We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra

3 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (40)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 motels in Yungaburra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
12 Rooms for 2 Adults We do Quiet all our rooms are surrounded by gardens Parking is limited
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
207Reviews0Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 133
  • 57
  • 9
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Oldjack wrote a review Aug 2023
Greater Melbourne, Australia27910 contributions3629 helpful votes
Kookaburra Lodge Motel was a good motel and a pleasant place to stay in Yungaburra. The room was small but very clean and all that was needed but it was dark with lighting that could be improved. Proiobably as good as it gets in Youngaburra and recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sandra S wrote a review Feb 2023
Perth, Australia727 contributions236 helpful votes
Excellent position, located in a quiet area within walking distance to a supermarket, hotel, restaurant and cafes. Our bed was very comfortable fitted with good quality bed linen and lovely to find fluffy king size bath towels. There are no cooking facilities but a microwave, along with tea or coffee facilities is provided. We opted for breakfast delivered to our room, which was most enjoyable and like the room tariff it was excellent value!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michael W wrote a review Aug 2022
Sydney54 contributions22 helpful votes
It was 2010 when I last visited Yungaburra and stayed at the Kookaburra Lodge. Twelve years on, it did not disappoint. Such a unique motel nestled in the beautiful bush but walking distance to the lovely town. The gardens are such a delight and one has to be energised to leave the gorgeous porch area and visit the magnificent sites nearby. The waterfalls are spectacular but don't forget a visit to Nerada Tea. Thank you to Cyndi for a very warm welcome and offers of assistance. Hopefully not 12 years next time. Michael
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I stayed in Number 12 I think it is probably the best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Twomey, Owner at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Thank you Michael and thank you for your parting gift and lovely note. Have an awesome holiday and we will see you next time you visit Yungaburra 😀
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gagars wrote a review May 2022
Adelaide, Australia7 contributions3 helpful votes
Hidden gem in the beautiful village of Yungaburra. Very peaceful and quiet setting close to all facilities. Rooms were very well appointed and clean. The outdoor barbecue area was very clean and well appointed. One of the best we have stayed in. The hosts Mark and Cindy were delightful. We’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Twomey, Owner at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra
Responded 16 May 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you next time your in Yungaburra.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SchelleG154 wrote a review Oct 2021
Darwin, Australia13 contributions4 helpful votes
When we checked in met a lovely and pleasant lady named Cyndi. Very helpful. She showed us to our room, other places have left us to 'find' our room. We mentioned we have not been here before and wanted to do some exploring. Cyndi suggested we order extra breakfast, we did and placed the food in our containers for lunch. The room was Very clean and was tastefully decorated. Well equipped room and the owners offered (if we needed) to provide: iron,extension cords, eating utensils and crockery on request. The outdoors were very neat, tidy and well maintained. Thank you for a 'Delightful and very pleasant stay. We didn't get to see everything, which means, we are more than happy to come back here again. Cheers, Michelle P.S. The pancakes and jam, scrambled eggs were to die for, Highly recommended to order.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Twomey, Owner at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Thank you Michelle, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Kookaburra Lodge Motel. We look forward to your return, stay safe and enjoy the rest of your holiday
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Barb A wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
I stayed with Cyndi and Mark during early May 2021 on a road trip for my 40th Birthday! Fantastic accommodation for a single or couple. Rooms were very tidy, clean and very COVIDSafe. My mother and I were made to feel so welcome and at ease during our stay. Their son even greeted us and exchanged pleasant remarks when having a coffee on our private patio. Great base to explore the local region with the ammenities needed. Cyndi shared tips and great sighs to see which added so much “local knowledge” value to our road trip. If you have children, this might not meet your needs, but is perfect for the traveller who desires quiet, relaxing and peaceful accommodation. 10/10 would stay again. Barb
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KIWITRIPPA wrote a review Oct 2021
NEW ZEALAND59 contributions31 helpful votes
Receptionist lady, Rudest encounter in all of Yungabarra!! In times like these all guests should be welcomed regardless of colour age etc. Went to Kookaburra after a couple of recommendations only to be rudely met by a person that couldn’t care to say hello except look me up and down. I had to say hello only to get a rolling eyes YES. Attitude was disgusting. There is Plenty more places to stay with very warm welcomes.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Twomey, Owner at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Sorry can't comment, Did not see this person nor did we have this person stay at our motel as our occupancy during this time was full?? We hope the rest of your holiday is a positive one
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
goodie2shoesCairns wrote a review July 2021
Cairns, Australia78 contributions29 helpful votes
Clean, tidy rooms with all the necessary toiletries tea coffee biscuits etc. Good hot shower. Comfortable bed. Nicely landscaped, cosy homey feeling. Very friendly hosts. Close to town centre but nice and quiet. Ideal accommodation for a stay in lovely Yubgaburra.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Twomey, Owner at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Thank you and we hope to see you again, stay safe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hateusername wrote a review Apr 2021
Townsville, Australia171 contributions100 helpful votes
The above rule, in upper case for emphasis no doubt, was copied from a list displayed in the bathroom of this property. Previous reviewers have commented that the rules were over the top. In over 50 years of staying at motels and hotels likely thousands of time I have never seen such a sign. Checkout is 10 AM is clearly the overwhelming norm. From memory there is also a $25 cleaning fee if the microwave is not cleaned to their standard. I was aware of the rules somewhat before arriving at the property having read the TA reviews however I decided to risk a stay as the overall rating was good; this is one of the very few occasions where I have strongly disagreed with a TA rating The property is poorly designed with the small car park being separate from and not adjacent to the units. As the term motel originated as a motor hotel where you park adjacent to your unit for convenience, a separate car park is unusual. The car park is small and the bays very narrow. A supermarket car park is a luxury compared to this one. When parked in the centre of a bay with a car in the next bay it is impossible to fully open your door to exit your vehicle. If a large 4 WD is parked in an adjacent bay you will only be able to get your door open about one third. This happened to me and I found it extraordinarily difficult to even get into my vehicle one morning. On returning later that day and after a six point turn to navigate the cramped space I decided to park in a position that would allow me to exit without contorting. The adjacent bay I partially used was in my view almost inaccessible except to a motor bike being hemmed in by a seemingly permanently parked trailer or boat under a tarpaulin and the garden. As I was getting out of my vehicle , one of the owners came out and reprimanded for not parking within the bay. In over 50 years I have never in my life been reprimanded by a motel owner or manager for any reason. Reluctantly I decided to risk vandalism to my car and completely avoid the very inadequate motel car park and park on the street outside for the remainder of our stay. Having read the stern rules for the property which are widely displayed and experiencing the owners displeasure at trying to park in a way I could get out my car, we chose not to mention to the owners that my wife felt that her bed in unit 3 closest to the bathroom was at least partially broken in case we were blamed and charged for whatever was wrong. We also did not mention that the WI- FI failed to work completely.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Twomey, Owner at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra
Responded 30 July 2021
Mr Hateusername our sincere apologies for the parking inconvenience and miss-understanding standing as we don't reprimand guests for parking poorly but inform them that in doing so they may incure damage to their or other gusts vehicles. If my approach came across as a reprimand that was not my intention but only to inform you that damage could happen.. One of the reasons we chose to purchase our motel was that The car park was not directly outside rooms. This to us was seen as a health and safety issue, due to fumes, noise and disturbance to guests which we loathed during our years of travel. Sure there is a down side to this for those who want to see their vehicle and not walk a total of 70 meters to our furthest room, I don't apologise for this as it was part of our criteria when purchasing. As for our 10am check out notification; we send this out as part of the guests confirmation details, sadly in our experience most of these are unread prior to or after departure. We are constantly required to ask guests after 10 am to vacate their room as we need to strip bedding for laundry to be sent off site for cleaning. Currently due to the pandemic requirements we are unable to accommodate late checkouts without incurring further costs to our business. Our business/livelihood is struggling to stay afloat and remain open during this tough time with constant cancelations due to closures, boarder restrictions,interstate and international lockdown . Just to clarify in regard to our room microwaves , we have never placed a cleaning fee or suggested a fee would be incurred if left dirty, however a note is located in each oven asking that guests wipe out after use as this reduces the time it take to get them ready for next guest. WIFI is a Priority these days and we are constantly chasing better providers and service for ourselves and guests. However we seem to find out that there was an issue after guest departure and it is usually a simple fix. We would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you stay safe and well during these crazy times.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Allan R wrote a review Mar 2021
Emerald, Australia2 contributions
Only positive things to say about Kookaburra Lodge. Great friendly owners nothing too much trouble, rooms very clean and smell fresh. Out door lighting is turned off by 11pm so no light flooding the room 👍 attention to detail tops. Place is quiet and lovely gardens highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Twomey, Owner at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Glad your stay was great. We look forward to your next visit 😀
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Yungaburra area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$139 - AU$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kookaburra hotel yungaburra, kookaburra motel yungaburra
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandYungaburra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KOOKABURRA LODGE MOTEL YUNGABURRA (AU$139): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra
Which popular attractions are close to Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra?
Nearby attractions include The Peterson Creek Walking Track (0.3 km), Artistree Gallery (0.2 km), and The Gem Gallery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whistle Stop Cafe, Our Place Restaurant, and Mad Hatterz.
Is Kookaburra Lodge Motel Yungaburra located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Yungaburra.