We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Silky Oaks Lodge

Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1307)
Room & Suite (196)
Dining (173)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 resort in Mossman
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Neighbouring the World Heritage-listed wilderness of the Daintree National Park, Silky Oaks Lodge offers guests a stylish rainforest escape. Long regarded as Tropical North Queensland’s luxury bolt-hole, the lodge is ideally located for access to the region’s spectacular natural attractions, including the Daintree Rainforest, Mossman Gorge, the Great Barrier Reef and Cape Tribulation. With views over the Mossman River, guests relax in one of forty private treehouses, each a luxurious retreat complete with generous balcony and hammock ready to sway in the afternoon breeze. Dining in the open-air Treehouse Restaurant welcomes the sights and sounds of the rainforest, creating an extraordinary backdrop for enjoying fine cuisine in a contemporary Australian style. Set among lush rainforest gardens, the Healing Waters Spa is inspired by ancient beliefs that celebrate water in the Mossman River as a renewing and life-giving force. A signature menu of rejuvenation treatments feature natural earth clays, flower and plant essences and the Australian-made Sodashi skincare range. Complimentary experiences at Silky Oaks Lodge include yoga and snorkelling in the Mossman River while optional experiences range from driving safaris, indigenous guided walks, heli tours and reef explorations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Parking
Internet
Hot bath
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
1267Reviews14Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 966
  • 196
  • 63
  • 25
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kate K wrote a review 27 Feb
Neenah, Wisconsin2 contributions
I was afraid Silky Oaks could not live up to my expectations- but it blew me away. So much takes place amidst the dense vegetation of the rainforest with the sound of the river always in the background- you are completely immersed! Best pillows and comforters, a hammock on one balcony and an outdoor shower and tub on the other- you get the picture. Sample local wines and enjoy some of the tastiest food in Australia. We started each day with a fabulous and so personalized yoga class, up in the trees and to the sound of the birds, rushing river or rain. We hiked to the falls with stunning views up the mountains of the clear water rushing over the rocks. Plunge in to the river for a dip before or after you enjoy the picnic lunch staff packed for you. As always, it’s the people that make it and this staff comes from all over the world to ensure your comfort every minute of your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You can do some laundry on your way out- or have them do it for you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
happytraveller956 wrote a review 21 Feb
Helsinki, Finland29 contributions19 helpful votes
This Resort is beautiful! The food is amazing - you have an excellent chef! Very fascinating fusion kitchen - we could get used to this! The river is so clean and fresh, we were swimming and floating and did long Walks in the rainforest. Also ebiking was fun. My private forest bath experience in the spa was good. Lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TexasHomey wrote a review 5 Feb
37 contributions19 helpful votes
This place is amazing. The staff was incredible, the food amazing and the facility, itself, is spectacular. We had wonderful time there. We had booked a lot of activities away from the property. After we got there, we were sorry because there is actually a lot of things to do on the property. Be sure and give yourself some time there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plan to spend some time on the actual property and surrounding area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michael S wrote a review Jan 2024
Rocky Mount, North Carolina375 contributions217 helpful votes
There is something special about staying in a treehouse with a deck overlooking the forest canopy, even with annoying bird calls in the middle of the night. Facilities are first rate classy, meals good – although service was a bit slow – with the bar making a special new gin drink every night. Right on the Mossman River, we went kayaking and then enjoyed the first rate spa. Beautiful place!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KenW wrote a review Jan 2024
Phoenix, Arizona162 contributions86 helpful votes
Ok - it’s expensive … but worth it. From check-in to check-out, Steve’s “Garden Tour” (ask for it - way more than just the garden) Drew the manager being accommodating during a threatening cyclone (that never arrived), fantastic spa services and everything in between you couldn’t ask for more. And I didn’t even get to the included perfect breakfasts, and delicious cocktails and dinners. Ok - you have to pop for lunch if you are not out on one of the great Dainstree or reef adventures — big deal. Really gorgeous, relaxing and peaceful. That’s what I call luxury! Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go for a swim at “the beach” in the crystal clear cool and pristine creek water
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Margarita F wrote a review Jan 2024
17 contributions1 helpful vote
The Lodge is beautiful and the staff were wonderful but the food was extremely disappointing especially for the three vegans in our family. They were informed months before we arrived that our group had vegans. At these prices you expect the food to be very good but sadly for the four nights we were there only one meal was even marginally good. And the breakfast selection was very disappointing!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Good Australian wine selection. Fantastic staff. Food was so incredibly disappointing!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Silky Oaks Lodge
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear Margarita We are very sorry to hear that the meals did not live up to your expectations, our kitchen team take great care and pride in their work and do their best to cater to all dietary requirements, we often cater for vegan guests and regularly receive praise for the quality and taste of these meals. Please accept our apologies that in this instance, we did not provide the outstanding food the team is known for. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, as we are always striving to improve. Kind regards Drew Bernhardt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gourmet Gal wrote a review Jan 2024
