We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I will be honest, this isn't the newest and fanciest caravan park, however it is very clean and well presented. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The water trampolines were great, the view of lake Bonney was gorgeous, my kids loved the pool. The prices are very competitive. Would highly recommend this caravan for families on a budget and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy V
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear your family had a happy and enjoyable stay at our park. Thank you for your review, Amy! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was one of the worst stays in a park. First we where crammed in like sardines to sites. It was australia day long weekend 2015 when we stayed. (You could hear the next site snoring at night). Other Tennant didnt care about being in close proximity up to all hours partying, screaming, loud fow mouths drinking to 4am in morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Packie01
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the noise level and ants at our park. Please be assured your feedback will be addressed with the team. At this stage, we are currently going through an upgrade of our amenities block in order to improve the in-park experience for our guests. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact... More 

Kadina, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last week my wife and I plus the ever present Golden Retriever ventured down to Barmera for a short break in our caravan. We found the Lake Bonney Top Tourist Discovery Park to be just what we needed for a relaxing break. The staff were friendly and helpfull and we were able to choose a site close to the lake... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken M
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

How perfect! A glass of wine, the views, and an opportunity to really relax. We're happy to hear we were able to provide this experience for you and we hope you are able to return for a getaway to the lake. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for recommending our park. More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were not told the cabin we had booked 8 months prior to our stay was not available so they had moved us to another type of unit, (extremely dirty and not maintained) and did not inform us until we checked in.We had previously stayed in the superior parkland cabin and had no trouble. It was clean and nice, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank tri2357
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with our level of maintenance and customer service. Your feedback will be addressed with the team, as we appreciate the feedback we receive from guests in order to further improve our in-park experience. To discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for your review. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights right at the end of the school holidays so the park wasn't too busy. It wasn't quite warm enough for lake activities but we did use the pool and go for a few walks around. I was really impressed by how well kept most of the permanent sites are - some of the roses were... More 

Helpful?
Thank azp74
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay on sites at the end of the school holidays. Thank you for sharing your feedback. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Staff were lovely. Allowed us to check in a little early. Accommodation and bathroom was affordable, clean and functionable. We were in a cabin with separate ensuite. We and the kids thoroughly enjoyed the kayaking and water trampoline. Even conquered some swimming fears. Had a fantastic BBQ cook up - cleanest park BBQ I have ever seen! Watched sunset. Looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank CalleeM83
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We love to hear that you enjoyed what the lake has to offer and our facilities in-park! Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we are happy to hear you will be returning. More 

Naracoorte, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

My wife and I stayed three nights in the Park. The staff were very helpful and no-one could criticise them. The only problem I found with the park were the amenities block which in my opinion could do with serious maintenance. A coat of paint, door locks and minor things could be touched up. I fully realise how expensive these... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ross18801
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and would stay with us again, Ross. Thank you for sharing your feedback as we look to continue to make improvements to our park. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Cannot rate this highly enough. The kids had an absolute ball in the lake and in the pool. The CFS bonfire was a great afternoon and night. The amenities were clean and tidy even with the amount of people using them! The only suggestion I can offer is maybe have a parents shower room. We had our toddler with us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bockie2903
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the bonfire and appreciated the amenities at our park! Thank you for providing your feedback, as we look to continue to make improvements to our park. More 

Adelaide Southern Suburs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Had a superior cabin which had plenty of room and more than enough cupboard space in all the rooms. Comfortable bed, plenty of pillows and blankets. All the basics like hairdryer and a starter kit of shampoo and shower gel. The kitchen had tea, coffee and milk to start off with. All the basic cooking equipment for the electric stove,... More 

Helpful?
Thank HallettCove
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review! More 

Smithton, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Enjoyed our stay in our superior cabin. Loved walking along the lake or just sitting watching the water. It was very quiet and peaceful when we were there, not may people around so you could sleep in in the morning 's. Bliss

Helpful?
Thank KarynTaxi
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you had welcomed sleep-ins and enjoyed the peace along the lake. Thank you for sharing your review, Karyn. More 

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmera
1.6 km away
Barmera Country Club
Barmera Country Club
#1 of 2 in Barmera
71 reviews
14.4 km away
Berri Hotel
Berri Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berri
177 reviews
28.7 km away
Renmark Hotel
Renmark Hotel
#1 of 5 in Renmark
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Barmera Lake Resort Motel
29.3 km away
BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park
9.1 km away
Glossop Motel
Glossop Motel
#1 of 1 in Glossop
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney

Address: Lakeside Avenue, Barmera, South Australia 5345, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barmera
Price Range: $75 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney Barmera, South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Once book, call and make sure they are not going to move you, without telling you.”
  • Dust on top of the wardrobes in the bedrooms, with a broken coat hanger left up there.
  • Dust clumps that have blown out of the air conditioner located above the kitchen bench.
  • Someones dirty baby's jumpsuit left in the wardrobe.
 of 5 bubbles tri2357, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Two bedroom is a great option for a family as the budget option has the double bed in the kitchen/lounge room, ...no privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles paulmG1387BC, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We camped on the lake foreshore with great views”
 of 5 bubbles leor634, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose room on budget, high end is very new and really nice, mid range is older but very clean and suit the purpose”
 of 5 bubbles christopherb567, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Check the website for options”
 of 5 bubbles ianp593, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay