We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 323: English reviews
Ingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our ladies tennis group had our annual xmas break up party here. We were extremely well looked after. Accommodation was exceptional with spectacular ocean views in all apartments we stayed in. We had a roof top pool party that was set up for us by the wonderful management and staff. Everyone was very happy with our stay. Would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank all0uisel
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to host a group like yourselves whom bring a happy cheer to Grand Mercure! The rooftop pool area is a great place to host Christmas functions and we are glad these facilities are being utilized. We would love to have you ladies return next year. Please contact us directly +61 7 47582100 and we are more...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This island feels like an outer suburb of Townsville - a very pretty, unspoilt island with many permanent residents. Go there for the walks, the water, the lovely little eateries and the tranquility. It's not a shopping destination nor is the landscape dominated by tourism development. The Mercure apartments are clean, stylish and contain a fantastic pool - perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina0418
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the natural beauty of Magnetic Island and "unspoilt island" is just how to perfectly describe our beautiful home. Thank you for putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! For any future bookings please contact...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These are truely self contained apartments, 400 metres from the Magnetic Island ferry. The apartments have everything you need and there is a supermarket 300 metres away where you can purchase anything you need to make you stay comfortable. There are two types of accommodation, ocean front or setback, make sure you get the ocean front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the convenience and natural beauty of the apartments it is hard to want to leave! For any future bookings please contact...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, incredibly friendly staff, but unfortunately the least clean and unhygienic room I have ever encountered. First time I've ever had to complain to hotel staff- they were very apologetic. Also I still don't understand why the bath tub is in the bedroom! Trendy it may be but practical it is not.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaBurrows
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure. I am very sorry to hear of the bad cleaning experience. We hope to think this didn't entirely tarnish your entire stay.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location and staff were nothing short of amazing. The rooms were fantastic and the facilities were great. However, upon arrival we were greated by one of the managers who was nothing more than rude and condescending. She constantly spoke to me and my friends in a rude manner and had all around terrible people skills. She warned us of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacob W
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. The instructions for all full mooner guests were simple. Fake blood and makeup damages to the room would incur a loss of bond. Unfortunately in today's society, people tend to not want to take responsibility. We have photo images and evidence if you would like me to resend these to you. Please, dear sir, I would...

Blackwall, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love this place. Second visit. Don't want to stay anywhere else. Great ocean views from the ocean view apartment. Great kitchen with everything you need. Short walk to ferry terminal, IGA and eateries. Clean fully air conditioned apartment and 4 beautiful pools. Excellent reception staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb2072
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the natural beauty of Magnetic Island it certainly makes people like yourself want to return time and time again. For any...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Just had 5 days in sea view 2 bedroom apartment. It was well equipped, quality bed appliances etc. Great spot to watch ferries and wild life. We used public buses or walked and found this great. Buses always on time and took us to all the main places. Iga close by and wine shop about 15 mins walk. Limited contact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaP08
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the natural beauty of Magnetic Island it certainly makes people never want to leave! If you wish to book with us...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at grand Mercure for 5 nights. It's a nice location I wouldn't at the best on the island as it's pretty much stand alone. You need to get a bus to get to a restraint / cafe/ beach area. My suggestion would be to hire a car while you are here. The apartment itself was good not great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aoife C
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! I am sorry that you found the staff awkward but we have just hired two new staff over the past two months....

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Had a beautiful stay in the lovely Maggy Island. A weekend is a great amount of time just to explore the island without having to spend a lot. The accomodation was okay unfortunately when we arrived after hours our room had not been cleaned which was disappointing. We were given a 2 bedroomed room as an upgrade but asked not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katy L
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you incurred upon arrival. Management did act straight away and tried to resolve in the manner she thought was appropriate. You were originally booked in a One bedroom Waterview which was then upgraded to a deluxe Waterview and usually incurs a fee of $40 per day which we gave to...

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

What a place, the staff, the locals, the food the beauty of the whole place it's no wonder it's called Magnetic, the Grand Mercure staff were always on the spot from Sending birthday wishing with flowers and a card to champagne to celebrate the occasion, breakfast and the amazing room, rock wallabies hopping around to your local possum and did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zac M
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the natural beauty of Magnetic Island it certainly makes people never want to leave! If you wish to book with us...

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.9 km away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
210 reviews
4.5 km away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 6 in Magnetic Island
96 reviews
0.5 km away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#3 of 6 in Magnetic Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#2 of 6 in Magnetic Island
165 reviews
1.4 km away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#3 of 8 in Magnetic Island
167 reviews
4.3 km away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#2 of 17 in Magnetic Island
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Address: 146 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Price Range: $199 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ocean view rooms are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles all0uisel, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check it's actually been cleaned”
 of 5 bubbles GeorginaBurrows, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms with an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles CJDMJA, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Near the IGA”
 of 5 bubbles adamw744, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“there are much better than this”
 of 5 bubbles SilverBack4, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay