We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge

8 Butler Dr, Kuranda, Queensland 4881 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (8)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 cottage in Kuranda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge is located in rainforest 400 metres above Cairns in the cooler climate of the Kuranda Range. Cairns International airport is only 30 minutes away. During your stay you can choose to relax on one or two private verandahs, search for wildlife in the evening with your torch out in the neighbourhood, explore Kuranda, a tourist town, or visit the many interesting places to be found on the Atherton Tablelands, the bird watching area of Australia. The waterfall circuit, Mareeba Wetlands, Undara Lava Tubes, Chillagoe and some amazing caves are found within easy reach of Kuranda. Back on the property, there is the chance to wander along our bush walk circuit which runs alongside the creek.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bowling
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Billiards
Darts
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German
24Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Pam Q wrote a review June 2023
Adelaide, Australia180 contributions72 helpful votes
I picked this B&B because of it's location and name, for the last night of our Far North Queensland holiday.We felt like we were in our own private rainforest. And the name brought back lots of memories of a pre-covid holiday in Tanzania. Breakfast supplies were plentiful and tailored for us. Only draw back was the surprising absence of dinner venue options in this area. But the local supermarket had ample supplies & our B&B had it's own kitchen so we felt like we were in our own private restaurant in the rainforest. As we were only 35 minutes from Cairns, we were able to visit the butterfly sanctuary in Kuranda before heading to Cairns and the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perhaps make sure you pick up some dinner supplies before arriving.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rob P wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
We highly recommend Ngorongoro Lodge. Kuranda is situated up a winding road from Cairns and you feel like you are in an entirely different world. The property itself is situated outside of Kuranda in a very safe residential neighborhood. Every morning we walked the road to catch all the wildlife waking up. Kuranda itself has lots to do during the day (the girls loved the markets and the animals!) but honestly we made it a point to get home every afternoon to just sit, chat, and have a drink with our hosts and all their birds. We traded stories of all our world travels while enjoying the antics of their pet birds, especially Fritz. Really, all you need to know is the accommodation is nicely maintained while still feeling deep in the jungle. You can enjoy all the basic amenities you expect - wifi, air conditioning, fans, refrigerator, very nice large bathroom, etc. Things can deteriorate quickly in the constant jungle humidity so its obvious they take pride in caring for the property. We ended up cooking a lot in the lodge and there is a nice place to get groceries in Kuranda. Most importantly, any concern we had was quickly addressed by our hosts. We modified our breakfast order every day. At our request, they set up a moth light to attract some interesting night creatures. They even let us borrow a torch to go searching for mammals hiding in the trees. I am very happy we stayed here instead of a typical Cairns hotel room. Hotels don't have Sulfur Crested Cockatoos dance and wish you goodbye, thanks Fritz!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Halina G wrote a review May 2022
Townsville, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
We have just spent 3 nights at Kuranda Ngorngoro Lodge and I don't think there are enough superlatives to describe how much we enjoyed our stay there. Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge is not just accommodation - it is a entire experience. It's an awesome 'home in the jungle' where you will wake to the sound of birds and go to sleep to the sounds of the bush. The Lodge is spacious and fabulous - decked out like an African Safari Lodge. It has everything you need and when I got into bed the first night it was so comfortable I felt as though I was getting into my own bed. There is air con if you like it but we preferred the security-screened open doors and windows with fans. It is also exceptional value. Their rate is the same as what we paid for an ordinary motel room a few days later, but at Kuranda Ngorongoro we had an entire 2-bedroom lodge, with a beautiful deck, and a very generous bathroom - with a bath! Hosts and owners, Patrick and Sue, obviously love sharing their world and lives with their guests and are incredibly generous with their time. We were taken out in the 'jungle jeep' to part of the national park to see some amazing fig trees and where we did 3 creek crossings, at no extra charge. If you are looking for a stay that will take you away from the ordinary, and with hosts who can't do enough to ensure your day is extra special, then Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge is the place to go. We can't speak highly enough of every aspect of our stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
carol higgins wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Shocked that this place gets 5 start reviews we have stayed at a lot of 3 - 5 star and this is way below those. Sue & Patrick were nice people and the birds lovely and I am sure that is what swayed most people but we have to be honest. When arriving you park up on the road and walk down a steep hill to access the villas - the front glass sliding door needs two hands to lift and slide it. The smell is very mouldy and mildew when you walk in. Sue told us not to turn the air conditioners on and leave the windows open as lot of people do this she said - I understand because of the smell. There are lots of rules and regulations typed and stuck on cupboards etc around the place and whenever we went out they would come back into the villa and turn the air conditioner off it was over 35 degrees hot and stuffy. We left the air on in the lounge at night to wake up very hot to no power to the air conditioner (fuse taken out) so had to turn the one in the bedroom on. I was expecting a cooked breakfast reading reviews and web site but only got supplies and told to wash and wipe all dishes and clean up. Also the two villas are joined and share a small bathroom/toilet all in one room - luckily we were the only couple there. The TV is very small and the couch has very little padding so not comfortable to sit on and quite stained. There was coffee, tea and sugar but not milk. The pool was small, lovely and cool. If you have a nice car you may want to bring a cover or be pepared to wash it the next day. Wifi was terrible. I am sorry to leave this review but I want others to know what they are paying for and because they are nice people and rescue birds and give them an amazing home I am sure this is what sways people to leave good reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 2 bedrooms, 1 kitchen 1 small lounge 1 small bathroom with toilet in one room between 2 bedrooms...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Schwass, Owner at Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
Responded 2 May 2022
How sad that Carole felt the need to completely annihilate our B & B. Nothing was left out. Fault was found at every possible level. If Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge was not to your liking on arrival then you could have said so and received a full refund, but you did not. It is not us who gives these reviews, but the people who stay here. The rating is entirely out of our hands. 99.8% of people are a pleasure to host and we generally receive very good reviews. The front door of the cottage is less than 30 metres from the car park, a short distance for normal people. Let me say that the accommodation is not “villas”. It is a cottage with two bedrooms, one with a Queen-sized bed and the other with two single beds. We NEVER take two bookings at the same time for the cottage because of the fact that the bathroom is shared. For the price of a normal hotel room guests have access to an entire small house. We try our hardest when it comes to dealing with mould and damp smells. It is not always possible to remove the hint of the rainforest. We recommend continuing to leave the fans on and the doors open for the air to circulate. We have been here 9 years and I know that we have become attuned to the smell, but I feel that Carol’s statement regarding the mould is overstated. If there is a problem we have supplied a can of Glen 20. Hotels have systems whereby you can only use the air-conditioner when in the room. Unfortunately we do not have access to an expensive system like that and ask that guests please turn off the air-conditioner when not in the room/s. The Bureau of Meteorology for Cairns states that it was 32.9 degrees on the 11 March 2022, the date that Carol and Mark stayed with us. Kuranda is on average 4 degrees cooler than Cairns, making the temperature a more realistic 28.9 degrees on that day. We are also mindful of energy costs and recommend only using the air-conditioners when in that particular room. These people had an air-conditioner on all night in a room that was 5 rooms away from the bedroom they were sleeping in. They also jammed the curtin in the sliding room leaving a hole. The sliding door has long since been given a dose of WD40. Little things like this are bound to happen in such a humid environment. Since the beginning of Covid we do not provide breakfast on our balcony. Instead we provide ingredients for guests to prepare at their leisure and a time that suits them. This is safer for us and also for our guests should we become infected with Covid. The bathroom is definitely not a small bathroom. It has a bath, a toilet and a large shower with hand basin and even a built-in cupboard. It is easy to overlook replacing the small carton of milk in the fridge. A request would have had some readily supplied. Occasionally we have twigs and leaves above the parking. It is certainly not as bad as these people purport. Welcome to the rainforest. The pool is entirely adequate for the number of people here at any one time. There is no room to build an Olympic sized pool. Steep Kuranda blocks do not allow it. Anyone wanting to swim in large pools should book at the Mirage in Port Douglas. Reasonable WiFi is available in the lounge area of the cottage. Most people have WiFi problems in Kuranda. It is an unfortunate fact that internet status in many areas outside major cities in Australia is less than ideal and our guests from similar areas fully understand. You are not sorry to have left this review otherwise you wouldn’t have written this very negative email. I suggest that you stick with traditional hotel rooms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
