We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 202: English reviews
Chicago, IL
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying at The Kabat House a part of the J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast in August 2012, but their practices have changed dramatically in the last six months!! I am rating this experience as 1 star, because zero stars is not an option. When I spoke by telephone today to the innkeeper to make...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank JoanneMLeslie
Darlene M, Manager at J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry that you feel a security deposit is an inappropriate request when renting a private residence. Our insurance coverage now requires this agreement in order to cover any damages to the property and liability by guests for this independent home . We strive to maintain the quality of this home for all our guests to enjoy. You were...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Great place. Very cozy, quiet, and clean. We stayed here during the holidays while visiting family. Service was excellent. We even slept in a couple of days and missed the cleaning service, so on the second day they left a whole set of fresh toiletries and towels outside of our door. So kind. We stayed in the Miller Suite, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelerBearM
Canterbury, NH
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great location for exploring Cleveland. The location is in easy walking distance to a great many restaurants and to the West Side Market. We were in town to ride at Ray's Indoor Mountain Bike Park and this location was perfect. Less than 10 minutes from the park. We stayed in Palen's Room in the "Loft". Palen's room was very comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skigirl74
Chagrin Falls
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Go figure. I'm a life long Northeast Ohio resident and I plan a get away weekend in downtown Cleveland. To celebrate my wife's birthday she suggested we go low key this year. After 38 years of marriage I know what that means. After reading a review about the J Palen House B & B in the Cleveland Plain Dealer it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul W
Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I called on a Thursday to check availability and was easily able to book a stay the following night. My wife and I couldn't arrive at check-in time and were accommodated with ease. We booked a room called the studio, located a short walk from the main house. The studio was a great place to stay - private but in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PennStateAlum917
Wooster, Ohio
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We went to Market Garden Brewery for my husband's birthday, and as we didn't want to drive home afterward, I had reserved the Palen room as a surprise for him. The reservation experience was very pleasant, and the room was clean and lovely. We had a very relaxing soak in the Jacuzzi tub before dinner, and slept amazingly on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J H
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the J Palen House on December 8. We were in Clevelend for our anniversary (wanting to go to the zoo and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame). We stayed in The Studio (which is a block or two away from the main house). It was gorgeous inside! Everything was immaculate and welcoming. The Studio...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blair S
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My husband and I spent a getaway weekend at the J. Palen House. Loved the delicious breakfast - Diane had no problem catering to our gluten-free diet. Our room was cozy and spacious. We loved being in walking distance of so many restaurants and the West Side Market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMSL99
Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 12 November 2012

But that we now had here but one ten thousand of those Bed & Breakfasts across America as memorable as the J. Palen House. Apologies to the Duke of Westmoreland, but the Palen House in Cleveland’s Ohio City is truly special. Diane the proprietor runs a tight enterprise yet makes it look seamless as all the best do. No details...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JCNMD
Kettering, Ohio
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I alternate planning our anniversary weekends and this year, our 11th, was my turn. There are a lot of options in Ohio but I settled on J. Palen House in Cleveland based on all the glowing reviews and also that I could have a jacuzzi in my room. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrsdolittle714

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
2.3 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
8.7 km away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#11 of 38 in Cleveland
616 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
2.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
2.2 km away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2708 Bridge Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Price Range: $194 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved the Retreat Room-I would recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles Sudmom123, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Roost is a 2 story loft suite and my favorite by far.”
 of 5 bubbles Reilly63, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enjoyed the balcony of the Webster room, but the suites would give you more room”
 of 5 bubbles dannysg, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I loved the privacy but yet the shared kitchen and living room was okay.”
 of 5 bubbles Hutimarg66, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The website is very accurate”
 of 5 bubbles 499andrews, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5