We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Watermill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Watermill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 395: English reviews
Start your review of The Watermill Hotel
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed here quite a few times for business. Have to say that not all the beds are great but the rooms are clean and well looked after. Most of that staff are welcoming and attentive. Good parking and easy to get to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell C
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived no cotbed which we asked for. Two rooms booked at same time one out at one side of hotel and one the other so no good. Asked for a cot blanket as none provided reception rang waking the baby then delivered blanket knocking loudly to wake baby again. Lamps hanging off wall finish in bathroom naf. No sleep as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bennie201030102
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at our hotel and leaving a review of your stay with us. I am very sorry for the inconvinence you might have at our hotel due to the issues you have mentioned on your review. We endouver to provide good service to our guest but would like to apologise for not meeting your expectation...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited the Watermill Hotel for a wedding. Not only was the venue stunning with a lot of greenery and water running through the hotel, but the staff were so hospitable and bent over backwards to make sure our needs were accommodated for. I have to give Plosca Petrut Daniel a personal mention because while waiting for a taxi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara S
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at our hotel, we really appriciate it. It's pleasure to hear that your stay with was comfortable and that the venues, the service we provide met your needs. We hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Front Office Manager

Abbots Langley
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a lovely experience. We have been before and I have to say this tea is consistently good. The staff are lovely and the food and the service was first class. I have been for many afternoon teas and this ranks as one of the very best. The cakes especially were delightful and everything was so fresh. I only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanhZ4052RB
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the good comments you have left for our hotel, we really appriciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed the afternoon tea with us and that your experience at our hotel was memorable one. Please let me know whenever you decide to come back at our hotel so that I can better take...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked it as a wedding venue- beautiful setting although awful hotel rooms and THE WORST MANAGMENT TEAM!! There was no communication or help from them, if anything they caused more stress. They made a shocking mix up with the hotel bookings from check in all the way through to check out! Sound in the marquee was terrible. Speakers were muffled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Optom123
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for leaving a review of your stay with us. I regret to hear that you feel this is not good hotel, if you had contacted us regarding your concern we would have sorted out at once your concern. Kind Regards Reception Team

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I was booked into this hotel for one night as part of a weekend deal. Having read the previous reviews I dreaded it. However my friend and I were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. Although the hotel is quite dated its setting is quite beautiful and has lots of potential. The room we shared did smell a little musty but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Stourport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Went here with coach tour. Food was very clean, but limited choice. Only spiced main meal offered. Soup and desert very nice. Room clean and comfortable. Downside:- put u up bed broke. Having to come out of main part in the wet weather to rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Over the last few weeks I have stay here for 2 nights on 3 occasions. Unfortunately my end client has this hotel listed as their Preferred hotel in the area so my hands are somewhat tied when choosing a hotel. While the rooms are very dated, they are general clean and tidy, and ready when checking in. However, the "over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HardLuckStory
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Nice and easy to find, well signposted and large car park - great start; it's an old converted watermill (as the name suggests), it even still has the river running through the grounds that produced the power all those years ago. Disappointingly the restaurant was closed for refurbishment when I stayed, fair enough these things happen - but too many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H0BS0NS_CH0ICE
Dorset
Reviewed 13 January 2017

After searching for a last minute hotel booking,I found via Hotels.com,The Watermill in Bourne End just a few miles out of Hemel Hempstead town centre. I knew of it before as used to pass it quite often when I lived there. I think it used to be owned by The Best Western group. It is built around an old working...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank poolehornet

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.8 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
378 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
460 reviews
4.1 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
573 reviews
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
734 reviews
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $106 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Watermill Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Watermill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on lower level have the noise of rushing water from the mill”
160tinap, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor or away from the sound of the mill”
poolehornet, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask the staff they are more then willing to help”
babyface4321, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not be surprised if there is no room”
MoyaC297, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Enquire whether the newer rooms are available and whether they offer better ficilities than the older motel rooms.”
104ianf, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5