We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
39 Caffrey St, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in McLaren Vale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Wine and Roses is bed and breakfast accommodation, providing luxurious, elegant and intimate suites for couples.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast in the room
Bicycle rental
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
268Reviews2Q+A51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 225
  • 37
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jason E wrote a review Mar 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I stayed at this B&B which is centrally located to McLaren Vale the accommodation is first class and the service is the same would recommend to anybody looking for a great weekend. Generous breakfast offering that is able to be made up by yourself also centrally located to the shiraz trial which is ideal for walking and bike riding through the beautiful vineyards of the McLaren Vale. Also ideally located to walk to nearby shops and entertainment so overall it is a wonderful location that is highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellie Freer, Owner at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Jason, for taking the time to write a review, it is really appreciated. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Contemporary Suite and visiting McLaren Vale. Happy travelling. Warm Regards Ellie
Read more
Wayne wrote a review Jan 2021
28 contributions45 helpful votes
We stayed here last week in the Retreat for 2 nights it's a well organized B&B with very comfortable room and bed, very clean and only few minutes from McLaren Vale town. Only complaint was the breakfast provisions: Coles white bread, Kellogs cereal and Kraft jams in an area of great produce was very disappointing, we only had a light breakfast one morning as we had to leave early to catch a plane. Great thing it was only 15 minutes to the beautiful southern beaches such as Maslin's uncrowded with clear water. Recommend Wirra Wirra and Coriole wineries although there are so many in the area and the Salopian Inn for a great meal and friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellie Freer, Owner at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Responded 10 Jan 2021
Hello Winos60, Thank you for staying at Wine and Roses, I'm happy to read that you were happy with your stay in The Retreat. I am sorry to read your complaint in regards to a few of the breakfast supplies. When you run a business there are many reasons why you choose certain products, such as availability, freshness, cleanliness and quality. I try my best to use local produce where I can. I'm sorry that you didn't try or mention the cooked breakfast provisions, cheese platter and the local wine that I supplied, which are all local, I'm sure that you would of enjoyed them. We certainly do have some beautiful beaches very close by, we are very lucky to be situated in an area rich in excellent wineries, restaurants and landscapes. Warm Regards Ellie
Read more
JimM466 wrote a review Oct 2020
Brisbane, Australia121 contributions31 helpful votes
We spent a couple of nights at Wine and Roses in October. It's a top shelf B&B. Our room had it's own veranda with a BBQ (for the cook your own brekky). The room itself was huge and well furnished, including a very comfortable bed. There's a fireplace for the cooler nights too. It has a kitchenette and the amount of food, drinks and snacks supplied was incredible. We couldn't get through it all. You get a bottle of wine, cheese platter and a tasting voucher on arrival too. It's well located, far enough back from the main road so there's no noise, but not too far that you can't walk to some restaurants, the pub and some town-based wineries. The communication from Ellie in the lead-up to our visit was top notch. We'd happily stay again. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The Retreat, upstairs, is a great room with its own veranda.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellie Freer, Owner at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Thank you Jim for taking the time to write a review, I really appreciate it. It provides a descriptive and accurate description of The Retreat and our location. I'm very happy that you eventually got to stay with us after delays with travels plans. Thank you for staying at Wine and Roses. Warm Regards Ellie
Read more
Chris M wrote a review Aug 2020
Canberra, Australia175 contributions110 helpful votes
From the moment you make contact, Ellie makes you feel really welcome. We stayed in The Cottage which was everything we hoped for; including a HUGE spa, beautiful fireplace and that quaint country cottage ambience. The bed was very comfortable, the cottage was really roomy and the country breakfast which Ellie provided was such an 'over and above' extra that made our stay fabulous. The Wine & Roses is very close to the main road but far enough away that you don't hear any traffic. Our only mistake wasn't booking for two nights - which we hope to rectify later in the year! Thanks again Ellie. We'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellie Freer, Owner at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Hi Chris, I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in The Cottage. The spa and fireplace certainly does create a cosy and relaxing atmosphere. We are conveniently located, just a short walk into the main road where guests can visit restaurants, cellar doors, the tourism visitor centre or local shops. I hope to see you visit again sometime in the future to enjoy our beautiful district. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Warm Regards Ellie
Read more
Annie wrote a review Jul 2020
Adelaide, Australia28 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights in The Retreat. When you look at web sites, you’re never quite sure what the accommodation is really like. You hope you’ve chosen well but can encounter disappointment. Well, no disappointment at Wine and Roses. The place is wonderful. It’s near to the main road which is great for getting around but there’s no road noise. The Retreat itself is just lovely. Very well appointed and had everything you could possibly want. A very comfy bed , open fireplace, candles, great quality breakfast supplies , cheese platter, wine etc. You cook your own breakfast which we much prefer as you can have it any time. There was a key safe to retrieve your key so this makes for complete ease of arrival at or after the appointed check in time. I cannot speak highly enough of Wine and Roses. Our communication with Ellie was so easy and she’s clearly a consummate professional who attends to the smallest detail to make for a wonderful stay. When visiting McLaren Vale, Wine and Roses is definitely THE place to stay. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellie Freer, Owner at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Responded 22 Jul 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely, appreciative and comprehensive review. It means a lot to me to hear that my guests have enjoyed their stay. I try my best to provide clean, comfortable and welcoming suites. Thank you for staying at Wine and Roses and I hope to maybe see you return one day. Warm Regards Ellie
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 142 - USD 190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideMcLaren Vale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include The Almond Train (0.6 km), McLaren Vale Lakeside Caravan Park (1.1 km), and The Menz FruChocs Shop (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maxwell, Vasarelli's, and Tin Shed.
Is Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of McLaren Vale.
Are there any historical sites close to Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jetty Pylons (8.7 km) and Wheal Hughes Copper Mine (15.4 km).