We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Westcliff Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Westcliff Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 541: English reviews
Start your review of Westcliff Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here last Saturday for a family party and for the cost think this is an excellent hotel. We had lunch in the restaurant and even though they had a wedding that afternoon the service and food was great. Our room on the 4th floor was large with a view over the water. All the staff were pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Ruth c
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We wanted to find a venue which had character and understood the idea of an afternoon tea type affair. We could not have asked for better. The room was not over large and housed 25-30 people nicely. Lovely white table clothes and vintage China on the table and delicious finger sandwiches, freshly baked scones with homemade jam And clotted cream...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dollypogs
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guests Thank you your for your informative and engaging review We are pleased to see that you throughly enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you again soon with your little bundle of joy With kind regards Kim Midson

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I would like to star by saying the staff were very nice. The room we stayed in room 302 was rather dated. The window didn't close properly and as it was a windy night the whistling was rather annoying. The main problem we had came in the bathroom, Whilst having a shower in the morning 1 of the light fixtures...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank athc168
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and apologises for the problems you experienced This was caused by a leaking shower in the room above. This has been repair now and we are sorry that this affected your stay . Perhaps if you are in the area again you can contact me direct and I I offer you a complimentary...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The meal was good but nothing special, The service was slow, restaurant quite compact and cold this i think was due to the high winds and the fact that the restaurant extend out into a conservatory extension. The staff were very pleasant and attentive when they were around. The building looks a little tired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 889VKing
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guestvthank you for your review We appreciate your feedback and pleasant referral to the staff We look forward to seeing you again soon With kind regards Kim Midson

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the westcliff hotel room 306 very small carpet dirty room needs total make over and to top it all towels dirty the worst £80 pounds I have ever spent. Never slept due to the niose never again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markalewis
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest We are so dissappointed to read this review We wish that you had brought this to our attention when you was in the hotel so that we could have rectified this situation Please contact me direct so that we can show you that this is not our usual standard and address this unfortunate stay With Kind regards Kim...

Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception - Average Large Room - Very good (room 201) Sea facing -extra £10 per night but worth it. Room decor - a bit sparse could do with a homely picture on the large blank wall. Also could do with an armchair or sofa in the room there is plenty of room. Bathroom - good Breakfast - good Parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 143grb
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your positive remarks and bout our rooms breakfast and bathroom. Parking can be at a premium sometimes, but there is a large carp park next to the Cliffs Pavilion less than 5 minutes walk away. Our lift is small but fit for the purpose of getting those individuals that are unable to use the stairs...

Rochford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely Victorian era hotel with modern facilities and lovely period features. We stayed in what is called a 'small double',with shower and sea view which was very nice. Only stayed the one night after visiting a show at the Cliffs Pavilion which is virtually opposite. Bar and dining room good with a full range of breakfast items. Hotel's cliff-top location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melbo2002
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your honest and complimentary review we very much appreciate the time taken to do this and look forward to welcoming you back a gain soon with kind regards Kim Midson

Staines
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only stayed one night. We managed to park near but out of season of course. Very friendly helpful staff. Good roomy quite old fashioned rooms, comfortable beds good views from our room, creaky floorboards all add to the character. Odd large bathroom but toilet was right against the door and wall very tight for a larger person. Clean room, good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diaveler
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your positive review. We not the remarks about the helpful staff, comfortable bed, clean room, and good breakfast. We see that the dinner in restaurant was not to your taste and that you accepted our apologise and complimentary desserts. we look forward to seeing you again soon with kind regards Kim Midson

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The position is nice for this hotel with view to the Thames river estuary but the conditions were average I think to much for money.Old furniture,a small tiny bathroom,a small old fashion tv.Honestly I do not recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrei P
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your email some of our rooms are marked for a refurb. We have made a note of your remarks but dont understand the "old fashion TV?" the majority are Samsung 36" plus up to 48" dependent on the size of the room. Perfectly adequate for a small room. Prehaps next time your in the area...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night and found our stay distinctly average. The corridors have clearly been recently refurbished which are nice. The room itself was fairly big, although we had booked a double room and were given a family room with an extra camp bed set up which we did not need. The bathroom desperately needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa J
Reservations W, General Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and that you found your room to be too warm. We are please the hear that our customer service was fine but concerned about your impression of our towels especially as they are new and of a very high standard, i will...

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
1.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,112 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
626 reviews
3.3 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
253 reviews
0.6 km away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
262 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westcliff Hotel

Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range: $100 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Essex, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westcliff Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Norfolk, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Norfolk, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Westcliff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose room 306”
 of 5 bubbles markalewis, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles 143grb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 115 is a small double overlooking the Thames Estuary, The views are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles melbo2002, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't know”
 of 5 bubbles 280lesleya, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“for airport transfer checkout as much as earlier”
 of 5 bubbles LeslieMFreeMan, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5