We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 568: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here as part of an overnight stay during our national holiday coach tour to Harry Potter studios. Rooms were basic, but clean. Wasn't overly impressed with waiting around to get our evening meal. Lots of empty tables but had to wait for half an hour in the bar and was then forgotten about. There was a starter of tomato...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moaningmadge
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Moaningmadge, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not up to expectations and this is certainly not the normal high standards that we strive to achieve for all our guests. We also apologise that you were disturbed by the function on the night and do...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything was great about our stay. We went to the Harry Potter Studios in the day and broke our journey with an overnight stay here. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and caring. They really made our stay extra special! Thanks to Eleisha and Magda for their company and kindness. They were so sweet to our little 10 month...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophiaElliott
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Sophia, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback after a recent stay. It is always good to receive such positive comments especially about members of our teams. We will pass on your kind words to Magda and Eleisha. We do hope you enjoyed your tour of Harry Potter studios too and hope to welcome you back...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Toby carvery has a specific core of customers who should be able to visit a restaurant and know exactly what they are getting! Today I endured a breakfast sitting that would credit it if I were to describe it as only disappointing! Whilst I appreciate Yorkshire puddings are a random addition to a breakfast, I actually relish the opportunity to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
Kolding, Denmark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is excellent if you are on the way from A to B. Standard of hotels is quite low to medium though. Stayed in room 22 which is on the lower floor. Had problems getting into the room as the locking system is old and worn. Cleanliness was quite okay. Sofa in room old and tired-looking. Bed was great. Worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Ann H, Thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. We are very sorry to read that you were not completely satisified especially with the wifi. This is very unusual as our wifi has recently been upgraded and we normally receive only positive comments. We will investigate further on the lower ground floor to ensure there...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed wkend of the 21st Jan 2017 part of a National Holidays trip. Smooth check in - they were ready with key card when we got off the bus Evening meal was spot on- the lady & staff in the Dining room was friendly & even had Gluten Free options available for me (I was nervous even though pre-mentioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachyRooster
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Rachyrooster, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and your National Holidays trip. It is also good to see that our teams looked after you well and were welcoming to you. We do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future....

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with a national holidays tour. I have stayed in a few hotels on these tours and this was by far the best. Check in was smooth as they where ready for us with a card which really helps as a lot of people coming off a coach can cause problems but not here. Last hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarktoppcat
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear clarktoppcat, thank you so much for your 5* review after a recent stay with us. We are very pleased to read your positive comments about our hotel and good to see that everything was to your satisfaction and our teams looked after you well. We hope you also enjoyed your trip to Harry Potter Studio and look forward to...

Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on 19/1, heater in a/c unit not good enough to heat up room. Room has a radiator but was not working . Spoke to receptionist and duty manager sent up a oil heater. Thanks for that but this alone could not heat up the room on a cold January night. Heating needs improving , if there is a radiator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morholidays
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Morholidays, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. I am sorry that you found the room was not warm enough, normally the air con is sufficient to heat up the bedrooms. The radiators were in fact installed when the hotel was built many years ago and subsequently the air con has been added at a later date...

London
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel reception is pleasant. Bar area is also pleasant but is cold in the winter as the doors do not keep the drafts out. Bar is also really expensive - why? This is taking advantage of a captive audience. Food is average and slightly expensive too My room on the ground floor was clean but basic. Bathroom was not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smeg1
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Smeg1, Thank you for staying with us during your recent business travel and for writing us a review. I am glad that you have regarded our rooms to be clean and facilities such was our gym, sauna and pool to be good. On the other hand, it is to my regret that you found the rates that we offered...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I left items in room, called asked them to send to home address 7 days later still not received items,even though they charged me £10.00 for my pleasure, phoned to complain, he said we was busy, what a joke, hope to not stay in another holiday Inn,and never to leave anything behind

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Richard S, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that items left behind were not returned to you in good time and for this we sincerely apologise. We will look at our process to ensure other guests are not disappointed in the future. However we trust that you have now received...

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Nice break,hotel was good,the room was nice and clean lovely,staff members welcomed ,indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi clean and very nice ! Breakfast and coffee everything was nice and fresh i enjoyed !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that everything met your expectations and you especially enjoyed our facilities and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (20)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
681 reviews
4.2 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
771 reviews
3.7 km away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
715 reviews
5.0 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
349 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $102 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Gym is acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles Adler72, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A back room as it is on a busy dual carriageway”
 of 5 bubbles amandahT3015UG, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ALWAYS CHECK YOUR BILL and avoid any room on the lower ground floor - especially room 28”
 of 5 bubbles mmccnn, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All good standard”
 of 5 bubbles FrankieDP, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Speak with susie!!”
 of 5 bubbles M8766AVtony, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5