We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Aarandale Guest House

    9 Roxwell Road, Chelmsford CM1 2LY, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in ChelmsfordSee available hotels in Chelmsford
    Overview
    • Excellent11%
    • Very good11%
    • Average22%
    • Poor11%
    • Terrible45%
    29 Jul 2013
    “Go if desperate. Don't expect a lot”
    29 Mar 2013
    “Rude”
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Fitness centre
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (9)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 9 reviews

    Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

    Woman was kind of nice. But demanding. Rooms are small. Tv is old school. Hate the shared bathroom. Door 6 had a dodgy lock and the shower feels like you're being urinated on it's so pitiful. You get half a towel to dry with. Dust...More

    3  Thank rriicckkyy
    Response from Essexhotelier, Owner at Aarandale Guest HouseResponded 5 August 2013

    This comment is one of those that is so absurd and not worth answering to. Still I am intrigued in a way as to what exactly got up "rricckkys" nose? Because I am sure it is not our tea cups which are washed daily nor...More

    Reviewed 29 March 2013

    The woman was nothing but rude. There was no need for her manner. You run a guest house and don't give good service. I think maybe you need to look in to another area to work in. It was a disgrace. Yes it was cheap....More

    3  Thank Luvinash
    Response from Essexhotelier, Owner at Aarandale Guest HouseResponded 31 March 2013

    When an intoxicated young lady tried to escape without paying her bill for three nights stay, at 3am, I did my best to keep my composure. Amidst her shouting and swearing, I could not say much, but I locked the front door and gave her...More

    Reviewed 25 March 2013

    I stayed at the Aarandale for a week in the depth of a very cold February. I had the en-suite room on the ground floor which was very cosy and comfortable; the landlady was very pleasant and the tea, coffee and biscuits were replenished every...More

    Thank Raggedroyalist
    Reviewed 3 March 2013

    Clean quiet and friendly. Homely atmosphere with a very pleasant friendly landlady. Privacy was well respected while the rooms were cleaned and the beds made daily while I was out. There was no breakfast but tea and coffee making facilities were in my room and...More

    1  Thank Sam P
    Reviewed 18 January 2013

    This place is shocking. The foreign woman is very rude and arrogant she can barely even talk english, so communication is hard. The bedsit stinks of dogs and has an old musty smell. The rooms they class as double are just 2 single beds pushed...More

    4  Thank Craig A
    Response from Essexhotelier, Manager at Aarandale Guest HouseResponded 1 February 2013

    We aim to respond positively to all objective reviews which we do not consider this to be, The partner of the reviewer had booked the room as a twin room with single beds and in the knowledge that we do not provide breakfast. The reviewers...More

    Prested Hall Hotel
    575 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Feering
    22.6 km
     
    Pontlands Park
    436 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Great Baddow
    5.4 km
     
    Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
    378 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in Chelmsford
    1.5 km
     
    Marygreen Manor Hotel
    1,033 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Brentwood
    18.5 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 33 - USD 60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Essex >
    • Chelmsford
    • Also Known As
    • Aarandale Guest House Chelmsford, Essex, UK
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Chelmsford
    Pontlands Park
    436 reviews
    5.37 km away
     
    Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
    378 reviews
    1.49 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Horse & Groom
    641 reviews
    1.02 km away
    The Gurkha Restaurant
    837 reviews
    1.16 km away
    Il Palazzo
    156 reviews
    1.20 km away
    Crystal Palace
    246 reviews
    1.18 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Civic Theatre
    39 reviews
    1.23 km away
    Melbourne Stadium
    13 reviews
    1.41 km away
    The Ale House
    62 reviews
    1.29 km away
    Asylum
    23 reviews
    1.30 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Aarandale Guest House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "If you use BT wifi the ground floor en-suite has excellent reception."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing