We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel

42 First Avenue And Fairway Drive, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 11 hotels in Maroochydore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Maroochydore City, the Sunshine Coast's new Central Business District, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast is your convenient spring-off point for enjoying one of Queensland's most popular regions. Whether you're in the vibrant destination for work or play, the brand new hotel offers all the essentials - and more to ensure a seamless stay with greater value. Those on holiday can cool off in the rooftop pool or do some shopping at the ground floor retail level, while business travellers will appreciate the convenient conference and function facilities and the complimentary fast and uncapped WiFi. Each morning, sit down to a complimentary EXPRESS Start breakfast or choose a grab & go option to enjoy on the move. A thoughtfully-designed common area - The Great Room - offers a relaxing space to get to work or catch up with friends over a drink. 181 rooms equipped with a walk-in power shower, black-out blinds, an efficient work station and high-quality bedding with a
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Water park offsite
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

42 First Avenue And Fairway Drive, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558 Australia
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
22Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 2
  • 4
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
citylover88 wrote a review Dec 2023
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions
2 Stars because our stay was really not great. I booked this hotel because I had stayed at other Holiday Inn hotels overseas and they were great. But this place really fell short. Firstly, we booked a Queen sized bed and got a room with a double bed. Secondly, the pillows provided are terrible, no neck support whatsoever. Could not sleep at all due to the small bed and pillows. And now both my partner and I have neck and back issues due to the poor sleep that we have to go to physiotherapy as we have been in pain for days now. On our 2nd day. We went down for breakfast and there was still about an hour left before breakfast service was supposed to close but there was no food. When I asked, they said they were bringing more out but the wait was too long and there were still so many people waiting that we had to leave and get breakfast elsewhere. I’ll give it 2 stars because it was actually very clean with modern fixtures. There was a lovely Housekeeper who went to several floors to try and find some better pillows for us, but even they were no better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you’re visiting locally, bring some earplugs and your own pillows.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2024
Hello, citylover88 Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast. We are truly grateful to see you share your experience with us. Our local team will use your observations to improve our service and facilities. I talked to our management about your observations. I humbly apologize for the details you described. Our staff will make sure everything is reviewed and improved. Our hotel is the ideal setup for any type of travel, be it leisure or business, we always try to deliver the most memorable experience. I hope you give us another chance to show you we can do better. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
crunchie36 wrote a review Jan 2023
Western Ireland, Ireland22 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Very pleasant reception staff to welcome guests. The room was very clean & modern with the most comfortable mattress & pillows. We slept really well, no corridor noise at all. There was a separate seating area with a TV, sofa & arm chair. There was also a TV in the bedroom. Sliding doors from the bedroom takes you to a large balcony with table & chairs where we could sit with a coffee from the machine in the room. Breakfast is included in the room price with option of hot food, breads, pastries, fruit & cereals. The roof top pool was a bonus as it was hot weather & safe for kids with no deep end They also had a Happy Hour around 5pm with drinks at $10. Cafes & restaurants are within walking distance as is the Sunshine Coast Shopping Centre. We really enjoyed our stay here & will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel is within walking distance to the Cotton Tree Beach, maybe 15 mins or a short Uber ride.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
James F wrote a review Oct 2023
Gladstone, Australia13 contributions4 helpful votes
Booked one night decided to go a little fancy and booked a $200 room up high so disappointed. Arrived a little late at 9:30 place was already locked up no parking managed to get a staff park for $20 otherwise a 2 block walk to parking. Nice modern room opened curtains to admire view to the picture you see Over priced no service try elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of building going on hard to find nowhere to park
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunshine Coast, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2023
Dear Farwsed, Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. We are continuously improving our offering and service and have passed your feedback to the team. Hope we can welcome you back in the future. I do apologise for the car parking situation as it is limited and is served on the basis of first come first serve, however we are glad to inform you that there is new car parking getting built next to our hotel to ease the car parking issue and hopefully will be operational by the end of the year. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Martin Joseph Senior Duty Manager Holiday Inn Express & Suite Sunshine Coast
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peta M wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia8 contributions3 helpful votes
I’m a diamond elite IHG member so generally choose an IHG hotel for business trips. The check in experience was lack lustre. There was no parking and I had to park a 5 minute walk away. There is no restaurant in the evening. No wifi that was compatible with my iPad or laptop. The rooms are small. The first room smelt unclean. Service was average at best.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Dear Peta M, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Sunshine Coast while visiting Sunshine Coast. It's a pleasure having you as our guest. I am truly sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the service of our staff and the cleanliness of our room. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adnun wrote a review Sept 2023
Toowoomba, Australia11 contributions5 helpful votes
Great hotel to stay and the receptionists were very very helpful and I will definitely recommend staying here.. breakfast was amazing and delicious. Thanks for amazing hospitality and definitely will stay here again if I come to sunshiny coast again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
splintersj24 wrote a review Sept 2023
Pittsworth, Australia19 contributions19 helpful votes
Great location, very friendly and professional staff. The hotel is very clean and the included breakfast is fresh and delicious. Rooms are well appointed, beds comfy and the blackout curtains are a great addition. The pool and gym area are a good size .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Eddie_G_W wrote a review Sept 2023
Brisbane, Australia95 contributions91 helpful votes
There are little redeeming features about this hotel. The rooms are tiny, and I should know as I experienced three of them all in the space of three hours. On the final move, I was required to move rooms at 11.30pm due to an incredibly noise air conditioner, that was still making noise when it was off. I was offered another room but had to then move all my luggage myself on a number of trips. At least the night manager came to my room to collect the keys. The parking was very limited, even though there were many empty parks that I could see at 12am. However, I still wasn’t offered one. I still had Saturday night booked, but left as I couldn’t handle another night. I didn’t even bother seeking a refund as that would have been too difficult. Never again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2023
Hi Eddie G, Thank you for your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your business and making IHG Hotels & Resorts a part of your travel. We work very hard and strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express. Our goal is to offer a seamless and relaxing stay, and I'm sorry to learn that it didn't happen. We take feedback seriously and would like to know more about it, and share this with the relevant teams. I sent you a separate message and hope you respond soon. Your loyalty is important to us. We hope you choose IHG Hotels & Resorts for your future travels. Best Regards, Jenilyn J Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bad_2_the_bone wrote a review July 2023
Vancouver, Canada55 contributions55 helpful votes
This is a hotel in a building site, masquerading as a business hotel. There is extremely limited parking and it is run in a haphazard manner, no dry cleaning service, no room service and very small office space off the restaurant for $400 a day. The free, but limited, breakfast buffet is very obviously built into the cost of the room. The rooms are tiny, have no desk and your luggage has to occupy floor space. The hotel is new and this is pleasant but for the business traveller the lack of services and space kills it. A rude brunette on the front desk did nothing to help.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunshine Coast, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 July 2023
Hi Bad_2_the_bone Thank you for leaving feedback on staying at our Holiday Day Inn Express & Suites .We offer simple and smart travel for all. Our Hotel is located in the heart of the new Maroochydore CBD , since the hotel has a very limited car parking we do not hold any spots or reserve them as its purely given out on first come first serve , however please be advised that there is a new car parking facility getting built which will resolve our car parking issues over the time. I hope you enjoyed our free breakfast and other amenities available. We are sorry if your stay was not perfect and didn't meet to your expectations. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible and we appreciate that you brought your experience to our attention. We take feedback seriously and will make sure your feedback is passed to my team. I hope you will give us a chance staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Should you need any further assistance please contact us directly at 0752208000 or an email to Martin.joseph@proinvesthotels.com Sincerely, Martin Joseph Acting Assistant Hotel Manager Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gms555 wrote a review July 2023
Queensland, Australia34 contributions18 helpful votes
The worst hotel experience in Queensland. How is it that a brand new hotel can only rate 2.5 stars and be ranked 11th of 12 hotels in Maroochydore. The reason is their appalling staff. Rude, childish and incompetent. I see no improvement so it must be that the fish is rotting from thr head. NEVER again do we stay in an IHG hotel.......
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunshine Coast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 July 2023
Dear gms555, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with our hotel. While it seems that we didn't live up to your expectation we hope that you still enjoyed your time with us. We do apologise that your stay with us didn't go as planned , please do reach out martin.joseph@proinvesthotels.com to make sure we can serve you well for your next arrival and take up your concerns from your previous stay. Kind Regards Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine coast
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janice B wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
The Holiday Inn Maroochydore . Where do you start ? When we arrived we were told there were no sports available to park, and we would have to go looking for one. No one asked if we had a disability sticker which we did as there were disability spots which we parked in. We upgraded when I booked to get a room with a balcony which overlooked the car park. The irony was the door to the balcony was locked. The bed was the worst bed and pillows I have ever had in a hotel room and I ravel for work frequently. The room was tiny and cramped. The breakfast had poor choice of food just three hot choices the bacon was so tough I couldn't cut it with my knife. I looked around and everyone had left their bacon on the plate. Eggs were tasteless. I made a complaint to the waitress who said she would inform kitchen staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunshine Coast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 June 2023
Dear JaniceJ9386RQ, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. While it seems that we didn't lived up to your expectation, we are continuously improving our offering and service. As you are already aware our car parking on site is very limited, since it was already full our team advised you of the alternative car parking facility, we would like to also inform you that there is a new car parking facility getting built just next to us to ease the car parking issues. We have taken note of your feedback and addressed with the team. Kind regards, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maroochydore area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$195 - AU$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastMaroochydore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
181
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES SUNSHINE COAST, AN IHG HOTEL (AU$195): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Maroochydore) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Maroochydore, Sunshine Plaza (0.5 km), Red Lock Escape Rooms Maroochydore (0.3 km), and VR Hero (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, Pinto House, and Scandic Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Maroochydore.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sunshine Coast, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Buderim - Palmwoods Heritage Tramway (7.5 km).