San Francisco, California16 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed with a group that bought out the property for several nights. The property is lovely and we enjoyed a guided tour with a wonderful local man and I had a massage in the spa that was one of the best of my life. The bar staff were friendly and the gin-making class was really fun but the food, in general was not remarkable and the older lady at reception was just downright unfriendly. Service in the restaurant was not consistent and one waiter actually argued with me after serving me an entree that I did not order. Rooms are individual cabins and the river units are so small and otherwise very basic. It was a partially a disappointing stay and such a shame really because the setting is beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Upgrade to the largest room you can because entry level are very small.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Silky Oaks Lodge
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Dear Gourmet Gal Thank you for sharing your feedback after your stay at Silky Oaks Lodge. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular setting, your spa treatment and the gin making class, however naturally we are disappointed that you didn’t always experience the usual friendly and helpful service which the Silky Oaks team is renowned for providing, please accept our apologies for this. We do hope to welcome you again one day as we would relish the opportunity to provide you with an improved experience. Warm regards, Drew Bernhardt, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Colin S wrote a review Nov 2023
Australia13 contributions3 helpful votes
Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations. On previous visits we enjoyed the tracks by the river, but these have been washed by storms and are now difficult to traverse. Our room service was lacking replacement of used items - too many staff are in training, so hopefully this will eventually be remedied. Th new management seems to be making Silky Oaks just another luxury resort like others; loud music from a private function is not compatible with a rainforest stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Silky Oaks Lodge
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Dear Colin Thank you for staying with us as Silky Oaks Lodge and for sharing your feedback. We do have an ongoing program for trail maintenance, however given the ever-changing natural setting we are located in, the trails can be unexpectedly impacted by things such as heavy rainfall and the changing levels of the river, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m sorry to hear there were some issues you experienced with your room servicing, please accept my apologies for these lapses. I can assure you that we never want Silky Oaks Lodge to be just another luxury resort, it’s a very special place and we are always striving to do better and ensure our guests have a truly authentic rainforest experience. We do hope to welcome you again one day as we would relish the opportunity to provide you with an improved experience. Warm regards, Drew Bernhardt, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AradTraveler wrote a review Nov 2023
Boston, Massachusetts187 contributions78 helpful votes
Instantly relaxed upon arrival. Fantastic location, lovely service, good food. Could have spent the whole time on the hammock listening to the river and birds. Great outdoor spaces and spa. Would return with no reservations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Greynomad_10 wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia117 contributions54 helpful votes
Everything was perfect. Great international staff. All vey friendly.. Adequate Breakfast. Degustation dinner which can be customised if you do not like something.. We arrived in the afternoon of day 1 and decided just to stay at the lodge for the whole of the next day. Walked through the forest and swam in a billabong.Very relaxing but tours are available should on wish to be more active.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Like all Luxury Lodges in Australia, be prepared to pay big bucks but once you do, almost...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Silky Oaks Lodge
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Dear Greynomad_10, Thank you for your wonderful review and it was a pleasure to welcome you to Silky Oaks Lodge. We are proud to have such a warm and welcoming team, and it’s great to hear that their relaxed and professional service was able to help make your stay so special. We appreciate your kind words on our dining experience, and that you appreciated our flexibility to tailor the dishes to your preferences. Your description of a relaxing day spent walking through the forest and swimming in the Fig Tree Rapids paints an incredibly relaxing picture, and it’s warming to hear you mad ethe most of the tranquillityin the Daintree. We appreciate your kind words, and best wishes on your travels! Warm regards, Team Silky
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mossman area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$1,170 - AU$2,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
silky oaks hotel mossman
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandDaintree RegionMossman
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SILKY OAKS LODGE: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Mossman) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Silky Oaks Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Silky Oaks Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mossman Gorge (0.7 km), Janbal Gallery (2.7 km), and Mossman Saturday Market (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Silky Oaks Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Silky Oaks Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Silky Oaks Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Silky Oaks Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silky Oaks Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beechwoods cafe, Newell Beach Takeaway and Cafe, and Goodies Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Silky Oaks Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Silky Oaks Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Silky Oaks Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Silky Oaks Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Silky Oaks Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Anglican Church Mossman (3.0 km).
Does Silky Oaks Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.