catharine o wrote a review July 2021
28 contributions6 helpful votes
This is a magical spot deep in the rainforest near the centre of Kuranda. Sue, Patrick and Fritz, the sulphur crested cockatoo, were so welcoming. The lodge is spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. The double bed is very comfortable and the breakfast supplied was excellent. We felt so welcome and loved being shown around the garden. Highly recommended. You won’t regret staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Aisling wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
What a wonderful place to stay!!! I stayed at Ngorongoro over new years by myself and Patrick and Sue were more than accomodating, great hosts and a very unique place to stay! I would highly recommend Ngorongoro for all types of travellers!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Draganna wrote a review Nov 2019
Sherborne, United Kingdom28 contributions80 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights in October in their beautiful spacious lodge. We had breakfast with Sue and Patrick on their veranda a lovely personal touch. They are such a lovely couple who share a passion for wildlife. The kookaburras would come and pitch along the veranda railing waiting to be fed. They had other rescue birds and a Pukeko called Pukki who decided to stay rather than go back to the wild and then there is Fritz the Cockatoo. Such a character and loves a cuddle. Afternoon tea (or beer for my husband) and special time with birds and chatting about all sorts of things including the old ex army land rover between my husband and Patrick. We definately enjoyed our stay and I can highly recommend this accommodation you won't be disappointed. Whilst we were there they had a Curlew that had been attacked by a dog with they were hoping to rehabilitate him/her but unfortunately it was not to be.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ernestd436 wrote a review Nov 2019
Northumberland13 contributions19 helpful votes
Easily the best accommodation we’ve had during five weeks in Australia. The lodge is furnished to a very high standard and includes lots of beautiful African art work and artifacts. Excellent breakfast, well equipped kitchen, bathroom and lounge. Lots of veranda space overlooking the rain forest. Very good value. Spotlessly clean. The hosts, Patrick and Sue, could not have been more welcoming. The lodge is outside of town, but Patrick was happy to give us lifts in and bring us back (for a modest charge) in his vintage land rover. Nothing was too much trouble. They have a passion for wildlife and we really enjoyed joining them to interact with their birds in the early evening. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Helen D wrote a review July 2019
Melbourne, Australia55 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed for 7 nights and Sue and Patrick were the best hosts you could want. They left us to our own devices, but were always there if we needed anything or for a friendly chat. We chose to make our own beds each day and wash our dishes after making simple meals for dinner. Some days they provided breakfast, other days we chose to do our own due to our schedule. The breakfast they made was filling, varied and homely. Our kitchen was well equipped and clean. We enjoyed being sent to sleep and woken up by bird calls everyday. Curlews, kookaburras and bush turkeys were frequent visitors. We even saw a cassowary and pademelon one morning. Our only regret was choosing not to stay our final night in this beautiful place with kindly and welcoming people!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
12APlace wrote a review June 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom190 contributions103 helpful votes
It is a remarkable place, created and furnished with love by its owners. Memories of Africa are everywhere, but the animals and birds, both ornamental and real, dominate it. Sue's cockatoo was extremely welcoming, and the frogmouth was in good form. We had asked to buy a bottle of wine when we arrived, without asking the price. When it came time to pay, we found that it had been charged at cost price, without mark-up. Remarkable! My wife had a bad foot, and was tenderly treated (by Sue and Patrick, not the fauna) at breakfast. Patrick was kind enough to drive us to Cairns Airport for a modest fee. All in all, we could not have been better treated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kuranda area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$193 - AU$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandKuranda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KURANDA NGORONGORO LODGE (AU$193): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Cottage - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Australian Armour & Artillery Museum (7.6 km), Palm Cove Beach (7.6 km), and Trinity Beach (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include 27 Degrees, Espresso & Co Cafe Bar, and Petit Cafe Kuranda.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Is Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.