We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
 Click to rate
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Pleasant and comfortable stay. Peaceful surroundings. The restaurant serves good food but the club is even better.Room is old fashioned but bright and spacious. Having our own car helped as the climb up the hill is a little steep. A small patch of garden came in handy to enjoy the sunshine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shreyashiroy
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

The property is simply beautiful but the service requires improvement.. we had a stay for 3days, our stay was comfortable but food quality &high pricing is a matter of concern.location of the place not very good as it is quite inside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonal5871
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked 2 rooms much earlier and requested nearby. They provided 2 rooms separately and one of them was right down with great difficult for us to climb up. The bar is nice and comfortable but the the staff are real cheats. They were pouring less from the measure and giving less and consuming the rest. Gulping in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drmgbhat
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Royalty means different for different people. I loved the Quaint old school royalty of the place. The rooms were amazing with heaters, TVs, WiFi, etc. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast (Inclusive in the room cost) was good too. I definitely recommend this place for people visiting Shillong. It is part of the Maharaja's property. Don't expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yash S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

had booked the room 1 month before for 15th may17 to 20th may'17 hotel staff called me today and said that my booking is cancelled reason - the hotel is being renovated...they why the hell that they took the booking ?? worst experience before hand

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veera S
TripuraCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle! We would like to clarify that we do not have any booking by your name for the dates mentioned by you and we have not spoken to you about any cancellation of any booking due to renovation. Kindly be informed that our property is not under renovation for the period mentioned by...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has quite a history to be proud of. The entrance has the old world charm. The breakfast room has pics from the pre and early Independence days from the Maharajah's collection that are worth seeing. We opted for Superior room, which was quite spacious and opened up to a neatly manicured lawn with huge trees. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sumi1983
India
Reviewed 20 April 2017

It is a charming property, well maintained. The rooms have the old style furniture, which maybe mismatched but very beautiful and elegant pieces nonetheless. Staff is courteous and helpful. The breakfast spread was good, service was slow but the food served was hot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reenakandal
Gurgaon
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We visited this property in march 2017. The hospitality was really good. Staff were very helpful: hands on with suggestions of places to visit. They helped us visit a few "off the beaten track" kind of places. The breakfast was really lavish considering how remote shillong is. The location is off the city center, nice and quite. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swami_123
NEW DELHI, India
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is a heritage property. It located on top of a mountain slightly away from city. Good clean rooms. Courteous staff, Good food even for my wife who takes Jain meals. Valley/hill having rooms are good. Rooms are spacious and clean, however they lack standard equipment viz. locker, ironing board. Wifi is very slow. Still one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anands983
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 6 April 2017

The entire property is erratically laid out in a tucked away corner of Shillong. Not much view particularly in the new wing. The rooms are old world- they're supposed to be heritage remember! The bathrooms are new with full set of toiletries. The wooden floors are noisy. There was loud booming music till late in the night. Worst was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baarish

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (14)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
269 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 20 in Shillong
241 reviews
2.1 km away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Shillong
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#6 of 20 in Shillong
92 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#11 of 20 in Shillong
49 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Address: Tripura Castle Road | Cleve Colony, Shillong 793003, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Price Range: $122 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle Hotel Shillong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
over a year ago
Chennai (Madras), India
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't take the room deep down”
drmgbhat, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms with valley view or maharaja suites”
Sumi1983, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose higher room.”
Baarish, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a superior room in the main complex”
Sanjoy_13, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get your facts right whether its royal heritage club or royal heritage castle.”
  • View from outside the rooms in the night
, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates