Foreshore Motor Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Foreshore Motor Inn

12 Watson Terrace, Whyalla, South Australia 5600 Australia
Traveller (54)
Garden View Twin
Room & Suite (28)
Foreshore Motor Inn Whyalla  SA
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 4 motels in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Foreshore Motor Inn Whyalla is near the water, boasting magnificent gulf views and beautiful parklands and gardens—only a 2-minute drive from the city centre and just 3km from the airport. The motel commands the only beach position in Whyalla and offers second-to-none views and tranquil surroundings. Our dedicated staff pride themselves on their outstanding service, attention to detail and professionalism, making every visit a rewarding and special experience. Our restaurant is closed until further notice. However, the Seaview Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Diving
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Golf course
Windsurfing
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Electric kettle
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

12 Watson Terrace, Whyalla, South Australia 5600 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
Whyalla Airport
Port Augusta Airport
62.5 km
See all flights
135Reviews0Q+A36Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 42
  • 27
  • 14
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
branham2016 wrote a review Dec 2020
Adelaide, Australia8,513 contributions141 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated right on the foreshore at Whyalla, the Foreshore Motor Inn is a two storey complex. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful. We were shown to our room and prior to entering another staff member deodorized and sanitized the room. With a Queen bed and a two seater settee in the spacious room, there was still room for a small table with two chairs. The bed was comfortable enabling a good night’s sleep.

The room was clean, well set out with a good view out the front window of the gulf and foreshore. The bathroom was compact making good use of the space available. The hot water for the shower was good with a consistent flow. The quadrangle car park does not have designated car parking but there appeared to be enough parks the two nights we were there. There is overflow parking available.

As it was a long weekend, the motel’s restaurant was closed which was disappointing.

Return? Yes, when in Whyalla next, we would book requesting a gulf view room again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Derham, Owner at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 14 Jan 2021
Hi, thank you for your excellent review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you stay, we will ensure that the restaurant is open. - Romy, Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MartijnTiemens wrote a review Jan 2021
Curl Curl, Australia46 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Foreshore motel for a couple of nights while on holiday on the Eyre Peninsula. The location is great for spending a lot of time on the (very big and nearly empty) beach. The room was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed. The motel also has a swimming pool which is a nice feature that the kids really enjoyed. The restaurant at the motel is good too, the seafood served for dinner was great and the wines served were nice as well and very reasonably priced. The breakfast was good too. Motel and restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful with every request we had which our stay even more pleasant.

The only downside is that the motel is pretty outdated. Everything works and it’s pretty well maintained but it’s functional more than fancy at this stage. The motel is going to be redeveloped soon so it’s understandable they won’t spend a lot of money on the motel anymore and the prices are also reflective of the fact it’s not a brand new 5 star waterfront hotel (yet).

So overall we enjoyed our stay and I think it offers good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Derham, Owner at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Hi Martijn, Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our stay with us. Whilst a development is on the horizons we are still focused on delivering our family hospitality and service to our many guests. We do hope we can welcome you back to the Foreshore and thank you again for taking the time to complete a review. Kind regards, Romy, Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Worktraveldiary wrote a review Feb 2023
Adelaide, Australia20 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I am in Whyalla often for work and always stay here. It is the only hotel on the foreshore and I love waking up in the morning to the water views and walking along the foreshore with the dolphins.

The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a country motel at this sharp price. Clean, good shower, crisp linen and friendly reception staff.

Restaurant is closed, I used to love eating here, although it was a special occasion place as it was a bit $$. A cafe has opened next door so I grab meals here.

Pool is closed but as a business traveller I never have time to use it.

Special mention to Katherine who is always so nice to me on check in,

Cant wait to see the new development whenever it gets off the ground ... in the mean time as I am FIFO this is where I stay,
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul S wrote a review Oct 2020
Adelaide, Australia3,695 contributions510 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel has an ideal location. It is close to old Whyalla, faces onto the beach, and is surrounded on two sides by the beautiful Ada Ryan Gardens. We are met by Barbara who cheerfully manages to unravel a misplaced booking (by me), and we are given a lovely large room with a sea view. The motel shows its age with it’s painted Besser block walls and ensuite square mosaic tiled floor, but it has been very well maintained. Our main room has a queen bed, desk, dining table and chairs, sofa, bedside tables and two suitcase rests. And plenty of space as well! The ensuite is less spacious, with a rather cramped shower, toilet and basin. I do like the (missing) modern vanity with its bench space! The shower is wonderful: instant hot water and ample flow. There is a kettle, cups and saucers but no toaster or microwave. There is free wifi which is reliable, but a little slow. The motel has a restaurant which serves breakfasts and dinners, but we didn’t avail ourselves of these. We would gladly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Derham, Owner at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Hi, thank you so much for your excellent review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again! - Romy, Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nelya wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room smelled funny and there was no ‘free wifi’ I was given two little tubes of shampoo but no conditioner, body wash. The mini bar only had two $4 bottles of water which would be fine if there was anywhere else to refill your own bottle but there wasn’t. The restaurant was overpriced and underwhelming. The manager was staring at us all night and uncomfortably hovering over our table while we tried to make the most of our situation. She ignored everything we said and kept blabbering while the phone was ringing. Later on she came in and dimmed the lights on us even though we said not to.

It’s a cashless place which is fine but then they refused to let us pay separately. It’s 2021 we know how eftpos machines work yet she still charged us a 1% eftpos fee.

