We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,147: English reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2015

This place certainly has the wow factor. I was expecting a castle facade with hotel rooms built behind it…how wrong was I; this really is staying in a castle. We had the Plantagenet room which was wonderful; open fire, tapestries on the wall, four poster, a real room fit for a king and queen. Staff were faultless, shown to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevePu
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Hi 'StevePu' Thank you for taking the time to share your experience - your animated Review made me smile! Being the first and last Tudor Castle ever to be a working Hotel, Thornbury Castle does indeed provide an authentic Castle experience and certainly has plenty of Historical value and 'wow factor' on offer! I am thrilled that you very much...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We stayed in the Anne Boleyn Suite – I squeaked with excitement on entry, never have we a stayed in a building with such history and we weren’t disappointed. First of all we booked online, we were made aware of the deposit and cancellation fees, I received my email confirmation but accidentally deleted it so called for another, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShazJen
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Hi 'ShazJen' Thank you for your detailed 5* Review - you have painted such a lovely picture of your experience from start to finish. I am thrilled that we were successful in exceeding your expectations and providing you with a truly special and memorable stay. The fact that you will look to return in the near future is a wonderful...

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

The hotel is well situated and full of history. Unfortunately the experience is expensive and compromised by poor food, variable service and lack of attention to detail, We stayed 2 nights and first impressions were good. Our deluxe room was a good size, although with a small bathroom.Room amenities included plentiful water and a decanter of old and undrinkable sherry.The...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank highexpectations520
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments 'highexpectations520'. From looking at your other TripAdvisor contributions, it would seem that your profile name rings true with only 5 of your 16 Reviews rated 'Good' or 'Excellent'. I am sorry that Thornbury Castle did not meet your expectations. Your comments are surprising with so many of our other Guests rating their experience to be...

Bristol
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We recently attended a private function in the Tudor Rooms of the castle. A superb venue for a gathering. The main room that can seat about 50 comfortably is very atmospheric with its large fireplace, stone and dark wooden panelling. The Tudor Rooms are situated across the courtyard from the main building. Approaching the Illuminated building at night adds to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PairfromThornbury
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 'PairfromThornbury' I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor. With comments like "superb venue" and "special place", it is clear to see just how much you enjoyed your recent visit to Thornbury Castle. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Warm Regards Jenni &...

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2015

The perfect place to stay if you want to be sent back in time. Bristol not far with plenty to see and do. Hotel needs to get on top of food allergy's, quite poor in that department. The suite that we had was right ontop of a room with a generator and you could feel and hear a constant humming/vibration....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank deberahdudley
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 'deberahdudley' Thank you for your Review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay here at the Castle and felt the location was good for visiting local attractions. We do not have a generator in the Hotel and hence I am a little confused as to your comments about a constant "humming" - perhaps this was the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Great bit of history, we always stay at the Duke's Bedchamber in the tower and it is something out of the history books. Amazingly huge room with a grand fireplace and the ceiling is something to behold. The bed looks amazing but is one of the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept in! but a small price to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 'Ali M' Thank you for your Review. I am delighted that you enjoy your stay in the Duke's Bed Chamber each time that you return. I am sorry that the mattress is not to your comfort, however am sure you can appreciate that this is a matter of personal preference. Please accept my apologies that you experienced some...

Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

As a hotel, absolutely u believable, the service, rooms, design, free sherry! Awesome. Not a 5 star as the cocktails were very poor, we had an espresso martini, Cosmo and martini. All poor, food looked great but not so flavoursome! I would definitely stay again as it is like being a king in game of thrones!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheeseyesplease
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Morning 'cheeseyesplease' Thank you for your Review. I am so pleased that you very much enjoyed your recent visit to Thornbury Castle and that we were successful in enabling you to feel "king" for the evening! I am sorry that the cocktails were not to your taste, however am glad that this did not marr your experience significantly. Please...

Chichester Uk
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

My husband and I took advantage of a wowcher deal for a 1 night midweek stay in a classic room with a 2 course dinner and breakfast for under £200 in late October as it was the hotel's quiet period and had a lovely stay. A few weeks before our stay I phoned up to ask if it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoandBarry
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Morning 'JoandBarry' Thank you for your wonderfully descriptive Review. I am thrilled to read just how much you enjoyed your recent stay here at Thornbury Castle, it is clear that we were successful in providing you with a truly special, relaxing and memorable experience. It is pleasing to hear that you made the most of your time with us...

Devon. England
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We stayed for a couple of nights in the Tower Suite and got exactly what we hoped for - a memorable stay for a special occasion. Of all my UK stays this was the most memorable and special in terms of room. Huge bed in an atmospheric room with great facilities, and superb views ranging from Bristol Channel to church...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PGBakes
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 'PGBakes' Thank you for taking the time to post your Review here on TripAdvisor. Your comment - "Of all my UK stays this was the most memorable and special" - is a wonderful indication of just how much you enjoyed your recent visit. I am delighted that you found my Team on the Front Desk to be "superb",...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We stayed the weekend for my husband's birthday and it was a really luxurious treat. The drive on arrival to the castle is impressive and the autumn colours made the visit especially beautiful. We didn't get the room upgrade we'd hoped for on the Travelzoo booking, and I think we could have had the same deal booking directly with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anny P
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 'Anny P' Thank you for your 5* Review. I am delighted to read that you very much enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay here at Thornbury Castle and made the most of your time with us. Our talented Team of Chef's are thrilled to hear that the Dining experience was a particular highlight for you both, they...

1,046 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1021)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (231)
Viewed
Room/Suite (245)
Viewed
View from Room (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
4:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (368)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
6.2 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
18.4 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
591 reviews
2.7 km away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 4 in Almondsbury
897 reviews
11.9 km away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Address: Thornbury Castle Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Price Range: $297 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
6 months ago
1 month ago
Mocksville, North Carolina
6 months ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 747jacquelined, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Down the left corridor up to the very last flight of steps, not sure what room number it was, I had other things on my mind.”
 of 5 bubbles 928nikolai, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Bedford room”
 of 5 bubbles queen317, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a 4 poster, large room”
 of 5 bubbles Mike1111uk, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As said above, some rooms are accessed via a spiral stair case so would be a difficulty for anyone with limited mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles 802jaj, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5