We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 598: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

After a wonderful stay in August, we decided we would like to return to begin the New year in the wonderful town of Southwold. Despite the late decision, we were very lucky to be able to book a room at The Swan for their black tie New Year's Eve celebration. From start to finish, the service was faultless. Beginning with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here many times before and came for new year - our anniversary. We had a great room overlooking the square and down to the sea so a wonderful view of the fireworks. Our room was comfortable but a bit tired and I felt it was expensive for what it was - have had better facilities elsewhere for a fraction...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Susanna D
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were delighted to find a booking for the first time for the New Years Eve celebrations at The Swan. We love Southwold and and my wish was achieved. We had a two night stay and we found our room comfortable with only the ensuite in need of an update. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne602015
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for a lovely review, and we are so pleased you had a great time with us at New Years! We look forward to seeing you next time.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Swan is a family favorite for us. Whether we stay in the cottages out back or in the main hotel, we are never disappointed. The Adnams staff are attentive and on hand, they seem to take a higher level of pride in the hotelier profession. The comfortable rooms are homely and befitting of a five star rating, the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, it's so nice to hear that The Swan is a favourite of yours. We do hope you will come and visit after the refurbishment is finished in June.

Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 6th time we've stayed at The Swan, but our first three day Christmas break. We had room 9, which spacious, well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. As always, the staff were superb and treated us almost as family. I don't know any other hotel where members of staff give you a hug when you leave! An...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamaphillips
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review and are so pleased you had a wonderful Christmas with us. We do hope you will pop in after our refurbishment due to finish in June.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel never fails to disappoint. Have stayed at this charming hotel in Southwold on several occasions and this is the 2nd New Year evening celebration event attended. The rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the necessary bits and pieces. Nice touch with the Adnams bottled water. The staff are very friendly and so so helpful. The set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPE56
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, we do hope you will pop in after our refurbishment due to finish in June.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My mum and I popping into the Swan for a quick lunch which all in all was pretty good. It was when we came to pay the bill that it all went a bit wrong. Firstly our bill had several drinks in it that we didn't have, they were eventually taken off but no apology was given, it was customers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spencer B
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to The Swann for an evening meal with friends. We had a lovely relaxing evening with a lovely meal. The waiters were excellent they couldn't of been more helpful if they tried. Thank you to all the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norfolk621
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, we do hope you will pop in after our major refurbishment due to finish in June.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Stayed here for one night with work colleagues as part of a wider visit, which included brewery, distillery and lighthouse. Parking is currently a little tight but being addressed. Reception staff welcoming. Rooms are very large and well equipped. Had afternoon tea as our lunch which offered both quality and quantity, fruit scones as big as a fist!!! We simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and hope you had a lovely time in Southwold. The Swan is undergoing a major refurbishment in January.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Stayed for one night, dinner, bed and breakfast. Very friendly welcome and helpful staff throughout our stay. The evening meal was very good and the setting was lovely. The staff were interested in the future of the hotel and were keen to show you what was to happen in the near future. We hope that the refurbishment due in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nono323
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a kind review, and hope to see you again soon after the refurbishment.

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.1 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
363 reviews
1.5 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
305 reviews
0.6 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
608 reviews
20.5 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
925 reviews
19.7 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just yards from the Adnams Brewery the hotel has been awarded 4 Stars by The AA and two Rosettes for the food in the restaurant. A short stroll from the hotel is the beach at Southwold with its rows of colourful beach huts and the town has a wide selection of individual boutique shops to browse. Our Lighthouse Rooms in the Garden are Dog Friendly and wheelchair accessible.Brewery and Distillery tours can be arranged for guests and there are plenty of Adnams pubs within walking distance to enjoy a taste of our beer. Please note: Free WiFi is available in rooms in the main hotel only. There is no WiFi available in the Lighthouse rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: $1,603 - $1,637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a view of the town, choose one of the more expensive rooms at the front. Great to watch the comings and goings.”
 of 5 bubbles SusannaD854, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Always go for at least a superior room and be aware there are stairs to climb, although there is a lift”
 of 5 bubbles grahamaphillips, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a back room but it was just fine, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles nono323, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I loved the garden room”
 of 5 bubbles ALs888, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Superior lighthouse rooms are spacious and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieP766, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay