We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Show Prices
#16 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 516: English reviews
Ohio
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

General Manager John Businger is one of the best in the business. He's been in this Columbus location for over a decade. He's dedicated that your experience is satisfactory! The breakfast is outstanding. Rooms were clean and updated. Mine smelled clean and fresh. We have stayed here multiple times for OSU football games and OSHAA Basketball tournaments. Literally only blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandfunkrr
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Good quality - feels like a luxury hotel but price is reasonable everything clean and fresh clean spacious rooms. i like the white bedding, comfortable pillows and friendly staff near the campus of ohis state university, so convenient location. easy to find off the main highways

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 30LeLe
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We scheduled a trip not knowing it was move-in weekend at Ohio State. No problem - we were able to book a room using our Hilton Honors points at the normal rate. We checked in using the app, but accidentally selected a smoking room. Who knew such things existed these days!? Mimi from the front desk called very early on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynnLLS
United States
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Inn near the University. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed was perfect for a good nights sleep. Will stay here again while in Columbus. The buffet breakfast looked scrumptious but not included in our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cza554
Pittsburgh, United States
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Mini fridge,AC way too loud. Walls so thin I could hear every sneeze and snore in next room. Eveything was clean, staff was pleasant. Location convenient for visisting my daughter at Ohio State. Parking convenient, breakfast OK.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Great location with easy access to the interstate and close to campus where my child is a freshman. Staff was attentive and tended to all of my individual needs. Very happy with my stay there and will stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B1449EVroberts
Marietta, United States
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Front desk indifferent. Front desk staff at every other Hilton Garden Inn says hello when you walk by. Some on breakfast staff not very attentive. Will not stay here again. Going back to Homewood Suites on Lane Ave.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul P
Rensselaer, New York
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I spent 3 nights here while attending an orientation session for Ohio State University. The stay was one of the best that I have had. I am used to traveling with my husband and can get a bit nervous staying on my own. Never once did I feel unsafe. The check in process was very easy and efficient. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebe35
John B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area, responded to this review

Dear rebe35, Thanks for your positive feedback. It is always nice to here when people have a great experience. I hope we can accommodate you in the future. I will pass on you comments to the entire staff. Sincerely, John B

Waterville, United States
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Suffice it say it was one of my worst hotel experiences ever. The check in staff were not friendly or helpful. There were beer bottles in the atrium that were still there the next morning. They were out of most things at the restaurant, including lettuce for salads. When we asked where we could eat close by, we were directed...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott J
John B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Scott J, It was a pleasure talking with you on the phone. As I stated I am sorry for the experience you had while staying at our hotel. I appreciate your feedback and I do hope you can try us again in the future. Sincerely, John

Lakewood, Ohio
Reviewed 17 August 2016

My cousin and I came down for a concert and we decided to stay at this hotel. We are not from this area so when we asked about places to eat and visit, the staff told us about some great place to go to. The room was really clean.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniellev903
John B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area, responded to this review

Dear daniellev903, I wanted to thank you for all your positive feedback. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again. Sincerly,

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
3.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
2.5 km away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
14.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
1.0 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area hotel near Ohio State University and Jerome Schottenstein Center, home of Buckeye basketball and ice hockey. Enjoy a convenient location minutes from Short North Arts and Entertainment District, Ohio State University Hospital, and the Greater Columbus Convention Center. There are all kinds of attractions near Ohio State University. Bring the kids to experience the Electrostatic Generator at COSI, Center for Science and Industry, or visit Jungle Jack and the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. Whether you're in Columbus, Ohio on business or to tailgate at the Buckeye's football game, we'll provide a comfortable hotel room near Ohio State University to help you feel at home. Enjoy a comfortable bed, in-room hospitality center, and a flat-screen HDTV. Appreciate features such as complimentary wired and wireless WiFi, a modern fitness center, an indoor pool and free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Address: 3232 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: $169 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
#20 Business Hotel in Columbus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I always ask for the top floor away from the Elevators and Ice Machines.”
goldenoneOhio, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I originally asked for connecting rooms and they even were going to arrange that. They are very accommodating to their guests.”
ksherman4753, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms further away from Olentangy Road are quieter, that is, the back side of the hotel.”
N_skier, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Along the river side is nicest. Hotel is set back, so pretty quiet all over.”
  • You can see the Olentangy river and a park to the right middle.
  • Looking at room with camera in high corner
  • Comfy bed and chair.
  • Clean shower and new curtain
  • Toilet and tiles
  • View from just walking into room area
  • Coffee and mw and fridge area.
  • Looking at desk and window
findwine, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in 307 facing front. Would have preferred higher floor for river view, but rooms available were next to the smoking rooms, 501-505.”
LuvsOurTravels, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5