We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Greenwoods Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (41)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

697 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 693: English reviews
Maocn, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location, beautifully renovated hotel with the charm and atmosphere to match the surroundings. Staff were very attentive, food for the party was delicious. Great location for afternoon tea and a relaxing spa treatment, but essentially a fantastic boutique style hotel to hold a wedding, engagement, party of any caliber.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia J
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sophia J, Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the recent event you attended here with us at Greenwoods. We are delighted to hear that you have been impressed with our recent improvements throughout the hotel. We aim to continue to ensure that we offer our clients the very best standards and facilities and are pleased...

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a voucher as a leaving present from work so my partner and I booked in for a double massage this morning. We were looking forward to it and had topped up a little money so we could both have a full body massage. Our massage was booked for 10am and we were told to wait in the very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charlottepartridge30
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Charlottepartridge30, We were sorry to read that your visit to Greenwoods did not meet your expectations on this occasion and have spoken to all of our staff to make them aware of your comments. We must stress that we do always have a member of our management team on duty who would be happy to assist with any issues...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was excellent, in every area of the hotel, spa, restaurant reception nothing was too much trouble, staff helpful and polite The room was decorated beautifully large and clean. The hotel is located in a small village in beautiful grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeannieMac6
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JeannieMac6, Thank you for your review of a recent overnight stay with us at Greenwoods. We value all the feedback from our guests and were delighted to note how much you enjoyed this recent visit. We do aim to offer a full range of services and facilities to suit all tastes and pride ourselves on the level of service...

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was beautifully set when we arrived, with a relaxing feel about the place. Although not far from home we could have been anywhere, the spa treatments are very good value all round a lovely relaxing overnight treat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katygall89
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear katygall89, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us here at Greenwoods. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your break and have passed your comments along to our staff. We have recently refurbished our hotel and spa, including all of the bedrooms, and are happy to hear so many positive comments regarding these...

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon/evening at Greenwoods. The afternoon tea was very nice. we were offered extra sandwiches and our teapots were regularly topped up. Staff couldn't do enough for us despite a large funeral party being at the venue, they were very busy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinkies2013
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jinkies2013, Thank you for letting us know about your recent Afternoon tea visit to Greenwoods. We value your feedback and are pleased to note how impressed you were with our service and facilities. Our staff do aim to ensure that our guests are well looked after throughout their stay and we are particularly proud of our ever popular afternoon...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having arranged to meet some business colleagues for brief discussion this was a perfect choice The staff were efficient and prompt in their service I had a seafood salad which was well presented and delicious My associates had a burger and fish and chips and we were all very impressed Without a doubt we will return to enjoy the facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank man4141
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear man4141, Thank you for letting us know about the success of your recent meeting with us here at Greenwoods. We do pride ourselves on being able to offer an excellent range of facilities to suit the needs of all of our guests. Our stunning lounge is a relaxing environment to enjoy a drink, snack or afternoon tea and is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having booked a spa day as a birthday gift for my wife, which included 2 treatments and a more simpler package for myself which enabled me to attend the day but only have 1 treatment, we arrived at the Hotel/Spa and went down to check in at the Spa reception. I was then advised I had to check in at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheekycockney190757
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I treated ourselves to a break away. Unfortunately our stay wasn't as pleasent as expected, especially considering the price we paid. Firstly our meal was not great, my food came out incomplete, dry and very bland. On inspection the waiter agreed. Although they refunded us for my meal, I still had to go to bed that evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Steve P, We were disappointed to note following our conversations with you and in person, that your stay with us at Greenwoods did not meet expectations. We did our utmost to resolve your issue with your evening meal at the time and were saddened that you chose to decline the offer of a replacement dish or complimentary dessert. As...

Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited Greenwoods today with my daughter for the chocolate afternoon tea. There was plenty to eat for the two of us, and just enough chocolate content! The staff were very friendly and attentive without being intrusive, and we felt very relaxed in the lovely surroundings. Would definitely visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julie B, Thank you for letting us know your feedback following our Chocolate Afternoon Tea event last weekend at Greenwoods. We were overwhelmed with the popularity of the event and so pleased to hear the positive comments from the attendees on the day. Our chefs take pride in being able to offer the most exclusive service and take care...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my mum have just returned from our 6th stay at Greenwoods and are once again impressed with the hotel & spa. We had a gorgeous room in the original part of the hotel and enjoyed a tasty lunch in the bar area before using the spa facilities. The only down side would be the lack of seating a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige Emma L
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paige Emma L, Thanks very much for letting us know about your recent stay here at Greenwoods. We are always delighted to hear from returning guests and happy that we have fulfilled your expectations on this latest visit. We value all the feedback we receive from our guests and are always looking into ways to improve our services even...

648 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (168)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (294)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Attic Suite (70)
Viewed
Manor Room (40)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Premier Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stock
6.4 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
379 reviews
17.3 km away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
542 reviews
25.7 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
349 reviews
27.9 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
508 reviews
13.0 km away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Rosewood Restaurant
Rosewood Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Greenwoods Hotel is a beautiful converted 17th Century Manor House. Offering a range of exclusive Rooms, exquisite fine dining in our Restaurant, traditional afternoon tea and luxury Spa packages. We also boast a fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool and modern spa facilities. Greenwoods has also just completed a multi million pound refurbishment programme, which includes: new-look spa, brand new bedrooms, gardens and public areas. We plan our special events with expert attention to detail and care: whether you're searching for the perfect wedding venue or a Corporate & Banqueting function - Greenwoods has everything you need to make your event a success - and more. Enjoy the Afternoon Tea next to a crackling fireplace, indulge in a drink in our Manor Lounge, order a snack or an a la carte meal in our fabulous restaurant- Greenwoods will ensure your visit is one to remember! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Greenwoods Hotel & Spa

Address: Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stock
Price Range: $205 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenwoods Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Greenwoods Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwoods Estate Spa And Retreat Hotel Stock
Greenwoods Estate Hotel And Retreat
Greenwoods Estate Stock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Greenwoods Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Greenwoods Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay at the hotel so cant comment”
 of 5 bubbles haymel, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the spa package which includes afternoon tea.”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeE332, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Better to ask for room in the original house, old part if you want the authentic experience”
 of 5 bubbles J97TEdavidh, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a lovely room on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles anniepalmer2016, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Worth a discussion when booking. I liked having Lift for accessing the Spa.”
 of 5 bubbles 352maureenb, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5