The only highlight was some of the other friendly staff who greeted us with smiles.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Derham, Owner at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 14 Sept 2021
Thank you for your comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sonya wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely room with very comfortable beds, updated decor' and we slept like a baby.
We had a recently renovated bathroom with the best shower ever and soft towels that smelt like a fresh garden. Nice treat after a long drive. Barbara (Manager) kindly took our call long after admin hours as we needed last minute arrangements and was most hospitable. The lovely lady who was at the breakfast bar when I handed in my key, greeted me with a friendly smile early in the morning and was very welcoming.
It was a very short and sudden trip for us, but we would definitely stay there again.

Thank you Barbara and all of your staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Derham, Owner at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 7 Nov 2021
Hi and thank you for the review. I have passed your comments on to all the staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Veronica C wrote a review Aug 2021
South Australia, Australia351 contributions114 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was travelling through from Adelaide to Port Lincoln .Years ago I liked this place,so I booked it .It is in a good location. 160 a night.
However ...there has been no upgrade since ...a long time ago.
The room was tired ,the very ,very old air-conditioner/ heater too noisy. I'm glad I was only there for a night .The room was depressingly old fashioned .
The restaurant whiting i had was nice but priced toooooo high...50ish if I wanted 2 pieces.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Derham, Owner at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 14 Sept 2021
Hi and thank you for the review.. The hotel is old and being sold and then demolished to make way for a new 9 story international hotel. We hope when you pass through again, pop is and see how it is all going
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger N wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This accommodation is a huge con. We booked online without making any checks - encouraged to do so by the site declaring there were 3 others looking to book at the same time with only 5 rooms available. We were there on a sunday night and only one other room was occupied. Reception was closed. No one onsite in the morning. The pool was empty on a warm to hot day. Refrigerator in the room was turned off. The key photo is totally deceptive. Please ensure potential future guests are warned.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the scam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Derham, Owner at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 27 Feb 2023
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay! Unfortunately, we are unable to completely control the photos displayed on TripAdvisor. The key photo wasn't submitted by us and is actually related to the upcoming redevelopment of our new hotel. We have passed on your complaint to TripAdvisor. We are a regional motel and our reception hours are 10 am to 5 pm during the week and 1 pm to 4 pm on weekends, with some flexibility on the weekends due to family commitments. Our pool is currently empty for maintenance. We will check with our housekeeping team why the fridge was turned off as this is not common practice. We are proudly a family-run motel and welcome direct feedback
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy C wrote a review June 2020
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms were out dated, not even a microwave in the room. Very overpriced for what you got. The rooms were tiny. Manager would come and speak to me. TV was setup properly, We had to get someone to come and turn on the Air conditioners. Its disappointing as the hotel has so much potential with it's location. I left a message for someone to call me back I am still waiting !!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wanderer14191690795, Manager at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 29 June 2020
We do not supply microwaves in the rooms, our bathrooms we just upgraded and the guests were placed in one of our garden view rooms and the rooms are a normal hotel size, and the manage was not available at the time and the supervise was available and had spoken to the guest. We will arrange the Manager to contact you Sorry that you did enjoy your stay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maxine W wrote a review Nov 2020
Finniss, Australia26 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect location but opened the door to a Musky strong smell. When I first used the Toilet it had Pubic Hair inside even though it had the Hygienic seal on it. The Exhaust Fan didn’t work or 1 of the Bedside Lights. Hadn’t been Dusted any of desk, table, Chairs or anywhere. In the Fridge was an opened Bottle if Water which we will probably be Charged for. The Shower and Toilet we’re running all night. Didn’t want to touch the Kettle or Tea/Coffee anything, all covered in Dust. Left Early
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Derham, Owner at Foreshore Motor Inn
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Hi, I'm so sorry you had a bad experience. If you could email us at accommodation@foreshoremotorinn.com.au with the dates you stayed and your name, we will be able to rectify the situation. Your comments have been passed onto staff. - Romy, Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Roger N wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the scam"
Read full review
Dave A wrote a tip Feb 2019
Port Pirie, South Australia, Australia8 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware when dealing with these people as you may turn up for a room you have booked and find yourself with no accomodation."
Read full review
RoaminRod wrote a tip Aug 2018
Sydney, Australia74 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with a new quieter aircon and updated bathroom"
Read full review
Stella4starmb wrote a tip June 2018
Melbourne, Australia17 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the best rooms are the water views, probably worth paying a little extra to enjoy these, but the garden views are also lovely."
Read full review
Pete C wrote a tip July 2017
Adelaide, Australia532 contributions121 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Up stairs rooms have the best views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whyalla area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Whyalla Foreshore Motor Inn
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaWhyalla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FORESHORE MOTOR INN: Reviews (Whyalla) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Foreshore Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Foreshore Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hummock Hill Lookout (0.6 km), Ada Ryan Gardens (0.1 km), and Whyalla Marina (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Foreshore Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, meeting rooms, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Foreshore Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Foreshore Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Foreshore Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Foreshore Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tandoori Guru, Whyalla Foreshore, and The Watersedge Restaurant.
Is Foreshore Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Whyalla.
Are any cleaning services offered at Foreshore Motor Inn?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Foreshore Motor Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Foreshore Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hummock Hill Lookout (0.6 km).
Does Foreshore Motor Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Whyalla HotelsWhyalla Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WhyallaHotels near Foreshore Motor Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars