We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 629: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed in the separate block across the road from the main hotel building which was rather dark & in need of a refurbish. Tea & coffee making facilities were available in the room. On our first night our food was served on cold plates & was only luke warm, which is not good as the restaurant is outside. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Po53
Jasmine P, Front Office Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Po53 and thanks for choosing Castaways Resort & Spa Rainforest Property for your stay in Mission Beach. Your feedback will be passed on to the relevant departments. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy your meals in the restaurant, despite a little hiccup. We hope to see you here again soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Tuesday evening. 7th night in area. Have to say, VERY pleased that we found the restaurant at Castaways Resort to eat at... recommend booking. Suprising number of people for an early weeknight but having said before, so little choice of dining experiences in this area that no suprise it can/could get busy here! Although a tad breezy with ocean to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryn H
Jasmine P, Front Office Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

We're glad that you found our restaurant, Bibesia during your stay in Mission Beach and were able to enjoy the delights of our talented chefs! Your feedback about the coffee has been passed on to our F&B team for review. I hope that we'll see you here next time you are in Mission Beach. Safe Travels!

Zürich
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night only. Perfectly situated just next to the beach. We had tasty diner in the hotels well located restaurant with a view to the sea. Terribly slow wifi - reason: because the hotel was supposed to be fully booked... Unfortunately breakfast and check-out turned out to be a frustration. At breakfast they charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philipp S
Jasmine P, Front Office Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Philipp S; I am glad that you were able to enjoy your short stay with us and your dinner in our restaurant, Bibesia. Your comments re: breakfast have been taken on board and should you choose to stay with us again, (which we hope that you will!) you would be most welcome to make payment...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We were really looking forward to staying here, but unfortunately left feeling a little disappointed. The room we were allocated was considerably more tired than those in the pictures on the booking sites, the bathroom was definitely not 4* standard, and then things like the balcony awning being stained with mildew and the furniture looking tired, the room felt more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuAndCel
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Stu & Cel, Thank you for your feedback, which is noted. Thank you for the positive comment on our staff who really do work hard to make your stay enjoyable. The very relaxed nature of both Castaways and Mission Beach allows for total interaction and i am sure that using the pool and bar would not have been seen...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in a beachfront room for our honeymoon and it was beautiful. Great resort right on the beach with an amazing pool and great service and staff (reception could be a bit friendlier but everyone else was amazing). The little town centre with bars and restaurants is just a 5 min walk down the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa A
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Teresa B, Thank you for your feedback and review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us in Mission Beach, Mission Beach does have many things to offer both from a dinning and entertainment through to touring and place to visit. Kind Regards

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Came here and had their steak burger amongst other things with my family ,food was nice and well priced, nice decor , great location but table service was slow unfortunately and $9 for a mocktail was a bit of a let down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrRhyz
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mr Rhyz, Thank you for your feedback, Yes we agree the location make for a great dinning venue. Regards

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed in an Ocean View Room on a 2 night stay in Mission Beach. The room offers a clean and modern bathroom and open plan bedroom with in room coffee facilities and small fridge. We requested an upper floor room and were lucky enough to stay on the 2nd floor which maximised the view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimberley891
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear kimberley891, Thank you so much for your kind review and feedback, we are of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your dinning experience. Our team try very hard to ensure that your stay is both memorable and enjoyable. Thank you

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Castaways , the staff were helpful , restaurant good and convenient , rooms clean and tidy but showing some age . The pool area is well kept and popular and the beach access is a great advantage - very pleasant . the little town of Mission Beach is a bit tired since our last visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J Peter M
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Peter M, Thank yo for your review and feedback, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, yes our staff really do try to make your stay a enjoyable one. Mission Beach is best described as rustic, The own does not try and be Port Douglas or Palm cove more a true Tropical North Queensland experience, which...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We eloped to Castaway's last week. The staff and restaurant there are first rate. I'm only not giving them 5 stars as the accommodation is a bit tired. It is very clean and spacious however and we had a terrific five nights there. I'm sure that had the rain not come in we would have had an even better wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Amanda Congratulations on your wedding, yes the rain can be difficult and its very unseasonal for us in August. We are however, delighted that our staff were able to make your day as pleasant as they could given the weather. See you next year Regards

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Beachfront room has amazing views of beautiful Mission Beach. Needs deck or tiling out front to minimise sand into room. Continental breakfast included in price. Good restaurant for lunch & dinner. Good staff. Loved our time here, will return and recommend. Shame it wasn't warm enough to utilise lovely pool facilities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dtpapps
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear dtpapps Thank you for your review and feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Mission Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
5.5 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
146 reviews
3.1 km away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
159 reviews
2.7 km away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#1 of 24 in Mission Beach
236 reviews
4.1 km away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
105 reviews
3.8 km away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 6 in Wongaling Beach
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Price Range: $106 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms have a better view but pool side rooms are very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles petermc35, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MissCoCoH, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles michaelq2014, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The upper floor near the beach is the best”
 of 5 bubbles Bill4177, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great,best on level 2.”
 of 5 bubbles CHRISNEV, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay