We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Hotels.comUSD 595*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 595*
USD 595*
USD 595*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,203: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

My son and and his partner arrived at Thornbury, very excited at the prospect of a luxury weekend. My son planned this as a surprise birthday treat for his partner, whose hobby is the Tudors. More than a hobby, really, she is an expert on the era and reads voraciously. From the minute they arrived they felt unwelcome. They had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LadyJannington
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Evening 'LadyJannington', Thank you for your comments written on behalf of your son and his partner who visited us here at Thornbury Castle - I am sorry that they did not feel it necessary to contact us directly themselves to provide feedback. We do indeed have two Menus available to our Guests in the evening, one being the A...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Had a great night in a great venue but there were a few things that were not up to expectation. The food was of a great quality and taste but far too little to satisfy a big eater. I think the amount of food could have been more especially being charged £84 for 2 meals. I was charged for afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shaun M
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Shaun, Thank you for your Review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit to Thornbury Castle and had a "good stay". The food portions are typical of that of luxury fine dining, with dishes being smaller in size than that of a normal restaurant due to the rich/heavy flavours along with the exceptional quality of the...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We had a wonderful stay at this Castle and would highly recommend a stay. We were greeted by Steph on reception who was very warm and welcoming. We were in one of the newly renovated rooms, Edward. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, with a lovely stone spiral staircase. During our stay we had cream tea, dinner and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndajoy84
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lynda, Thank you for taking the time to leave your Review here on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed a "wonderful stay" here at the Castle and would "highly recommend" a visit - Steph will be delighted with the personal mention! Having only recently completed both the Edward and the Elizabeth Suite, it is fabulous...

Peyia, Cyprus
Reviewed 29 April 2016

An amazing castle. Stayed in a classic room which was very comfortable. A fire burning brightly and complementary sherry made us feel very welcome. Nice comfy bed. Had an excellent meal. The only criticism was the very long wait between starter and main course. Many apologies from restaurant staff plus drink on the house was appreciated. Loved the atmosphere I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Susan, Thank you for your lovely 5* Review. I am pleased to read that we were successful in providing you with a "thoroughly enjoyable stay" and enabling you to feel like Royalty for an evening! I do apologize that you experienced a delay between courses, however am pleased to hear that this did not mar your experience and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Everything about the castle is stunning from the gardens to the rooms. The food is excellent and we had an amazing time. Every room is different that makes it all the more special. We had photos in the gardens which were beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lailaeltiti
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 'lailaeltiti' Thank you for your 5* Review. I am delighted to read that you had an "amazing time" here at the Castle and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your visit. I agree that the uniqueness of each Bed Chamber is a wonderful quality, with each featuring individual charm and décor. We look forward to welcoming you back in...

Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We had booked this via a voucher deal ,so to find that on our arrival we had been "upgraded" to a superior room was a lovely surprise. We had previously booked our dinner time as 8pm ,but were told to be at the bar to order at 7.45pm. So at 7.45pm we were in the bar;at about 8.15 we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LondonGoG
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your Review. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit - it was our pleasure to offer a complimentary upgrade. I am so sorry to hear that you experienced slow service during the evening and were not kept informed as to the situation, this is unacceptable and certainly not indicative of the...

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The castle itself is stunning. Our room was u two Steve flights of curved steps so if you have difficulty with steps this could be a problem. We ariv d to find our room was not r day and we were offered a complimentary glass of wine whilst we waited. The food was good but not brilliant and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Evening John, Thank you for your Review. Having rated your recent Anniversary stay to be 4*, I am surprised to read that you would be unlikely to return to Thornbury Castle. I am sorry if the Castle experience was not to your taste, however I do hope that you will take the opportunity to visit some of the other...

Switzerland
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Really nice and old castle in good condition. We had the Duke Chamber in which Henry IXV also slept. It's a big room with gas fireplace, nice view over the Tudor garden and the entrance of the castle. No lift but room is on the first floor. Positive: Old castle with style. Nice rooms, nice garden and good food. What...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Realscooby
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Evening 'Realscooby' Thank you for taking the time to leave your Review here on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that overall you very much enjoyed your stay here at Thornbury Castle and would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your constructive comments. Guest feedback is invaluable to us and a positive tool in maintaining and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We had a lovely weekend at the caster to celebrate the anniversary of when I asked my wife to marry me and it was also St Georges day When we arrived at the empressive castle, we where greeted by Steph the Australian receptionist who could not do enough for us and made it very special Right down to printing an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mike and Debbie, Thank you for your lovely 5* Review. The fact that you did not want to leave is a sure sign of just how much you enjoyed your experience here at the Castle! I am delighted that we were successful in providing you with a "special weekend". It is a pleasure to read that you were...

Solihull, England
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Stayed in a deluxe room for a DB&B break. Very pleased with room and original features. Large rolltop bath and separate rain shower. Nice grounds. Went to lounge for drink before dinner and good attentive service. Meal also started well but went downhill when desserts ordered. My wife's arrived but no sign of mine. After twice being told it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TC1952
Jenni A, Front Office Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 'TC1952' Thank you for your Review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Castle and were "very pleased" with your Bed Chamber. I am so sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with service towards the end of your evening meal. Whilst we do indeed have a relatively new waiting team...

1,126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (257)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (248)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
4:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (409)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
6.2 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,413 reviews
18.5 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
626 reviews
11.9 km away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
8.4 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
932 reviews
2.7 km away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Address: Thornbury Castle Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Price Range: $321 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Feature rooms are spectacular and very spacious.”
gstocker, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose room that has the view of the sunset and the church.”
  • Room.
  • View of the church from the room.
  • View from the room.
  • Room.
  • Bathroom.
dvdsinmk071161, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Particularly liked the Elizabeth Suite as it was on its own.”
ladywombat, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Howard deluxe bedchamber was quite nice!”
G4785YJjackm, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful.”
SGH57, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 595* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 595
Booking.comUSD 595
TravelocityUSD 595
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates