We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Roebuck Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 80*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 80*
USD 80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Roebuck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 513: English reviews
Start your review of The Roebuck Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had been out all day and this was the first place we saw, took a leap of faith, it seemed nice, seated immediately food was ok, 1 roast carvery, 1 steak and 1 kids meal, only negative was the main courses arrived before my starter, the staff did offer to bring it out but I saw little point so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VRstewart
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

just stayed for 3 nights , the staff simply went the extra mile to make sure every thing was as we wished . The room was very clean and comfortable. breakfast was as good as hotels 10 times the price. bar/restaurant food just as good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve o
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear steve o, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Roebuck. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came back for our 1st wedding anniversary and yet again had a lovely time, comfortable rooms and excellent staff, I feel like part of the family lol, excellent food my husband and dad had the carvery and said it was lovely, I had the Mac and cheese which is my favourite at the mo. So if your looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey F, Thank you very much for your custom and for such lovely review. Is always a pleasure to have you and John with us and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

16 of us stayed for 2 nights on a golf trip. Dinner,bed & breakfast. The service we received from the staff was excellent.....the bar, waiting and reception staff were superb and were extremely helpful in all areas. The food was also well above par. Special mention must go to Christian who was very proactive, charming and welcoming with nothing being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard1961x
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard1961x, Thank you so much for your review and for your custom. I will pass your comments on to the team and especially to Cristian. We all hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A one night get away with my son and 2 dogs. Very comfortable with welcoming staff. We didn't have dinner but breakfast service was great and food was very tasty. Good choice available. Definitely recommend although I wouldn't say it was a romantic or modern establishment!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FriendofThePines
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FriendofThePines, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your next visit at The Roebuck. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding here on 13/5/17 We cannot fault the staff or the hotel .The service and customer service was excellent and nothing was too much for them we are so thankful .Valentina and her associates went all out to make our day amazing .The food was excellent and the breakfast the next day was delicious.The rooms are clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley O
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley & Carl, Thank you very much for a lovely review. It has been a pleasure to have you here on your BIG DAY and we wish you a happy, long life together and all the best. Look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Sidcup, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked the Roebuck, Forest Row on the spur of the moment. My wife and I were looking for a dog friendly hotel in the Ashdown forest, just for one night. I booked it on the Thursday afternoon for a one night stay on the Friday. Double room with breakfast for £72.50, plus £10 for our dog. You can't go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary C, Thank you very much for your custom and for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a pub lunch. Food really quick and tasty. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely view. Could eat outside if wanted to. Everything clean. Car park large and has more room at back for parking. Very quaint. Various heights and small steps inside. Would recommend you try.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandypat1959
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sandypat1959, Thank you very much for your custom and for recommending The Roebuck to other customers. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Hailsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for a family get-together on a Sunday and all chose to have the carvery. Could not be faulted, plenty of it and well cooked and tasty. The staff were very efficient, friendly and welcoming. Beautiful gardens to look around & plenty of parking. Not expensive and worth another visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JANVILLE
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JANVILLE, Thank you very much for such lovely review, it has been a pleasure to have you at The Roebuck and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I reviewed the restaurant here back in December for breakfast and was extremely happy, so my 3 friends and I stopped by again recently for an early breakfast, and guess what? It was even better!! Service is exceptional and the food represents superb value for money, I honestly couldn’t fault it. We’re coming back again in June on the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAUL B
morgandog1, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PAUL B, Thank you very much for using The Roebuck once again and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your visit in June. Kind Regards, Valentina Tuca

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
1.2 km away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
3.5 km away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
212 reviews
7.8 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
8.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,236 reviews
11.2 km away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Price Range: $105 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Roebuck Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Hartford, Kentucky
over a year ago
Hartford, Kentucky
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Fairfield, Connecticut

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Roebuck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at back overlook lawns and cherry tree (very pretty at this time of year)”
S_PB53, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“just don't stay at this place!”
MWheatley, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at side and rear are quieter.( Not that front rooms are particulary noisy)”
peterv642, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the ground floor away from the road and next to the garden area.”
allatten, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I have stayed on many floors and all are great”
62raed, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 80* /night
View Deal
HOTEL.INFO
Booking.comUSD 80
Expedia.comUSD 80
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates