cottage Clean good food lovely cakes in our room every day Sheens & Gary were fantastic Great location. 2 min walk to beach, lovely restaurant near with great food, We had a lovely room. Very friendly will definitely go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillcO517RS
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

I hope you do it was a pleasure, thanks Jill!

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016

What can we say about this b&b 10 out of 10 .from the time you walk in though the front door .Bed very comfortable, , fantastic breakfast . Should be entered into channel 4 tv program 4 in a bed.. YES WE WILL BE BACK VERY SOON

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alangardiner
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thanks,but with but with reviews like this who needs to go on T.V.

Kentisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Lovely stay, clean, welcoming and wonderful breakfasts. Hosts friendly and helpful. Recommending The Hut to eat on first evening was an excellent choice. Rockstone was only a short walk from Colwell Bay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gevans_918153
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us .

Milton Keynes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Enjoyed the stay, good location for us, nice accommodation, very friendly owners, comfortable room, good parking, great breakfast. Plenty to see and do in the area. Within easy reach of all Island attractions. Would return again in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stockles
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Very nice review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Only been home a few hours and already missing sheena s amazing cakes and breakfast !!!!.. Bed was amazing ..not slept so well in years !! . We could not fault Rockstone Cottage.. Bus stop at top of road to get into yarmouth etc.. Or straight down the road turn left and you are in The Hut...food AMAZING bit dearer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julienphil
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and sampled the foodie delights that are on offer in this part of the world . Thanks again for your kind words and to see you again in the near future.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
2.6 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
267 reviews
2.5 km away
Freshwater Bay Country House
3.3 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
153 reviews
0.9 km away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 13 in Totland Bay
327 reviews
1.3 km away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#4 of 10 in Freshwater
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rockstone Cottage is a charming four star guest house originally built around 1790. Situated just three minutes walk from a sandy beach of Colwell bay, we offer bed and breakfast with a quiet, friendly and relaxing atmosphere for adults only. Ideally situated in beautiful West Wight this area is renowned for its beauty, with lovely walks on the coastal path and over the downs. The six well equipped bedrooms are all en-suite. Each room has tea & coffee making facilities, LCD TV & radio, hairdryer, radio alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rockstone Cottage

Address: Colwell Chine Road, Freshwater PO40 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Price Range: $128 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rockstone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockstone Cottage Freshwater, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rockstone Cottage staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rockstone Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fabulous! ”
 of 5 bubbles SueW677, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the twin bedded room has a bath plus a shower cubicle- no view as such but fairly quiet and extremely comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles jacquir159, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in the room with a king size bed, the room was large as was the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles leightonrobert, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had the room with the curved bay shown on the web site. The bathroom has a good shower so was ideal for us but no bath.”
 of 5 bubbles E_from_Harrogate, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“superior king room was very spacious and overlooked the side garden”
 of 5 bubbles jickyjack, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5