We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apollon Motor Inn

Save
Share
15 Torrens St, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (11)
Pool & Beach (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 6 hotels in Victor Harbor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We Specialise in 'BABY BOOMERS' accommodation, and the Apollon Motor Inn is a major player in the motel industry in Victor Harbor on the Fleurieu Peninsula. Offering comfortable accommodation, indoor Heated Swimming Pool, family Games Room, and Convention Centre. Located in the heart of Victor Harbor, close to most attractions, including shopping & beaches, a short walk to Granite Island to see the Fairy Penguins or ride on the Horsedrawn Tram 1894 style, and boat cruises to the Murray Mouth and Kangaroo Island. We are members of the Golden Chain Group.We welcome our visitors with a homely genuine friendly service and show our guests an appreciation of Victor Harbor. Off street parking close to the rooms. COME & STAY WITH US!!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Game room
Billiards
Car hire
Conference facilities
Wifi
Heated pool
Table tennis
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
158Reviews0Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 46
  • 29
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
honeypoodles666 wrote a review 5 Jan
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The photos are very very old because this dump is nothing like those pictures. Sagging bed, old tired worn out room, old drapes and rotting walls. Spa and pool green and not in use. Carpet worn and torn. No restaurant, no pool room, decor old and decrepit! Shower curtain, not even a screen. Crockery dirty and kitchenette unkempt and old. We have the balcony too ourselves we were told wouldn't use it anyway. Absolute disgrace.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay here. False and misleading reviews and photos!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from John Vockins, Guest Services / Front Office at Apollon Motor Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Very sorry you did not enjoy your time, but glad you found your voice here to write a review. Yes the building is old, cant help that,built in 1976 only the property owner could do something about that and his answer is to knock the whole thing down so don't worry Honeypoodles666, the buidling we expect will be removed, it will never offend your senses again. The carpet pics you show twice because it must have offended you so badly, had actually just had a planter box removed that day, It was a beautiful plant we had at the top of the stairs very sorry you missed it and how that little patch of carpet that was damaged clearly traumatized you The balcony you had to yourself sadly did not have a view for you I guess the build up of new buildings around the Apollon since it was built in 1976 is our fault as well. I reject the assertion that you had dirty crockery in your kitchenette. Oh and I almost forgot how terrible you had a shower curtain I agree that is disgusting , it is a crime in fact that we did not install new bathrooms in the 3 years we have had this business.Except for the three new ones downstairs that all had leaks , our landlords building insurance did not completely cover it all so we had to pay the rest as he refused again..... Maybe if you had come to us and tell us these things we could have explained the following to you. 1 we purchased this business and it was in much shabbier shape then after spending tens of thousands of dollars on just fixing the pool, we fixed many other issues that the owner of the property flat out refused to do. The previous owners seemed to suffer under him to and there answer was just shut rooms down without repairs. so after fixing those issues with many more thousands spent, we had salt damp fixed which also cost us in lost revenue of our ground floor, only to then have our 1st floor shut down for months because the landlord did not fix safety issues from a decade prior and the local council finally came back to inspect and we got shafted. add to the terrible summer of bush fires which devastated the victor harbor tourist dollar because Kangaroo Island was ablaze. Did anyone acknowledge us when we gave free accommodation to volunteer fire fighters or take in a bus group at severely reduced rates for three days where we arranged their meals and accommodation and as they left us, we started hearing about this thing called covid, have you heard of that Honeypoodles666? it devastated the world for a couple of years, maybe not you ? well done if not. did not affect our landlord either. I wish you had had the courage to say something to me about all these ridiculous complaints. The only disgrace here is people like you that leave terrible reviews without giving us a chance to fix any issues that might have been in our power to do. not much I can do about buildings in front of your view or rotting walls (that is a new one) Where is that pic Honeypoodles666?, how does the age of a drape, which are three years old by the way, affect your comfort, do you go to motels to look at the drapes? maybe you do, you sound the type. the current team have put blood, sweat and tears, into average 12-15 hour days for three years to have people like you leave reviews like this one, you really are a disgrace as a person and looks like you have certain standards that only newer or 5 star resorts could possibly match. Could I suggest Honeypoodles666 that next time you write a review you at least have the courage to put your name to it and stand by it and not this nonsense name you are using here. 666 really? the devils number?? Two last points our pool was not working as the pump died two days before Christmas , despite this we did try to fix or replace it to no avail the earliest repair job would still be waiting till Monday 17/1/22, given we have given up dealing with our landlord we have cancelled that job as why would we fix this only to be out the door in 3 weeks? the pool table is not available in what was our games room you are the third or fourth person in twelve months to ask about it, we rented that space out during covid early days to another accommodation provider in victor harbor as their office space. Their rent, helped us to stay open to accommodate workers and medical staff for the local hospital, given that we had most medical staff stay here it cant be that bad. As I said at the start of this response I am sorry you had bad drapes???? and took photos of carpet that in no way reflected your room and how it impacted your stay I am still unsure. What I can tell you is my Name is John Vockins and along with the owners of the business and a couple of other passionate people we have tried to revive a once glorious Motel, people like you, with your stupid stupid name here, and your outlandish deadly review just made it all the more harder for us and now it comes to an end which is very sad with staff being left unemployed and literally homeless, But you don't think about the people just yourselves and of course making sure you have nice drapes to stare at while you sit in your motel room. sad and pathetic is what this review is, much like the person or persons who wrote it. But thanks for taking the time to write it. Regards, John Vockins
Read more
Marion R wrote a review Dec 2021
7 contributions8 helpful votes
Look, of course it’s old and has suffered under Covid but it‘s price reflects this. It has however excellent hot water, microwave, fridge and the room I stayed in happily for 4 nights was large and clean. (and no hideous cleaning fumes). The owners were very helpful and caring when I missed my flight and also provided extra cooking utensils when asked, no problems. Very central and 3 min walk to two supermarkets and 5 min to Information Centre. 10 min walk to beach. I would definitely stay here again and I was very pleased that it was pretty full during my stay. I am happy to support the owners and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I needed a ground floor room and Room 2 family room was large and quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Sarah S wrote a review Mar 2021
5 contributions4 helpful votes
Fitted us in last minute and Was so easy to deal with. Very helpful and friendly staff Room was comfy and close to everything, food, beaches and shopping. Would return if visiting Victor Harbor again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BARRY A wrote a review Jan 2021
Greater Adelaide, Australia75 contributions46 helpful votes
We booked this motel because our other options were not available. We also made the mistake of booking two nights. It was like stepping back into 1970, but a really bad 1970. The room smelt, The toilet was dirty, everything was old and run down. We thought it was only for two nights and all we are doing is sleeping there. Wrong? The curtains did not close properly, the window in the tea making area only had a very thin curtain. The lights from the area and carpark lights invaded the room. The lights went out at 5.30am, how do I know? I laid awake most of the night in a very uncomfortable bed. I was lucky to have slept 2 hours all night. If you wanted to use the toilet, you needed to turn the light on 5 minutes before because it took that long to come on, and the exhaust fan was attached to the same switch, and the noise it made would wake the dead. We had planned to stay two nights, but we left our friends place late afternoon, packed our bags, and checked out. When I returned the key to reception, the person asked why? I just thought, if you really do not know you must be as stupid as you look. I could list at least 20 other things wrong with the room and facilities. Please, please take my advise, do not stay here, it is terrible, and if I could have given it no stars, I would have.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not book
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Clare O wrote a review Dec 2020
Greater Adelaide, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
We, my husband and I, spent 3 nights here recently. We were surprised how run down it was considering the price that we paid. There was a lot of rust throughout the motor inn, especially around the doors and air-conditioning unit in our room. The room was not regularly cleaned and the staff blamed this on the "Covid regulations" and refused to clean the room throughout our stay despite being asked. it is a very dated place and could do with some major refurbishments. In the outdoor gazebo there was barbequing facilities, however they were inaccessible due to the collapsed roof which had been taken over by vines. Basic items for tea and coffee available
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 64 - USD 90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaVictor Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Apollon Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Apollon Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include South Australia Whale Centre (0.4 km), Victa Cinemas (0.2 km), and Encounter Coast Discovery Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apollon Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Apollon Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Apollon Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apollon Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loco Mexican, Nino's, and Brunch On Albert.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apollon Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Apollon Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Victor Harbor.
Are there any historical sites close to Apollon Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Goolwa Visitor Information Centre (15.6 km).