We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Southend on Sea

336 reviews
Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good33%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“travel lodge”(21 reviews)
“high street”(17 reviews)
“car park”(24 reviews)
Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Family Rooms
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (336)Write a Review
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
100
101
56
29
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
100
101
56
29
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel lodgehigh streetcar parktown centrefamily roomtrain stationscentral locationlight sleeperdecent sizelocation is excellenttea and coffee facilitiesnight staytea bagslarge roomadventure islandcomfortable staydouble bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only problem we had was parking. For such a big hotel and where it is situated I think the parking for customers should be free or offered at a discount. We traveled from Cornwall and although the hotel was cheap, by the time you...More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank efullman09
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large and airy room.5 minutes from Southend Central station.5 minutes from shops and Odeon cimema.10 minutes from the excellent Southend museum. Free 30 minutes wi-fi (to be used all in one go) otherwise £3.00 for 24 hours.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank johnlime
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rude staff and not professional and lazy. Extremely rude to my and my girlfriend. Never staying there again!! The lift all broken, noisy rooms, lack of food and drink. Expensive rooms for 2 nights and expensive for late checkoutMore

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 147callum98
Response from TravelodgeUK, other at Travelodge Southend on SeaResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to our Southend on Sea Travelodge Hotel. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018

I went to visit family and friends in southend-on-sea and stayed in this travelodge on the 13th december 2017 to 17 december 2017 as i had a previous experience with another travelodge i thought i would give the hotel another try. but when i entered...More

Thank philipbarnes1991
Response from TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on SeaResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of...More

Reviewed 10 January 2018

Dated decor, not very clean, unwelcoming, no staff to greet us at reception. She gave us our key wit no directions, facilities available, no conversation or general interest, no local knowledge given e.g where to go, taxi firms, parking.... room was really small the bathroom...More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank amandaeC7484ZA
Response from TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on SeaResponded 12 January 2018

Many thanks for reviewing our Southend on Sea Travelodge. We're sorry to learn of your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. Please could we ask that you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345667
About
Details
Price range
USD 66 - USD 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
56
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Southend on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Location
United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Also Known As
Travelodge Southend On Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Southend On Sea Travelodge
Southend-On-Sea Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Southend-On-Sea
Travelodge Southend On Sea Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chloë S
29 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Dan S |
yes chloë you can there's a £20 charge but that's for the stay not per night
0
Votes
Sean R
20 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Lisaoldham | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry for the late reply - I've only just seen it. My answer is no - basically we stayed there again this year and it was horrendous, it was very noisy and very unclean. I've also heard that it is used as a knocking... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234
Room Tips
"Room #317 was on the top floor - overlooking the park/front - but quiet & comfortable."
Read review
"Stay at the front if you can"
Read review
"Can be noisy traffic when u need windows open!"
Read review
"Book elsewhere"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing