We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Curtain Fig Motel

28 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland 4883 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (32)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#3 of 3 motels in Yungaburra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Curtain Fig Motel is an affordable family friendly motel that prides itself on exceptional service - nothing is too much trouble. If we can do it, we will - just ask. We welcome feedback - how can we make your experience better at this price. We are interested in innovation - tell us your idea - nothing is ridiculous!!!!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
103Reviews1Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 26
  • 3
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nomad47857861517 wrote a review Jan 2024
6 contributions
This motel is very tired. Old, dark room, old furniture. Facilities were adequate and it was clean. We couldn't get on to the internet. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good location, and you can park your car and walk to everything in the town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Johnson, Owner at Curtain Fig Motel
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Sorry you could noy get on the internet - did you talk to us? Normally it is very good and fast NBN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Keryn A wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
A wonderful motel! Nothing is too much trouble for Mark and Jane. Jane's home-made meals are excellent. We had roast pork with all attendant vegetables followed by apple and blueberry crumble. Another night was lamb rogan josh - so good I went back for seconds! This is a beautiful, clean motel, situated in the middle of Yungaburra and close to other great restaurants. I can't speak highly enough of Jane and Mark's hospitality. We will certainly be going back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great pool, great food and pet friendly.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Johnson, Owner at Curtain Fig Motel
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Thank you - makes it all worth while......
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny Townsville wrote a review Oct 2023
Townsville, Australia7 contributions6 helpful votes
Don’t stay here, not recommending it at all….. Filthiest motel we have ever stayed in….. Owner has the personality of a lamppost….. When we drove out we noticed the towels from the rooms were draped over the pool fence to dry, just disgusting……
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Johnson, Owner at Curtain Fig Motel
Responded 23 Oct 2023
This guest booked to stay at a pet friendly motel knowing he risked severe asthma due to an allergy to pets. The abused one of the motel owners as a result. Money was completely refunded without question, only to receive this review. Despite his action, we trust the gentleman fully recovered from his attack.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nigel B wrote a review Aug 2023
Cape Town, South Africa11 contributions8 helpful votes
My wife & I really enjoyed our stay at the Curtain Fig Motel. The owners, Jane & Mark, were really helpful gave us some tips on the local food outlets, places to maybe see a platypus, Jane cooked us a really tasty curry one evening and our suite was great. Keep it up!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It's a great place to stay. Within easy walking of several cafes, restaurants & the pub, we can...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Johnson, Owner at Curtain Fig Motel
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Many thanks - it was great to meet you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James W wrote a review Aug 2023
Perth, Australia327 contributions123 helpful votes
Stayed with friends at this lovely small country motel in Yungaburra for 7 nights. Run by Jane and Mark who were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Large air conditioned rooms with a Queen and single bed, on site parking and a small swimming pool. Equipped with a bar fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle. A real bonus was the opportunity to have one of Jane’s home cooked dinners for $20 delivered to the tables on the patio outside your room. Jane is a fabulous cook and these great value meals were a real treat. You can make a request or she will let you know what dish she has planned for the evening. We would certainly stay here again as the price of the stay is excellent value.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lyn wrote a review July 2023
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
Amazing motel in a beautiful village. Very high standards from the minute I rang reception to book the room to when I departed the next day. Jane is so lovely and caring about her guests, she even knocked on my door and served a yummy freshly baked scone with jam and cream. Which went well with the freshly brewed coffee I made with the coffee maker in the room. What a welcome! The room was excellent and clean, I highly recommend this beautiful motel and wonderfull staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Johnson, Owner at Curtain Fig Motel
Responded 19 July 2023
People like you are the reason we do this. Thank you so much
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny Townsville wrote a review July 2023
Townsville, Australia7 contributions6 helpful votes
Very disappointed with our room, it was absolutely filthy. The shower was very dirty and the screen had a big crack in it. A couple of inches of dust everywhere, the toaster and jug looked like they had never been cleaned, rust all over the front of the fridge door, no sink to rinse your dishes. The grounds were very untidy, lots of weeds everywhere, especially around the pool. Also the owners weren’t terribly friendly at all, very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Johnson, Owner at Curtain Fig Motel
Responded 13 July 2023
When guests leave without telling us if something is wrong, only to leave a report like this, it denies us the opportunity to put things right, offer a refund, or move a customer to a different room. Please, speak up - I would have helped make things right given the chance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
April A wrote a review June 2023
5 contributions
Lovely place to stay in Yungaburra. The owners are friendly and had good suggestions for meals. We were pleasantly surprised to get scones and jam when we booked in. The spa unit was great and very affordable at $140 a night. Had to move to a different unit for our second night which was large clean and just as comfortable. Easy walk to the pub and a wander round town.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beautiful pool but a bit cold for me! Would be fabulous in the warmer months.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Johnson, Owner at Curtain Fig Motel
Responded 24 June 2023
Glad we pleased - see you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Margaux wrote a review Jan 2023
Tours, France1 contribution
Super nuit à curtain fig motel ! Avec un dinner et un petit déjeuner délicieux ! Accueil chaleureux. Je recommande ! Great night at curtain fig motel ! With a delicious dinner and breakfast! A good welcome. I recommend ! Very good expérience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GISpro wrote a review Nov 2021
Brisbane, Australia70 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed at the Curtain Fig Motel for three nights on our road trip to Far North QLD. It is in a great location to access all the attractions that the Tablelands has to offer. The motel is only a couple of mins walk from eating venues in Yungaburra. The hosts Jane and Mark are very accommodating and friendly, Jane likes to cook so breakfast is on offer for $10 per person and will also offer to cook you a roast meal as well if you like. Fresh scones with jam was also offered to us upon arrival. We had the spa room which has a nice area out the front to sit at and is seperate from all the other rooms. The motel is pet friendly, the hosts have a Brussels Griffon that will come and say hi. It has a pool, WiFi worked well, bed was comfy, they are licenced so you can buy beer & wine from them. No netflix just free to air, but you can choose a DVD to watch from their very large collection. Open air car parking is provided at the back of the motel, if you have a long vehicle you will have to do a bit of maneuvering to park your car as it's a little tight especially if there are a few cars already parked, but there is also plenty of off street parking right out the front as well. The motel itself is not new, so is a bit dated. For our purpose of just needing a well priced place to sleep while we were out sightseeing the Tablelands all day the Curtain Fig Motel suited as well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Johnson, Owner at Curtain Fig Motel
Responded 2 Dec 2021
Many thanks - we enjoyed meeting you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Yungaburra area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$155 - AU$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandYungaburra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CURTAIN FIG MOTEL (AU$155): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Yungaburra) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Curtain Fig Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Curtain Fig Motel?
Nearby attractions include The Peterson Creek Walking Track (0.4 km), Yungaburra Platypus Viewing Platform (0.2 km), and Yungaburra Markets (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Curtain Fig Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Curtain Fig Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Curtain Fig Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Curtain Fig Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whistle Stop Cafe, Our Place Restaurant, and Nick's Swiss Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Curtain Fig Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Curtain Fig Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Yungaburra.
Are pets allowed at Curtain Fig Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Curtain Fig Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.