We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Outback Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Outback Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Woolgoolga, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am glad I checked the last review before posting mine. My dog was more then welcome and received many pats from the friendly owners! Rooms were neat and well kept. The friendly owners spent a lot of time ringing friends and other establishments to check the road conditions as both Kynuna and Juliet Creek where closed. I wouldn't stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADOS_49
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Ados_49 for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have both of you and your lovely dog here. As a matter of fact it seemed like pet night while you were here and everyone and their pets were great. Checking road conditions and trying to know what is happening with road closures is part of the service...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After offering extra money if we could keep our dog in the room on his own bedding we were given a bunt no, my dog has never been on a chain before so I was nervous to keep him chained outside with no front gate, ended up having to lay in the car with him anyway so people walking past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19evelyn93
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you had so much trouble with your pet. If you are travelling with one it is always advisable to ring ahead. At the time of booking in you were told that you could not have a pet in your room and after you had checked in and paid you let us know you really wanted...

Zilzie, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Nice motel , everything works and it's clean and comfortable the owners are very pleasant to deal with and reception is fast and efficient. As I say it is not a 5 star hotel but you are in outback queensland so enjoy the hospitality. There is no restaurant here at the Motel , but there are plenty of places in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnsy123aus
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Happy Travels.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I personally thought the room was expensive compared to others I have stayed in, however when in remote areas I guess you don't have a choice. It was convenient to the hotel where you can get a good meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen120
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you felt our prices were expensive but we are on a par as being one of the cheapest motels in town and on a par with any in the region. As you say it costs way more to live and shop in a remote region with our linen costing twice as much as any on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I was particularly impressed with the friendliness and warmth of the hosts, Jan and Ray. The room was very clean and comfortable, with lovely thick towels and a generous supply of tea and coffee. Breakfast was hot, delicious and on time. Location is ideal, being close to bakery, hotels, library, shops and pool. I'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bsher14
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely comments. As I often say it is really easy to be friendly to great guests. Will pass on your comments to our fantastic cleaners. We look forward to seeing you again.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

On the main street into/out of town. Easy to find, easy to park with undercover parking. Met with great smiles and appreciation from I think it was Ray and Jan who just got back from holidays that same day and still smiling. The room was great, clean, tidy and smelt welcoming. Has everything you need, fridge, microwave, tv, toaster, kettle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Etonbeach
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

I am really sorry we have not responded sooner. Missed it somehow. Thank you very much for reviewing. We are hoping to build more rooms soon so will make sure we can fit a comfy chair into them. We will pass on to our wonderful cleaners the comments on the rooms. Thanks again.

Emu Park, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My sister and her husband are travelling with us, we have a caravan and they stay in motels or cabins. This motel is one of the best. They have a lovely room and are very comfortable. The managers are relief managers but could not do enough for them. We would highly recommend this motel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela R
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing. Sorry I have been a bit slow responding but just getting into the swing of things after our holiday. So pleased that Peter and Jenny looked after you so well. We look forward to meeting you if you return.

Sydney
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The Outback Hotel is in the main street of Winton about one block away from the town center. This is a great location as it is not far to walk but far enough away to avoid any noise from town. We have stayed in a number of hotels in small country towns and to a degree they are all pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snarper
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a well put together review. We appreciate the good comments and will pass on to our staff the comments about the cleanliness. We think our location is the best in a great small town with lots to offer. We hope you always have great times travelling.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We stayed here in their converted ex-house next door to the main office. It is set up for families and does that quite well with 3 double beds in 2 rooms with a kitchen area as well. It is and upstairs unit so you have to be okay with 1 flight of stairs. There is also and outdoor area to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daz G
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing. We appreciate it. We like the location at times ourselves. Of course you had the roomiest of the family units. Hope you enjoyed all your trip.

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

After nearly two months away we were delighted to stay with such friendly hosts and in a clean and roomy motel. We were able to leave the car parked and walk into town. The resident Brolga birds were a source of intrigue as they appeared to be quite at home in the front grounds, but almost territorial if approached too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely having you stay next door. So glad we could help when we could and look forward to seeing you again.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winton hotels
0.3 km away
North Gregory Hotel
North Gregory Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winton
260 reviews
0.4 km away
Matilda Motel
Matilda Motel
#4 of 5 in Winton
38 reviews
1.2 km away
Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Winton Outback Motel is centrally located in the heart of historic Winton. Home to the wonderful Age of Dinosaurs Museum and stopping off point for the Dinosaur stampede Winton is a must see. The Quantilda Museum part of the Waltzing Matilda Centre is still operating and construction of the new centre is not far away. The motel is close to excellent dining and outback pub experiences. The property offers 20 new and newly refurbished rooms including three upstairs family units. All rooms have private bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Free parking onsite and off-road. Come along and meet your friendly hosts Ray and Jan who love to show you around their home town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outback Motel

Address: 95 Elderslie St, Winton, Queensland 4735, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Price Range: $131 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Motel Winton, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outback Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Outback Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed as a couple.”
 of 5 bubbles Etonbeach, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 15 to 19 are a little away from the main hotel which we thought was good”
 of 5 bubbles Snarper, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“talk to Jan or Ray...all rooms looked OK to me. There were newer family units.”
 of 5 bubbles kenp992, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I think any room is as good as next. All rooms being good. Book it.”
 of 5 bubbles jbech, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All good and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelN779, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay