We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The Abbey Hotel is under new ownership, and has had a total makeover since we were last there. The result is the small hotel experience one always hopes to find. The owner and staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room exceeded expectations - comfortable bed with crisp linen, well-appointed ensuite with fluffy towels and bathrobes, and a lovely iconic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BruceRoyan
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was an absolute pleasure to serve you both as you were so polite and complementary. It is always a pleasure to receive such great reviews and it gives the staff a moral boost as they all work very hard. Thanks again and if your in our area in the future it will be...

Clapham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We popped in for dinner on a Friday evening. We were seated by who seemed to be the owner/landlady. Neither her or the waitress had knowledge of the menu or beers on offer. The restaurant was quiet with no atmosphere. Our food took 50 minutes to arrive. When it did it looked awful, grey (obviously out of date ) potato...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Shabecca1
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I am sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant as we do endeavour to give a high service in all areas of the hotel and restaurant. Unfortunately I do feel I need to respond to a few of your points as I consider them to completely unfair and unjustified. Firstly on arrival I greeted...

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We have just stayed four nights because or house is being refurbished. Room small. nowhere to sit apart from one uncomfortable wooden chair. Only hooks on wall for clothes. bathroom fittings somewhat loose and extractor not working. II could go on! Unacceptable noise from staff on floor above after midnight. Staff and customers smoking outside bedroom window so smell coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dontdoreviews
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly can I apologise that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations, we do endeavour to give our customers a great stay with attentive service. I would like to address some of your points, firstly remember that the hotel is very old so the rooms are not going to be Travelodge size, although I wouldn't consider the room...

london
Reviewed 22 January 2017

This hotel is a real find. The staff were charming, efficient (because of the eagle - eyed but extremely pleasant manager) and super - friendly. The wine list is good and reasonably priced. I couldn't get through the gin selection in one evening! The food (evening menu) was excellent and there was a good choice. The room (abbey view) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankie065
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review, we do work very hard to keep the standards to a high level at the hotel, and put a lot of effort into staff training. Really pleased you enjoyed the wine list and food menu as again we all work very hard to make these interesting and of a high standard. Thanks...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The recently refurbished bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms look 'trendy' and are tastefully done in muted colours. Comfortable room, as was the bed in our room when we stayed recently. The hotel has an old style British 'character' as you would expect in an historic town like Battle. Our room got an extra star from my wife as the hairdryer provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martyn304
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, a lot of thought has been put into the design of the rooms , so its wonderful when these efforts are appreciated. I love the comment about British character as this is exactly what we are trying to achieve. Its also great to know that the staff looked after you, all that...

sussex
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Have been following events at the Abbey hotel over the last few months via social media and at last managed to get to Battle to give it a go. Had an amazing lunch today.........fish pie......hubby had fishcakes. Bit of a wait for food but I am always more than happy with that as you can be assured it's all freshly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali556
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, great! someone is reading what we put up on social media!!!! We all work very hard to keep the standards at a high level and are always really happy when we get positive feedback as all members of staff I feel do give great service. The chefs also serve wonderful food and I will pass...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This accommodation has been updated recently and is beautifully done, with thought and care by the new owner. Breakfast was very good -can recommend the bacon & maple syrup pancakes. Bear in mind though this a public house with accommodation rather than a standard hotel - and there is a fair bit of noise from the bar and the soundproofing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annatims45
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased you like what we have done with the rooms. Of course the hotel is old so you may get the odd bit of noise, although we have soundproofed as much as we can, but we do have creaky floorboards. I will pass your comments on the staff who do work...

Swanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

My husband and I spent a fabulous night at this fabulous hotel. We were greeted by a lovely young lady Macy who showed us to our amazing room with a view of the Abbey (room1). The room was immaculate, with a complimentary bottle of water and tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom had plenty of towels along with hand soap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, Aperol spritz better than mind how dare you!!! I of course have trained Lauren well!! No really thanks for your kind words, you know being a regular customer at our other hotel The Castle Hotel in Eynsford, how hard we all work to give great customer service, and its lovely to get positive feedback....

Creetown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Ate at Table 9 at the Abbey yesterday evening on a busy night and the food was excellent, especially my peppercorn sauce with my steak. I would like to have had the choice of some of the lunch time courses though ... and the menu was a little confusing because of that. However all the courses our group of 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cateycustard
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for spending the time to leave such a great review, I will pass your comments about the food on to the chefs Stirling , Brendan & Jacob. As regards to the staff members it is gratifying to know they are doing a great job as you know we have only been open for three months and all staff...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Not afternoon lunch enjoyed with my wife. Setting very nice was quiet as it was midweek but that suits me. Good menu with local dishes portion sizes very generous so value was represented. There is a log fire and the bar/deli sells produce as well as appealing for the likes of coffee drinkers, ramblers for local ale etc. Log fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sterlingendeavour
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments are well received and I will let Lauren the manger know you enjoyed her service. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future. Regards Sharon

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
1.4 km away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
3.0 km away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
386 reviews
4.3 km away
Claverton Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
186 reviews
4.0 km away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
256 reviews
3.6 km away
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedlescombe
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Abbey Hotel Restaurant
The Abbey Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At The Abbey Hotel we aim to capture the essence of a country inn, we are located in the center of the charming market town of Battle in East Sussex. Sitting directly opposite the Abbey which is the impressive gateway of the medieval Battle (the Country's most famous battlefield). Our beautiful newly refurbished hotel is a British home from home, offering a forty cover restaurant, relaxing bar area for drinking and dining with a range of individually designed rooms, there is a space and time here for you to relax and enjoy. In keeping with our contemporary classic interiors, our service is calm but focused, and dedicated to ensuring that you thoroughly enjoy your time as our guest. Seven bedrooms, with many overlooking the Abbey, beautiful, well equipped facilities, big sumptuously comfortable beds with the softest duvets and pillows. A place to relax and enjoy amazing food, great wines & cocktails or a pint of English Beer at its best. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: 84 High Street, Battle TN33 0AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Price Range: $167 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Roseville, California
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the excellent award winning Battle Banger sausages in the full English breakfast. Sold in the butchers a few doors away. Room 5 is quiet”
Fusspot617, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have views of the Abbey”
Hazelmike1, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 has a great view of Battle Abbey”
BruceRoyan, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Abbey view rooms do what they say.”
frankie065, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay here, only ate”
Cateycustard, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5