We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pretty Thing

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clacton-on-Sea
May 7 May 8
Show Prices
Management photos
The Pretty Thing
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Start your review of The Pretty Thing
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely site set in picturesque and peaceful surroundings. Not far from anywhere but feels it when on site. Owner Phil lovely and accommodating but not intrusive when your on site. Will definitely be staying again. Nice to meet you Phil see you again soon. Would recommend this little gem of a site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa E
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I was drawn to this absolutely beautiful touring site by accident really. I was driving past and saw this place and knew instantly I had to stay here. The peace & tranquility of the surroundings,the beautiful friendly horses, nature in abundance, such a place can only be described as both nurturing&nourishing for the soul. As a writer I am completely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank anitakelleher
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Just a lovely place to spend the weekend relaxing, enjoying the wildlife and good company. Very peaceful and absolutely the Pretty Thing. Love it here. Myself and my 6 year old hope to spend a lot more time here over the summer. Just go!! 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAG979
Reviewed 20 June 2016

stayed here for a weekend recently, and was warmly welcomed by the owner. The facilities include running water, waste/grey disposal, excellent grass pitches, very quiet, with rolling fields and right next to a fabulous indian restaurant. The Pretty Thing is on the caravan club's list of places to visit and we can see why. The owner has big plans to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve F
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Visited this site on the off chance. The setting is beautiful quite and relaxing. It's great to be close to an excellent Indian restaurant but also to enjoy the idyllic surroundings. A small but perfectly formed park. Currently there is not a toilet block but I understand owner (Phil) has great plans to develop the place. I will definitely be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAG979
ThePrettyThing, Owner at The Pretty Thing, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It would be lovely to see you back here soon.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed on this caravan club certified location for two nights. Very quiet site with EHU. No toilet block though. Very level but a bit damp when we stayed. Only 500 metres from The Blue Sari so we visited that while we were here. There were horses in the next field that were very interested in what we were doing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan A
ThePrettyThing, Owner at The Pretty Thing, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments.. it was a bit wet when you were here, lets hope the summer improves. It would be lovely to see you back here. We are expanding next year and will have much improved roads and ... a lovely toilet/shower block.

Reviewed 18 August 2015

Overgrown fields and noisy campers! The toilets are dirty and very basic. If you have any problems you have to sort them yourself as the manager is useless. The staff are rude and unhelpful. The place needs a good clean and better managing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puddle2
ThePrettyThing, Manager at The Pretty Thing, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are concerned as we have never received negative feedback from guests before. I am particularly concerned about your comments concerning our toilets, as guests will know, we don't have any? As a CL our guests caravans have their own bathroom facilities. In addition, because of the weather, our grass can be longer than we...

Great Wakering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We have caravaned at the site several times on our own, with friends and on a rally with the Marconi Caravan Club. Basic site the electric, water and chem toilet disposal. Phil the owner very laid back and it can be difficult sometimes to contact him but it is worth it. Still what can you expect from someone who supports...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlueShrimper

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
4.9 km away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
248 reviews
5.1 km away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
374 reviews
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
532 reviews
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
5.3 km away
Melrose Hotel
Melrose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Clacton-on-Sea
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pretty touring caravan and glamping park in open countryside between St Osyth, Weeley & Clacton on Sea ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pretty Thing

Address: Heath Road | Chisbon Heath, St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
The Pretty Thing Clacton-On-Sea, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pretty Thing staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Pretty Thing staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This review is for a touring site, its not a hotel.”
anitakelleher, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“quiet caravan pitches in the essex countryside of Weeley, Essex.”
H2199YKstevef, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Select your own pitch”
BlueShrimper, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
3 of 3