We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

PremierInn.comUSD 76*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 604: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This is a quite small premier Inn. A little tired looking too. It's located near a busy roundabout service station ( m&s ) and McDonald's. My first impression was pretty average but the staff and quality of food was excellent . The small restaurant gets busy due to its convenient location I guess. Stay at many premier inns and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here once a week since December. It is a little tired looking and frustrating that there are no plugs near the beds however, the staff here more than make up for any negatives I had. They are always smiling, very helpful, friendly and the reason I kept returning despite being recommended to another site by my colleagues. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here Sat 23rd April as we had booked a meal at The Pig and Whistle. Unfortunately we had to cancel the meal due to my broken ankle so decided to still stay here and eat on the premises. The overall appearance of the building is tired! It certainly needs a refurb. We opted for 2 course dinner with unlimited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank planetbassett6
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This week I stayed at the Premier inn Springfields Chelmsford. Now normally i really rate Premier Inn but on this occasion i was not impressed, on arrival the hotel looks tired and in need of a paint job, it was also cold in the room with the heating not working, the food in the restaurant was not great either. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frazer W
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The overall impression of this hotel, where we have stayed on 2-3 occasions before, was VERY shabby, and looking more "tired" than on previous visits. The carpets, communal passageways are dingy, there are coffee stains on the staircase that were certainly not cleaned during our 2 night stay. The doors look cheap and unfinished, the simple spring locks very flimsy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max R
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Max, Thank you for taking the time to review our Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. Apologies that...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jignesh P
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had wonderful weekend whilst attending a relatives 60th birthday party celebrated in the area. The hotel and staff made us welcome and were always willing to look after us. The food was exactly what we would have prepared at home for ourselves but without the effort. I was so impressed that I would want to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vik1947
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found that the staff were friendly and efficient, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, and we had a very good breakfast. What more could you want? We shall definitely stay there again when we next visit Chelmsford.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good service and nice staff. Peaceful nights sleep. The dinner was good quality and breakfast very good. A good nights sleep so a good experience. The location close to the A 12 is very good and full service facilities available

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 204malcolmd

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
4.3 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
353 reviews
5.3 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
389 reviews
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If a loved one is getting married at a venue nearby, or you'd just love to explore this corner of the South East, Premier Inn Hotel Chelmsford Springfield is the ideal spot. There are plenty of stunning wedding venues like Boreham House and Leez Priory nearby, and we're very well connected with good transport links too. Have an engagement with first class cricket at Essex County Cricket Ground. Or ring the changes with a fantastic weekend at the nearby V Festival. Say 'I do' to some great shopping and eating out, then come back to the hotel for a meal in our restaurant, with a lovely marriage of traditional and contemporary food, and finally a night in a comfy bed. Directions: Located on A12 J19, Chelmsford Bypass, signposted Chelmsford Service Area. Transport and local information: City Centre Shopping Essex County Cricket Ground Hylands House Historic Site & Events Chelmsford Train Station 3 miles Stansted Airport 15 miles ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Address: Colchester Road | Chelmsford Service Area, Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: $88 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Essex, UK
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#5 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If stopping here do not have the rooms near the train line”
FrazerW451, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I am sure that all the rooms must be good as the hotel is so well designed and maintained.”
Vik1947, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“you will get good sleep in all rooms as all of the rooms are insulated”
Patryk35, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Road noise if you overlook the road (dual carriageway) & have the window open”
835louisef, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be in a room away from the car park/road”
Shruggy, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
PremierInn.com
USD 76* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates