We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

761 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 755: English reviews
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Freindly staff, food ok, typical pub food. We have eaten here several times and it has never been bad, but sometimes average. nice place to visit, although could do with some more bar staff. I would recomend this hotel, pub.

Helpful?
Thank lauraT7864AP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stopped here over night so we could travel into gloucester for the Victorian christmas market. I couldn't fault anything apart from the brass plates on the doors could of done with a polish but that's it.

Helpful?
Thank asunni
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I live close to The apRoyal George and pass it twice a day on my journey to work. I have stopped off on numerous occasions for drinks and food and allways found it good for drinks and except able for food. On Sunday my wife and I were returning from Cheltenham and stopped off for a Sunday lunch. On arrival... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so sorry to hear your experience on Sunday was not up to our usual standard, as you frequently dine with us you know this is not normal practice. We value your feed back and I have shared with my managers and team. We hope we can welcome you... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Check in was smooth. The receptionist was very welcoming. The room was comfortable and everything worked. We booked dinner in the restaurant, the ambience was nice for a pub type restaurant. We ordered beef rib and pulled pork which was succulent and fell off the bone and fillet steak, rare, which was cooked to perfection . We also ordered seasonal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jax2357
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments , sorry you didn't receive our usual service and I will be sharing this with my team. However great to hear your room was comfortable and we made you feel welcome. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again (this was our 4th visit) the Royal George has provided a comfortable well staffed hotel break for 2 friends, ourselves and both our dogs. This place never disappoints, stunning views, with fantastic walks. The staff always go that extra mile to welcome you and ensure you are comfortable. All meals are well presented with plenty of choices we... More 

Helpful?
Thank cornlady-11
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments the team work really hard so to hear this is great. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th visit. More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointing. Place was relatively busy, waitress was not unpleasant but not particularly friendly and looked as though she didn't like her job much. Ordered drinks which came quickly, ordered the black pudding and bubble and squeak starter. Bubble and squeak was stuck to the bottom of the plate and was inedible. Main course was fajitas which were ok but... More 

Helpful?
Thank rhona321
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you had such a bad experience , we value your comment and I will be looking into this. If you would like to discus this matter further please call Nigel 01452862506 More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our third visit here. Always a warm welcome. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and is caters for all tastes. We had dinner in the restaurant and in the bar, the food is great. All the staff are friendly and eager to assist. Sometimes the bar is busy so you have to wait to be served. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy27bousted
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review thank you so much ! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location rooms ok the Hotel is very old and like a lot of these old Coaching Inns need a lot off running maintenance.Their was a problem with the heating system we were given a heater for our room no problem..Staff worked very hard and helpfull food all good we all said we would like to return again to continue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee T
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely comments,Yes heating issues on a cold winters day never is easy, but I am glad to hear we looked after you and it was fixed rather swiftly. We look forward to seeing you again soon to explore the area. More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for 1 night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was lovely, food amazing and all the staff were fab. Would recommend. Will definitely return in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your wedding anniversary, I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your kind works onto the team. We hope to see you again soon. More 

March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

as you walk into this hotel you are greeted by a genuine and very cheerfull receptionist named carol who couldnt do enough for you.hotel,food,room ,bed all good.bar area very nice easy to get to off the m5

Helpful?
Thank c0b2
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, yes I agree Carol is a great valued team member and I will pass on your comments to her. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
21.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
6.5 km away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
687 reviews
11.9 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,128 reviews
33.2 km away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Price Range: $98 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal George Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just dined”
 of 5 bubbles KevinP234, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Anyone with a dog, is given a room with a small fenced patio area with chairs and table.”
 of 5 bubbles cornlady-11, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Car park view not the best other rooms good views over the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles 106leet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“overlooking the gardens are good”
 of 5 bubbles c0b2, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was situated on the first floor and enjoyed wonderful views of the gardens. It was really quiet and I had a good night's sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Bree460, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay