We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Inn Overlander Homestead

Show Prices
#8 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn Overlander Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Inn Overlander Homestead
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a 7 hour drive, we were hoping for a friendly country welcome. However, we were met with a barrage of abuse because we had booked through hotels.com. The room was just satisfactory, although a bit pricey for what it is, Quite dated, and bed quite hard. The biggest complaint is the extremely noisy plumbing - from 2am we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
Charles J, Owner at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

Kim, You have copied John's response to hotels.com which is part of Expedia. Of the $136 you pay we only get $115.40. For $4 more you could have booked a 4 1/2 star officially rated king room which for a special week end would have been great. I did have you upgraded but reverted you back to the Queen before...

Brisbane
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 5 had a very enjoyable stay at the Overlander Homestead. The rooms have every thing you need for a comfortable stay. The furniture contributed to the comfort and it was clear that the owners took great pride in the place. There was also plenty of space for our children to run and kick a ball - much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacki I
Charles J, Owner at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind remarks and also making them public. We are a family owned and managed business and try our hardest to make every visit a happy one. I will pass on your remarks to Chelsea and the chefs.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in town for work everything you could want was available.We were upgraded to a king room the finishes are beautiful Restaurant is a must the food and service is exceptional .Will definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette P
Charles J, Manager at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed the king room. We actually only really have two queen rooms the rest are all king, so we often do this especially if you have a big smile. Thanks for staying

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great motel, not a new motel but still very well appointed. Restaurant food is outstanding, staff were very friendly and accomodating, it was quite hot outside and the air conditioner cooled our entire room down without being to noisy, would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 224happytravels
Charles J, Owner at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the kind words. In 2012 The Overlander had a metre of water through it in the flood. So we completely stripped the motel back and did a 100% renovation, which is why we have all the mahogany furniture. It is just simply a homely motel where you can relax and enjoy.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I booked one room whilst travelling through town for work. Reception and staff were nice, the room was very nicely presented, comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. It's a fair way from town which didn't bother me but it's too far to walk if that's your thing. A couple of lights were fluttering, bulbs must be on their last legs but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Charles J, Manager at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

Chris, Thanks for making the comments. Travelling is expensive today where ever you go, I travel a lot with two other jobs, so can vouch for that. There are always advantages and disadvantages on the location of a motel, our main advantages are being first on the right coming in from Brisbane and being far enough out of Town, so...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on a work trip recently and I can not speak highly enough of the accomodation and the food, but it was the extremely friendly family who own the place that topped off my stay. If you cannot stay the night then just drop into the restaurant for a meal as the meal that was brought to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
Charles J, Owner at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind comments Kyle. It is comments like these that make being a family run business worth while. There are very few unhappy people after that stay here! That is what a family business is all about. Hope work brings you to Roma again.

Mermaid Waters, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I stayed one night recently, and was disappointed at the lack of maintenance in the room I was in. Only small things, like the toilet roll holder needing tightening so the roll won't keep falling on the floor, and the extractor fan needing lubrication to reduce noise. Things attentive room staff should check on, and report to management. The furnishings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heff_260
Charles J, Owner at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

Heff, I take your comments on board and have replaced the fan. The furniture is all new, solid hand carved mahogany. The same as antiques from yesteryear. That is what we like. So my taste is the problem there, but it is beautiful! The reason we did it this way is because after 3 floods this furniture can handle a...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I have stayed here many many time's 10 years ago.I feel that it is not as good as it use to be.My bedside light did not work so i could read my book before i went to sleep.After getting out of bed pulling the bedside table away from the wall i found that the light was not even plunged in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manamiss
Charles J, Owner at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Hope you had a pleasant trip.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I and my team stayed at the Overlander for five nights. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome by the friendly management and staff. The rooms were spacious and very clean and my bed was a comfortable place to be after a long day at work. The restaurant is a treat - the meals are outstanding both in choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aedwards62
Charles J, Owner at Quality Inn Overlander Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for making a kind review. We try to supply the best beds, best showers and best food in a friendly atmosphere. I will pass the review onto the family and the chefs.

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Welcoming friendly staff, great room and breakfast. Can genuinely say I will return to this motel. Overall a lovely night away from home. Room very well appointed and clean. Room service breakfast was just the right size.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb C

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roma hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Bungil Creek Motel
1.4 km away
Starlight Motor Inn
Starlight Motor Inn
#1 of 11 in Roma
243 reviews
0.1 km away
Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Roma Central Motel
Roma Central Motel
#2 of 11 in Roma
96 reviews
2.1 km away
Mandalay Motel
Mandalay Motel
#3 of 11 in Roma
107 reviews
2.4 km away
Motel Carnarvon
Motel Carnarvon
#7 of 11 in Roma
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Overlander Homestead Motel is the highest rated Motel in Western Queensland. 33, 4 1/2 star officially rated rooms set on 5 acres provides peace and tranquility and extra safety and security being nearly 2 Kms from town. There is room for caravans and trailers. The Overlander Restaurant is a favourite for the local community, a full A La carte restaurant catering for all tastes with freshly made ingredients and superb meats including OBE organic beef, Bakers Creek Pork and locally sourced lamb. The bar supplies over 40 different types of beer and an extensive wine list and cocktail bar to match anywhere in the world. We are a family run business and invite you to sample our hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn Overlander Homestead

Address: Warrego Highway, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Price Range: $130 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Inn Overlander Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Overlander Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Overlander Homestead Roma, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn Overlander Homestead staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn Overlander Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if there is one away from t h incredibly noisy plumbing - avoid room 17. Loud highway noise too”
156KimW, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms look great”
224happytravels, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't have room 21 its next to the Kitchen and the staff come out to smoke.I don't smoke so the smell was off putting”
manamiss, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Anywhere is good. Just stay at the Overlander, no where else.”
Z757UYsteve, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just simple comfort and quality”
samando, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5