We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Backpackers Magnetic Island

Booking.comUSD 51*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 86*
USD 51*
Great Deal
USD 83*
USD 83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 514: English reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here having travelled up the East Coast and wish I'd never bothered. What started as a really good time ended up as a total upset. I stayed here with a group of people who I had met on the East Coast and the final night was a disaster. We had to split our group up over two hostels as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsten P
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Hello Kirsten P It's good you enjoyed our Boozy Bingo but its such a shame this was over shadowed by the actions of a staff member. I'm really sorry to hear that one staff member ruined your trip over to Magnetic Island. I'd really like to get to the bottom of this situation so i'd like you to email me...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

This is the best XBase hostel I have ever stayed at! Reception were pretty helpful, and gave us tons of vouchers to use during our stay, such as $8 breakfast, $10 dinner, free welcome drink and also free snorkel hire. For those who arrive early or depart later than check out time, they have a luggage storage room for you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser2290
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'Day Kaiser, This is an amazing review so thanks for taking the time out to give us such applause! We try and think of every little thing that would make your life easier while staying with us and it looks like we are starting to make that happen! The showers and nightly entertainment are definitely one of my favourite perks...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

As an older guest I was worried that staying in a hostel would not suit me but my worries were unfounded and my stay of 3 nights went really well. Stayed in one of the double rooms right by the sea so woke to a beautiful sunrise each day! Room was basic but clean and all facilities worked well. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SWOOZ186258
BASEMagnetic, General Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day Swooz186258, Thanks for the awesome review, We are defiantly lucky to wake up to this view everyday and so glad you got to experience what we have to offer, and even luckier to be here for turtle nesting season. Hopefully next time you return you can be here for the hatching periods :) Cheers Jack

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of the Oz Experience package and wish we'd stayed longer! The dorm rooms were clean and comfortable, ours faced right out into the ocean. The pool and pool area is fantastic to swim or just to chill with a book. Bar was great, reasonable prices with lots of deals for food and drink. They hold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimiblay
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'Day mimiblay! I don't blame you for wanting to stay longer! It's a slice of paradise that can pull on the heart strings. Our bungalow huts offer some fantastic views over the main land. I'm glad you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer and got a little taste of the awesome nightlife! How good is bingo? You're welcome back...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 December 2016

I wrote a review of Magnetic Xbase back in Jun16. I returned to Magnetic Xbase in Nov16 and it was so good, that I thought I would write another review. The weather was warmer (30 - 33c), but as Xbase is next to the beach, there was a lovely sea breeze most of the time. Magnetic Xbase has a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mc3192n
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Hey mc3192n, We are over the moon you decided to come back and visit and still loved the things we do here. Our staff work around the clock to ensure we keep the place up to the standards we've created. So it's always good to hear positive feedback! Thanks for the awesome review Peter! I'm sure we'll be seeing you...

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Worst hostel i have ever stayed in!! Will not be recommending this place to anybody. The staff were very very rude to me and my partner. We wasn't welcomed properly. While waiting for food, i saw the chef licking he's fingers. Waited at the bar to be served for 10 minutes before deciding to walk off as the barman was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mentesh T
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day there Mentesh T! We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. I am incredibly surprised that you had such terrible stay with us. I would like it if you could email me with more details regarding the rude staff members - we take this incredibly seriously as we understand that staff members can ruin an...

Reviewed 21 December 2016

Stayed here for 1 night for my birthday with my partner on a Saturday. I was a bit worried about booking whats known as a "party hostel, as we don't normally stay in hostels, but loved the look of the private ocean front bungalows - and I'm glad we booked! Maybe its just the time of year, but it wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana J
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day there Ana J! We're super glad that you enjoyed our little slice of paradise! We're really lucky to be based in such a beautiful part of Magnetic Island. I hope you come back and visit us again the next time you're on Magnetic Island :-) Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Boyfriend and I stayed here two nights - not loads of hostels to choose from but we went with Base as part of a package through our travel agent where we got a 'free breakfast' and 'free dinner'. The food wasn't bad but the vouchers were actually just money off, not completely free. My boyfriend also had to wait over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day Amy A, We appreciate that you took the time to leave us a review. We love getting feedback from our Guests. I've passed on your message regarding the lack of cutlery and crockery in the Kitchen so we can get that fixed. I've also let the Head Chef know about the burger taking one hour - although we can...

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The Mrs and I stayed 2 nights here on our trip up the east coast. Great fun place to meet new people, had a cracking time all round. Massive shoutout to Jay for getting the Fireballs in! We got a 4x4 to explore the island and the guys on the desk were always on hand to help out. Thanks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day there! Cheers for leaving us a fantastic review! I'll pass on your praise to our General Manager and to our lovely Housekeeping Supervisor Jay. We really hope you come back and join us again for some more fireballs! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Throughly enjoyed staying here, staff very welcoming, rooms exceptionally clean! Jayson wyatt topped it off though obviously! Thank you for everything really enjoyed being here! Great facilities and vibe :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca S
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'Day Francesca S! I love to hear such positive reviews. Our staff are dedicated to making your stay here amazing. I'll pass on the special praise to Jay and make she he gets an awesome surprise! Be sure to pass on the praise to everyone you meet and safe travels for the rest of your trip! All the best Jamie...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
3.2 km away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
240 reviews
6.1 km away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
108 reviews
5.8 km away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#3 of 18 in Magnetic Island
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
178 reviews
1.7 km away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
949 reviews
1.3 km away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Magnetic Island is a must do on any East Coast trip - in fact it's a destination holiday in its own right, especially as the only backpackers in Australia with 100% beach frontage. Boasting on average, more than 320 days of sunshine per year, Magnetic Island is the ultimate tropical adventure for anyone looking for something special Spend your days sipping a cocktail in the sun by the pool, spotting koalas from North Australia's largest wild Koala population or learning to dive at our on site SCUBA facility. From lazy days on the beach directly in front of the property to heaving parties of over 4,000 people for our Full Moon Down Under events - Base Backpackers has something for everyone. From ocean front en-suite private cabins - to shaded camping grounds and everything in-between, we've got an on site travel shop, cafe, restaurant and party bar and a team of staff that are willing to help in any way we can. Come stay and play in one of Australia's premier backpackers, on beautiful Magnetic Island. Getting here: Catch the SealinkQLD ferry transfer from Townsville to Nelly Bay, then it is a short ride on the Public Bus heading towards 'Picnic Bay' the bus stop is out the front of our property ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Magnetic Island

Address: 1 Nelly Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Price Range: $31 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Magnetic Island 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers Magnetic Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views”
charlyschulz1, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 24 & 25 have an ocean-view balcony. Rooms close to the bar would have been super loud.”
880deenam, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms by the sea are definitely the places to stay in. A real room with a view!!”
SWOOZ186258, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“far from the reception, front row”
Bbthequeen, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a beach hut at the front near the end!”
loveshotels4, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 51* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 83
Hotwire.comUSD 83
PricelineUSD 86
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates