Granite Belt Brewery
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Granite Belt Brewery

146 Glenlyon Drive, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380 Australia
Traveller (266)
Kangaroos quite plentiful.
Room & Suite (85)
On site microbrewery producing craft beer
Dining (40)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 4 lodges in Stanthorpe
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Set on 30 acres of natural bushland just 5 minutes from Stanthorpe, our country estate features 19 cedar cabins complete with log fire, a 1000 litre micro brewery plus a bar, restaurant and function centre. ​Whether you are looking for a romantic weekend getaway, a ceremony & wedding venue for your special day or simply need a refreshing ale, Granite Belt Brewery has it all. We look forward to sharing our hidden piece of paradise with you when you're next in the region.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Table tennis
Books, DVDs, music for children
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Street parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
632Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 385
  • 195
  • 30
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark wrote a review July 2021
26 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from an amazing four days at Granite Belt Brewery and Retreat. The log cabins are cosy and well appointed, lived the wood heater with ample supply of kindling and hardwood to keep it cosy during our stay.

The cabins are very private and set amongst stunning natural rugged bush terrain with granite boulders and wildlife including rosellas, kangaroos, wallabies at your doorstep. Water was always hot, electric blankets were a nice touch when the temperatures dipped below zero, and the big bay windows in the lounge provided a beautiful aspect to admire whilst snuggled in front of the wood heater. The breakfast box was a nice touch, freshly baked bread and an assortment of local produce was very tasty.

We loved the fact they have some pet friendly cabins and our English Bulldog loved curling up next to the fireplace as well as having a secure fenced backyard area to play in. The only minor negative is the cabin we were in didn’t have good wifi connection and the remote location means the 4G reception is a bit hit and miss. Not a bad thing if you are looking for a digital detox but the owners are looking to address through some upgrades to their wifi boosters. The bar and restaurant area do have public wifi access and lots of cosy books and lounges if you need access.

Geoff was really welcoming and gave us some tips for hiking trails in the adjacent state forest, there’s lots of places to explore and soak up the beautiful clean country air. Lots to do in and around Stanthorpe, we took advantage of the suggestions provided by GBB and did a couple of day trips.

The restaurant and bar located at the central homestead were a great spot to relax and unwind, for the beer connoisseurs I’d recommend the tasting paddle to get started! Geoff is obviously passionate about his brewing and it shows, beers were top notch.

The restaurant serves great food, staff were extremely friendly and attentive and they even have a back verandah if you want to have a meal alongside your furry friends. We did the three course set dinner and it was all delicious.

We can’t wait to get back there again, was definitely one of the best breaks away we’ve had and the fact we could share it with our fur baby was a massive plus.

Well done Geoff and the team at Granite Belt Brewery and Retreat for an outstanding operation you’ve built, look forward to visiting again soon!

Mark, Jane and Winston
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brewery Reservations, Owner at Granite Belt Brewery
Responded 26 July 2021
Wow!! What an amazing, well written review with so much detail. Thank you for putting in so much effort (and for mentioning Geoff's name - he'll be very proud). We look forward to your next stay! Best regards, Dee and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nwhinnett wrote a review Nov 2020
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a long weekend in mid-October and were very pleased with Granite Belt Brewery/Retreat.

We had dinner at the restaurant on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed the meal/beers. The restaurant was busy yet the food came out quickly.

The breakfast basket given at check-in was perfect from Saturday morning. On the Sunday, we had a cooked breakfast in the restaurant which was included in the booking. There was a small breakfast range but something for everyone and all delicious.

The accommodation is cosy and well equipped for a 2-night stay. Being a little later in the year, the weather was too warm to light the fire in the room however we noticed smoke from other guests chimneys. Each cabin was stocked with firewood ready for use if you wanted it.

If visiting during the week, check the restaurant opening times as with Covid, they are operating on restricted hours. As we stayed during the weekend, this wasn't an issue with us.

We would and already have recommended this place to our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brewery Reservations, Owner at Granite Belt Brewery
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Hi Nick, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again at another time (and your friends). Best regards, Dee, Geoff and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thrifty Family Travels wrote a review July 2020
Brisbane, Australia752 contributions112 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently spent a few nights at the Granite Belt Brewery Retreat. We stayed in a standard timber cabin which is great for small families coming with a queen bed and single.

The cabin also comes with a microwave and crockery so you can prepare basic meals inside the cabin. The cabins also come with a lovely log fire so are absolutely perfect for sitting in front of at the end of the day with a glass of wine from the region and any other goodies you bought.

Onsite of course is the brewery as well as a bar and restaurant. We didn't get to dine in the restaurant during our stay so I'm unable to comment on that.

The cabins are the perfect base for families exploring the area. I marked it a 4 instead of a 5 for a few little minor things. There was a bulb missing in our cabin and we were questioned as to why we needed extra fire starter items on the second day. I also think it would have been better providing us fresh bread each morning for the breakfast hamper rather than all the bread for our entire stay as we arrived.

Regardless I certainly recommend it and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendyM777 wrote a review Dec 2020
Cairns, Australia7 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very similar to disappointed the original
3 courses ok but please give table service !
Had to keep asking for more knives and forks for each course !
If you have ribs on the menu please give them more than one washer or bowl.
Missed out on my chosen dessert as it wasn’t frozen enough.
COVID is not an excuse for lack of service.
This place has so much potential to be a thriving friendly hipster cool place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cutestuff wrote a review Sept 2020
Mooloolaba, Australia76 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Some of the reviews mix the accommodation, brewery and restaurant.
Restaurant: didn't eat as only open fri -mon for dinner, 3 course set menu $60pp. 3 Take away microwave options available for heating in your cabin.
Brewery/Bar: large back deck overlooking duck pond and grassed area. 4 sample tasting paddles $10/15. 8 beers/ciders on tap. Hubby liked the session ale and IPA. Deck is puppy friendly. Open 10 til 5pm daily
Cabins: breakfast basket with cereal, muesli, bread, marmalade, butter, apples and juice. Tea/coffee, milk & sugar provided. Woodburner set up for first fire and clear instructions provided, wood replenished daily. Free wifi.
Clean, tidy cabins, bed average, sofa needed replacing-springs protruding. Microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge in room. Very little space on the counter though, no sink in the kitchenette corner so have to wash up in the bathroom or fill the washing up bowl and do it on the deck.
A cheap option for a one or possibly two night stay but not equipped for longer, especially with the restricted opening hours due to COVid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brewery Reservations, Owner at Granite Belt Brewery
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Thank you for your description of our property. We're glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and agree that our cabins are short stay accommodation, not long term. You will be glad to know that we have a prototype kitchen ready to install when business quietens down a little. We agree that the kitchen area is too small and due to Covid-19, not everyone is comfortable eating out now. We want to give our guests more comfort in their cabins should they wish to stay in and cook a meal. Thank you once again:) Dee, Geoff and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seventythree F wrote a review Dec 2020
Caboolture, Australia29 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First impressions, the brewery and retreat looked weathered and could do with a refurbishment. The bar area had a good vibe and guests were enjoying themselves. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the pet friendly cabin which was in desperate need of refurbishment. The cabin appearance was run down, had a ripped door curtain and a window screen that kept falling out. The grass was overgrown in the courtyard. We backed onto an area used by guests and children, so if you plan to relax outside and read a book, keep in mind privacy is limited during the day/afternoon. The breakfast box was delicious with home-made bread and muesli. The first evening we booked dinner in the restaurant at a set price of $60 pp. We expressed our disappointment in our meals considering the price we paid and cancelled our NYE dinner reservation the following evening. Good for a short term stopover.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brewery Reservations, Owner at Granite Belt Brewery
Responded 2 Jan 2021
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not like the appearance of our country retreat and our rustic timber cabins. I have a new curtain that has just been made to measure in your cabin and am just waiting to put it up next week. One of the dogs that recently stayed in the room ripped it. Thanks for letting us know about the fly screen. I will get maintenance onto it immediately. The lawns are mowed weekly, but with all this rain and sunshine, they are growing very fast. Our staff mentioned to me your disappointment in the restaurant for dinner on the first night of your stay. They said that you were very, disappointed that there was some fat in the meat of your ribs but you understood that this was not our fault. I'm not too sure how to respond further to this. We are very glad you enjoyed our home made breakfast box. Thanks again. Dee, Geoff and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan F wrote a review Apr 2021
Sunshine Coast, Australia16 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cabin was good - having to fetch our own firewood for the fireplace was a novelty for our toddler. We thought that the last occupants had only left 3 matches in the box, but when we went to get more from the office, and were only supplied with 3 more we had to chuckle. It’s not going to break the bank to supply a box of matches in cabins for people to start fires in their fireplaces if/when the choose to
Breakfast basket for 3 was dismal.
Grounds need some love - particularly the bocce lanes and outdoor furniture in the common areas.
Majority of Restaurant food was so-so. Mains were the highlight. Apple crumble dessert was dismal.
Didn’t have a second glass of any of the brewery’s beers...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brewery Reservations, Owner at Granite Belt Brewery
Responded 6 Apr 2021
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you weren't as happy with your stay as we would have hoped. With regard to the firewood, we are still charging our low season rates )Summer shoulder) so firewood is not supplied until our higher Autumn tariff is applied in May. We sell bags of firewood with kindling in our shop for $15 which most guests use if they decide they would like a fire, and we have also just recently installed reverse cycle airconditioning to ensure that all guests are comfortable regardless of what season it is. I will speak to our staff about the matches. We have bulk boxes of matches in our laundry, so you should have been given a new box. I have no idea why the box you were given only had three matches and am so sorry for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, our bocce court is underwater still from the recent flooding rains. There's not much we can do about that at the moment. Sorry you didn't enjoy our beers. We make a large range of beers to satisfy all tastes, and are sorry to hear you didn't like any of them. Thank you once again for your review. Dee, Geoff and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine A wrote a review Sept 2022
Brisbane, Australia27 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely countryfied cabin - loved it!
Had a great little fireplace that was easy to use. Bigger wood already cut & available and there is plenty of the smaller twigs/branches being able to be found very close by - collect it whilst it's dry and keep it that way in the timber boxes on your little verandah - perfect!
Beautiful showers. /comfy beds. Included a continental brekky with a lot of variety including apple juice, fantastic bread,locally grown apples, milk, butter, jam, cereal & muesli along with of course tea coffee sugar etc etc.
Also easy driving to all sites, wineries and shops.
Friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Loved our cabin. Had cabin #6 - perfect for position, access etc. There are a couple of stairs...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brewery Reservations, Owner at Granite Belt Brewery
Responded 24 Sept 2022
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us Christine and thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the Granite Belt! Best regards, GBB team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Appsfamily wrote a review Aug 2020
Brisbane, Australia114 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a family cabin for 2 nights. Room came with a breakfast basket which had a variety of items. Cabin was cosy. The firewood was topped up daily which was needed the fire ended up going out midnight. Room came with a heater and heated blankets as well. We also went and had dinner down at the brewery highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brewery Reservations, Owner at Granite Belt Brewery
Responded 6 Oct 2020
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thanks, Dee, Geoff and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ali C wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I, my parents, his parents and my two siblings all had a mini holiday at the Granite Belt Retreat recently.
The Hidden House was a great size with a lots of spaces for everyone to hang out in - together or seperate. The house was clean and very comfortable.
The location is very private, you cannot hear or see any other guests.
We would definitely stay again and will be recommending it to anyone who asks.
Thanks!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brewery Reservations, Owner at Granite Belt Brewery
Responded 20 Feb 2023
What a wonderful review - thank you! GBB team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steph S asked a question Nov 2020
Maryborough, Australia11 contributions
What are the opening hours of your restaurant..
Pauline N asked a question Oct 2018
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Are tea bags and coffee supplied in cabins
Answer from happyvr
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Pauline, Yes they are. We also provide a local produce breakfast basket with local apple juice, locally roasted coffee, homemade muesli, jam and bread, milk, butter and a few apples as well! Our onsite restaurant is open everyday for lunch and dinner except on Tuesday and Thursday nights. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. Thanks, Dee
Amanda P wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Well worth a try"
Read full review
Carol D wrote a tip Aug 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The brewery restaurant can get very busy.....we were very lucky when we arrived we got a table but it is a very popular eating place"
Read full review
Coss wrote a tip July 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go with the flow, leave the stress behind. "
Read full review
Melanie C wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the fire going on arrival it gets cool "
Read full review
Susan W wrote a tip Nov 2022
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely eat at the restaurant and don’t forget to collect your fresh bread!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stanthorpe area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$244 - AU$265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Happy Valley Retreat
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSouthern Downs RegionStanthorpe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRANITE BELT BREWERY (AU$244): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Stanthorpe) - Photos of Lodge - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Granite Belt Brewery
Which popular attractions are close to Granite Belt Brewery?
Nearby attractions include Granite Belt Christmas Farm (5.7 km), Donnelly's Castle (1.4 km), and Truffle Discovery Centre Stanthorpe (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Granite Belt Brewery?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Granite Belt Brewery?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Granite Belt Brewery?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Granite Belt Brewery?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Granite Belt Brewery?
Conveniently located restaurants include ZEST Pastries, Varias Restaurant and Function Center, and Granite Belt Brewery.
Does Granite Belt Brewery offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Granite Belt Brewery?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Is Granite Belt Brewery accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Stanthorpe HotelsStanthorpe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in StanthorpeHotels near Granite Belt Brewery
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars