We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 365: English reviews
Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Stayed here for one night booked through booking .com so I was expecting a poor room the room fittings was fine all mod com great shower but above kitchen no need for heating on here and the fan for the kitchen was on all night so not a good sleep and a bad out look from the Windows .lwould not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the disappointments regarding your recent stay. We recommend booking direct in future and we do price match.

Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

The Crown is a nice hotel, but we felt the room rates were expensive! If they had been £150 per night that would have been reasonable value. The service in the restaurant at dinner was poor, another tables starters were brought to us within 1 minute of taking our order! The waiter had no clue how to pour wine! However...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil N
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the poor service experienced. Rest assured we will address the issues raised.

Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We stayed a fri and Saturday night. Didn't get there until 8 on Friday eve and reception was shut but a man (think the duty manager) checked us in and showed us to our room. Stayed in room 14. The bed was incredibly comfy and we had lots of space, including a separate seating area. Our bathroom was separate to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAL2607
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

the crown has evolved with the town over the years , but not rushed ahead. its great! classy, stylish but still with that hint of the old.good menu but personally would want more choice. the food is however very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simon p
Southam, Warwickshire
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We have visited The Crown many times over the years. I have to say that our experiences in recent years weren't that positive. We were delighted with our recent visit and cannot fault it in any way. The Staff were attentive, well-trained, knew their stuff and were all chirpy-friendly. Our room, a favourite Room 3, was immaculate. The Super-King bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterHolloway
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Hotel was great although rather over priced. On the -ves room could have been a bit cleaner though, was a contact lens on bathroom floor (not ours) and toe nail cutting on bedroom floor. It Is a working pub and we had a room at the front, and from 7.00 am was a bit a noisy especially beer delivery. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nellie41England
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about the issues during your recent stay with us and hope this didn’t detract from your experience.

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

A 3 day break at The Crown recently(Sept'15) as we could we could not get in at The Swan, proved what a contrast exists between the two hotels. The Crown has the rustic, friendly 'pub' atmosphere, whilst still providing personable and reasonably efficient service. The Swan (its sister Adnams hostelry) a little more formal and grand with a more pleasing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derek s
London
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We ate at the Crown with friends in August, and did not feel the meal came up to the standards we'd previously enjoyed there. My girlfriend ordered chicken on the bone - and was horrified to find it contained noticeable amounts of blood - yikes! We complained and got an apology, but no offer of anything off the bill. Maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WeeWillieWinkie06
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Another first rate visit. We hadn't booked but yet again finding us a table was no bother despite the fact they were busy. The menu for lunch accommodates all tastes. Good range of wine and beer. We will definitely make this a regular stop in Southwold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pixy1951
Suffolk
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Firstly I love southwold and visit many times during the year. Today I took my dog for a lovely walk along the beach and fancied a light lunch at the crown. I am aware that dogs are not allowed inside but as I arrived an outside table became available. I asked the young man clearing the table if I could...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank BurySt_EdmundsTrevor

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.4 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
308 reviews
0.1 km away
The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
0.5 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
941 reviews
19.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
615 reviews
19.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: $297 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If staying longer than a couple of nights request a large room.”
 of 5 bubbles suffolkvisitor2311, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They have a room with a lounge, which we found very useful.”
 of 5 bubbles Bernie_Norwich_UK, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front overlook main street, not sure of the others”
 of 5 bubbles nono323, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 is brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles RogerEJ, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is a very old hotel/inn and the stairs are very steep and narrow to negotiate to the bedrooms,”
 of 5 bubbles gillyandkeith, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5