We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Grove Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grove Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,600: English reviews
Start your review of The Grove Hotel
 Click to rate
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have eaten at the Stables at The Grove a few times now and never disappointed. Lunch menu has all the faves but I do highly recommend the fish and chips if you fancy it. Beautifully cooked in the lightest batter, its faultless.. so much so, that its what I crave before I even get there. Staff can't be more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mirandacatherine032
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I booked this last minute. The hotel is beautiful. The reception staff really nice to deal with and I must mention a waitress called Cerys who was extremely helpful at afternoon tea. Rooms are starting to look a little outdated. On arrival at the kids pool on Sunday morning was shocked to see the mess of old dirty towels (gross)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmel440
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came down to visit a friend in Watford last week and she took me to The Grove where we managed to sneak a table for 2 in The Stables restaurant. The staff were pushed as it was half term! However, they did look after us (apart from the young waitress serving us the food the wrong way around - twice!!)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowley5
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Grove. I am delighted to hear that we managed to accommodate you in The Stables restaurant during such a busy time. I will pass on your great feedback about the food to our Chefs. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our 16th Year Anniversary Getaway... We booked ahead of time for this getaway special at The Grove Hotel, Watford. We arrived Friday 17th, February, 2017. We were given a VIP welcoming and check in was really smooth. The room was very nice and was well done up. Breakfast was at the Glass House Restaurant and was buffet. Very, very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddy23450
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic celebratory weekend with us and made use of all of our extensive facilities. I'm sorry that you found the mattress and pillows uncomfortable, and I will pass this feedback on to the relevant team. I'm glad that this didn't spoil your wonderful stay with us. We look forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful weekend of country walks, pampering, excellent menus and wonderful cocktails. Afternoon tea is a treat and I would recommend this venue to anyone who wants to get away from London business craziness for a relaxing weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleendelmar73
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for such a positive review, it's always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us here at The Grove. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went here for a two day conference, and so my comments relate specifically to how I found the venue from a conference perspective. The bedroom was large, comfortable, well appointed and clean. The bathroom was a good size, with a great shower, fluffy towels and Espa products too. We made use of the conference facilities, which were well organised,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSP71
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Grove. I am delighted to hear that you felt your conference was well organised and that all the facilities were clean and comfortable and that the staff were all efficient and helpful. We always like to receive such positive feedback and are pleased...

Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights and it was great, the glasshouse for the buffet is a must do at lunch or dinner with a stroll around the grounds afterwards. A must stay hotel in North London. The golf course is well worth a round but get a buggy as it is a little steep in places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saundersfoot2012
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a pleasurable one and in particular that you enjoyed The a Glasshouse buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Grove on a Saturday evening and attended a works function. The room was great and spacious and the hotel bar had a great atmosphere! We had a beautiful sit down meal during the function and couldn't fault the food at all. Would highly recommend this Hotel and look forward to visiting again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent weekend stay here with us at The Grove. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and will pass on this feedback to our Chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, the good: the grounds and the building are beautiful, room spacious and tastefully decorated, staff smiley and helpful. Food delicious. But for this level of hotel, this should be a given. Now on to the not impressed part. * Cleanliness: Found hair on the wall in my bathroom that wasn't mine. (!!!) I think this is the worst offence...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank erika2205
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the gardens, found the rooms spacious, the food delicious and the staff helpful, however I'm concerned that you were unhappy with certain aspects of your stay. You can rest assured that your comments have been taken...

A TripAdvisor Member
Bangor, N Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quality all round. Spacious rooms. Spacious grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff. High standard mass produced food for a business event. Only downside was intermittent wifi. Would return again in the better weather to enjoy grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent business stay at The Grove. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the standard of our food. I'm sorry that the wi-fi was a bit temperamental, it's not something we usually have an issue with. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (424)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (192)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
2.0 km away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
674 reviews
9.9 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
1,982 reviews
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.7 km away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
5.5 km away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Price Range: $362 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel UK/Hertfordshire, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grove Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Grove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Grove offers private suites in the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleendelmar73, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Golf course facing”
 of 5 bubbles saundersfoot2012, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“View on the gardens. Avoid view on the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles efrontini74, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Mansion Rooms and upgrade as much as you can afford!”
 of 5 bubbles kezlondon, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“basic rooms are fine especially if on 2nd floor overlooking car park at that level you only see trees.”
 of 5 bubbles larad307, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5