We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 295: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This stay was worth the £50 that we paid for a night. The room size was good with a super king size bed, but we did find the bed very hard to sleep on. The bathroom was small and there was only a light from the bathroom mirror so it was quite dark in there. I would say that the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandyhall1966
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was a lovely size and whilst it said a double bed it was actually more like a super king! Bathroom is small but all works. The staff are very friendly. They could do with updating the pictures in the room - that would modernise it a bit more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Norwich
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Ended up here by chance after walking out of The Bedingfeld Arms at Oxborough. We are two vegetarians who were simply looking for a nice Sunday lunch on the run up to Christmas. The Bedingfeld wanted to serve us a vegetarian roast with meat gravy!! What a pleasant surprise when the friendly lady - Ann at the George spoke to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I took a coach party to the 'George hotel' and all of the passengers were extremely pleased with the quality of the food, and the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay overnight in the area. Really convenient location if your'e thinking of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Thailand
Reviewed 8 December 2016

The George is an old coaching inn on the original crossroads which has modernised into a comfortable Best Western hotel. There are two distinct room types. In the old building you have large traditional rooms with modernised bathrooms: you get space for a bit of old-world charm, although you also get the traffic noise in many of them. In the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

After a truly unforgettable day at Thursford Christmas Spectacular with the ladies Club, excellent place for 40 people to stop for evening meal, good food there was excellent service from a number of waiting and bar staff who seemed happy to help and were attentive, the prebooked meal was good value and there was a good choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinead52
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

A group of 48 of us plus our driver had lunch here on 20th November 2016, for a pre- Thursford Christmas lunch. The service was excellent considering they had only just cleared away from breakfast. The tables were perfect with white linen table cloths which everyone commented on. The food came up perfect, very hot considering some had two and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sawbo11
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Most of the staff were lovely and this is where the positives ended. First room on second floor, the window rattled so badly I had no sleep, bathroom freezing - asked to be moved. Moved to another room (for 2nd and 3rd nights) to then be told the heating had failed! Out of date tested free standing heater supplied, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 17Helen1967
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The only fault if any was the waiter/ress service was a little disjointed, in their defense they were extremely busy.. a good sign.. Do not go for the vegetarian option.. otherwise a perfect stay.. This Hotel was a base for the Thursford Christmas Spectacular..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret t
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Swanscombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We stayed in this hotel as our family lives in the neighbouring village. Unfortunately, as a family with a 5 year old and 3 year old, we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor and high up. Unfortunately this was not great, however the rooms were nice and clan. The heating however was nothing short of non existent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hamishpike
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.2 km away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
432 reviews
40.0 km away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
420 reviews
26.2 km away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
114 reviews
17.3 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
215 reviews
17.3 km away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Address: 1 Station Street, Swaffham PE37 7LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Price Range: $81 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swaffham
Swaffham Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN George Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two distinct and very different room types (see my review)”
 of 5 bubbles RichardH267, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“New section only!”
 of 5 bubbles 17Helen1967, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were allocated a room (coach trip) no stairs to climb..”
 of 5 bubbles margarett727, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor and everything was fine. Room was hot but you could turn the radiator down or off.”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseF914, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None of them”
 of 5 bubbles lucys78, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay