We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Old Passage Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Old Passage Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this week for the 5 course tasting menu. Each course was different and wonderful. There was a perfect gap between courses, and we happily came away feeling replete. We were given a tasting card describing each course but each course was described as it came as well. If it wasn't a bit of a drive for us we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn P
Sally P, Owner at Old Passage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your tasting menu and look forward to seeing you again -perhaps you could stay next time, we have two lovely river view rooms!!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed the most delicious lunch themed around Burgundy wines. Canapes, including the tastiest freshest deep fried oysters, were followed by four courses including, rabbit wellington, scallops with pork belly, venison and apple themed dessert. All with a perfectly balanced wine Such seasonal local produce used in such an innovative way requires serious talent. Scallops on a bed of lightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 58PandJ
Sally P, Owner at Old Passage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the Burgundy lunch and hope to see you again very soon.

Dursley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although it was a Friday Evening, just two other tables so a little lacking in 'buzz'/atmosphere but in our case a quietish night suited. The room is simple but tasteful, tiled floor makes it a little 'cold' but its more than ok. We had a tasting menu, each course was delightful and there were some particularly adept touches and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonjack315970
Sally P, Owner at Old Passage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed and will certainly take on board your comment regarding the pheasant. I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Old Passage - and that we will be a little busier!!! November & January - dire months for the restaurant...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I took my inlaws here for their anniversary meal at the weekend. The menu was extensive both for starters and mains. The scallops came with Black pudding which my husband asked to be left off (restaurant is flexible enough to do this and even mentioned that they would cater for vegetarians given enough prior notice). Mains were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taleya R
Little Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Revisited after 12 months and worried it may not be as good as first visit. No need to worry it was was as good. I have travelled hundreds of miles to enjoy good food and this restaurant is only 1 hour away,I will leave so so long for my next visit.absoulute bliss.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B3937PFpeterc
Sally P, Owner at Old Passage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much, it was lovely to see you again and very pleased that we lived up to expectations!! Hope you won't leave it another 12 months before we see you again. Sally

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I was treated to lunch at The Old Passage Inn because I have a great liking for Skate Wings which are so hard to come by these days although I don't know why. It is a lovely flavoursome fish that is left on the bone and you can eat both sides. In addition fish can be spoilt by small bones...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Warm welcome (Sally the lady owner even rang us beforehand to advise about a local event which might have affected our arrival time), super food, excellent service and convivial atmosphere - could not have asked for more for my special day. Thanks to all at the Old Passage Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_family_13
Sally P, Owner at Old Passage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was an absolute pleasure and so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday - those with a 0 at the end start becoming very special don't they!!

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely fish meal and B&B for our anniversary. Been a few times, and never disappointed. Very friendly and good service. Prices average, special offer deals available at times. Will definitely be returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bs322014
Sally P, Owner at Old Passage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much, it was lovely to meet you & hope you'll return in the nor too distant future Sally

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

I've not given a restaurant 5 stars before, however, this restaurant, specialising in fish and seafood, literally ticks all the boxes. Nothing is cheap. The price reflects the quality of food, it's cooking and presentation, service and attention, riverside location and whole hospitality package. They even have bedrooms if you wish to extend the experience. A top class afternoon. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swerve51
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We were exploring the area on a weekend break, and just decided to drive to the end of a little road that seemingly just stopped at the banks of the river Severn. However we arrived and found ourselves, looking across the water at Newnham and standing beside a lovely eatery. It would have been foolish not to have stopped and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marysa V
Sally P, Owner at Old Passage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much, very pleased that you enjoyed and I do hope that we may see you again. I have received your email re: menu covers and will come back to you.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlingham
8.8 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
631 reviews
10.9 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
570 reviews
23.1 km away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
5.1 km away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#4 of 4 in Frampton on Severn
67 reviews
4.4 km away
Saul Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Old Passage Inn

Address: Passage Road | Arlingham, Arlingham GL2 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Arlingham
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Passage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Old Passage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Passage Hotel Arlingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Passage Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Passage Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only two rooms,but both are good.”
 of 5 bubbles B3937PFpeterc, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only two rooms and have a lovely view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles B3937PFpeterc, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the river side are bigger and have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles hf188, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Try to find a deal to lessen the pain on the wallet”
 of 5 bubbles 234debbiem, 30 May 2015 | Read review
“I don't know about rooms - we were there for a meal!”
 of 5 bubbles MarkClayson, 31 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay