We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Southend on Sea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Southend on Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 248: English reviews
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed to stay overnight and the hotel was clean and tidy, the hot water was hot. the staff were friendly and helpful, and able to direct me to my next day's destination. Excellent value for price paid. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernardcH3233IU
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

its not the greatest of hotels equally i guess it isn't the worst however if i could stay elsewhere I would. Its not the greatest on cleanliness as I had to clean shower myself before using, perhaps staff need further training. Noise pollution due to location which i did not mind however some people might. also be prepared for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aubern-x
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Southend on Sea Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in a central location, basic and clean. Janet on reception was very nice, as was the other member of staff who's name i didnt catch. The front rooms are on a bust road, but really didnt hear much noise at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their time with us and we are really pleased to learn that this was achieved and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and the service from our staff. It is also our aim to offer accommodation in convenient locations and we...

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel offered me exactly what we wanted, great price, good customer service, clean and tidy room and very quiet. we will definitely use hotel again. Hotel location was ideal for my purpose and the room offered everything that I needed

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leepQ7467WY
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Close to all areas but Travelodge sign was not correctly working. However security was good and the rooms were really nice 😁. Tea and coffee wasn't refilled in room but room was clean. Bed was comfortable, pillows comfortable. Reception staff were friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O5937PKsusand
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I took a work team and had 5 rooms booked. We arrived around 22.00 not knowing the area and quite tired after a busy day. Janet the on duty manager looked after us to a quality that is a shining example for all travelodges. We've stayed in many around the country and Janet made this one the best I've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We were very pleased to stay at the hotel. When we arrived, the reception provided a outstanding customer service, very polite, always smile, provided very clear message and excellent customer service. We must come back again and again. Well done team!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulChung
London England
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Arrived here only to find central reservation team hadn't properly changed our booking but was sorted out by Janet and Zoe with no problems. Rooms were lovely and clean only fault as in all Travelodges that i have stayed in the rooms are warm for some reason, OK here as all rooms are high enough to have windows open. Just...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deedee4825
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found your room to be clean and that you were happy with the location of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide...

Oldham
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This hotel is what you would need if you are visiting Southend for the seafront, there isn't anything to do at the hotel or a restaurant/bar as is it is just somewhere to sleep, shower and get changed. There is a TV in there which is nice if you wanna watch it whilst getting dressed or at bedtime or with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisaoldham
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The hotel is joined on to a very busy and loud night club. There was also s beer garden that people shouted in all night. Didn't mention to staff next morning as I had to check the hire car as also no car parking is provided.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian c

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
597 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,080 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
507 reviews
0.4 km away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
245 reviews
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Southend on Sea

Address: Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southend on Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Southend on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southend On Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Southend On Sea Travelodge
Southend-On-Sea Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Southend-On-Sea
Travelodge Southend On Sea Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Southend on Sea staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Southend on Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room - just incase its one of those odd nights.”
 of 5 bubbles Howard-Liverpool, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front or back makes no difference - both noisy from about 0530 onwards so no lie in.”
 of 5 bubbles 390carlt, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles AlanHathaway, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Proper cleaning of the bed required!. Soiled and dirty sheet I found with hair in the bed disgusting.”
 of 5 bubbles zappy2014, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be aware of the doors making noise when closing on their own.”
 of 5 bubbles 745samp, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay