We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 589: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
 Click to rate
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for business recently, in total 4 nights. The room was adequate and bed as always comfortable! The food wasn't great however, but as there aren't many options nearby apart from McDonalds it Was The only option. Staff were ran off their feet and on the first night there didn't seem enough of them to cope. Ample carparking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel on the business trip in March. The hotel has great location just off A130 and A12. There is free car park. the rooms are well equipped. I booked my stay with meal deal which included evening meal and breakfast folloiwng morning. I must admit The Thyme restaurant in Premier Inn serves delicious food! There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patryk35
Wistow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Used this particular Premier Inn as a convenient location prior to attending a wedding the following day. Weekend rates, so good value and the usual PI comfortable bed, decent dinner and good breakfast cooked to order. However this particular Premier Inn was showing signs of needing redecoration - not up to the standard of others we have stayed at. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed E
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just a one night stay before a wedding. Standard, reliable Premier Inn, possibly a little tired and the room almost smelt like it had been a smoking room in a previous time. The evening meal was average - I think chef enjoyed cooking my steak and kidney pudding so much, he cooked it twice!! ;) However, the staff were all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
Manchester, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Greeted by a lovely, welcoming lady on reception. All staff I encountered were great. Car parking outside. There's a marks and spencers food at the services across the way if you don't want to eat in the restaurant. I did on the first night and it was fine but there's not a lot of vegetarian options. Breakfast was good. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clementine8
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first and last Premier Inn. Just overnight - seemed good value. And for what it was it was OK. However the corridor to my room had a rank, unpleasant smell. The room was basic and Ok. I had a good curry there in the restaurant. Just average for what you pay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archaeobuff
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, near Park & Ride transport into Chelmsford and Anglia Ruskin university campus. Standard Premier Inn expectations were met. Warning, room 232, backs on to the Service Station. This means there is traffic noise through out the night.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Facilities were good. Only thing I would say there is a lot of traffic noise...if like me you like the window open. I have never stayed in a bad Premier Inn. Staff always helpful and rooms clean. The traffic into Chelmsford was predictably awful so allow plenty of time if that is where you are heading.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
Wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sub-standard Premier Inn adjacent to a petrol station and McDonalds. Car park crowded with vans so assume it's the hotel of choice of various construction workers in the area. Can't remember the last time I had a key (as opposed to a card) for my room. Room is cold and not getting any warmer despite cranking the heating up. There's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegunners1978
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Premier Inn Chelmsford Springfield hotel. It's a shame to hear that you were disappointed by the quality of the hotel. At Premier Inn it's important that guests are able to enjoy a high standard of service across all establishments, so I do apologise that you were...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here a few times now for work, good location and always for a good price which goes someway to making up for some of its pitfalls. Hotel is of the older PI style and the reception and rooms are in desperate need of a refurb, torn carpets on stairs, chipped and stained bathrooms etc, but it is clean. Receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grj1984

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
4.2 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
376 reviews
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
336 reviews
8.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If a loved one is getting married at a venue nearby, or you'd just love to explore this corner of the South East, Premier Inn Hotel Chelmsford Springfield is the ideal spot. There are plenty of stunning wedding venues like Boreham House and Leez Priory nearby, and we're very well connected with good transport links too. Have an engagement with first class cricket at Essex County Cricket Ground. Or ring the changes with a fantastic weekend at the nearby V Festival. Say 'I do' to some great shopping and eating out, then come back to the hotel for a meal in our restaurant, with a lovely marriage of traditional and contemporary food, and finally a night in a comfy bed. Directions: Located on A12 J19, Chelmsford Bypass, signposted Chelmsford Service Area. Transport and local information: City Centre Shopping Essex County Cricket Ground Hylands House Historic Site & Events Chelmsford Train Station 3 miles Stansted Airport 15 miles ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Address: Colchester Road | Chelmsford Service Area, Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: $80 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Essex, UK
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chelmsford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#5 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you will get good sleep in all rooms as all of the rooms are insulated”
 of 5 bubbles Patryk35, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Road noise if you overlook the road (dual carriageway) & have the window open”
 of 5 bubbles 835louisef, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be in a room away from the car park/road”
 of 5 bubbles Shruggy, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms on the ground floor and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles veej29, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotel very old and run down needs knocking down and rebuilding”
 of 5 bubbles Y5620BSstevec, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5