We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Backpackers Magnetic Island

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016

I had a great stay at this hostel! Booked for 4 nights in a mixed bed dorm. Room was clean and had great air conditioning, which actually worked, unlike a lot of other hotels I stayed at! Had a clean kitchen, and a great chilled out backpacker vibe. The staff are fun and friendly, especially Jay Wyatt, who went the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh_Stead
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day Ashleigh_Stead! Thank you for such an amazing review! I'll pass the message on to Jay. We're really glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we hope your leg heals soon! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

This Base hostel is pretty much your standard hostel. Location pretty easy to get to via bus ($1.80) from the ferry terminal, staff were helpful upon arrival and the check in process was pretty quick and painless. You can tell immediately that it's a party hostel (holds the full moon parties) as the layout is set up for it. Large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hana K
BASEMagnetic, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day there Hana K! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We take all feedback on board and always try to work harder to give all our guests a fantastic stay. We're hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and that you come back and join us again when the weather is better. Our...

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Had the best time at this hostel! Stayed with a mate for the full moon party and we loved it here. The staff are fun and friendly and the place is just beautiful considering it's a hostel. Massive shout out to Jay head of house keeping. You helped us out so much with anything we needed while we were there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie C
BASEMagnetic, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day Jodie C! Crikey! What a review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such amazing comments. I'll definitely pass on your praise to Jay and we really hope to see you again soon. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked a budget double room here and were impressed compared to other backpacker places we've stayed. The room was cool, in a triangle cabin sort of thing, the bed was comfortable enough for a backpackers, it was clean, towels + soap + shampoo and condition were on the bed upon arrival which was awesome. Although there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elsie L
BASEMagnetic, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day Elsie L! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are a little far away from some of what the Island has to offer, but we do have a bus stop right outside our door and you really can't beat our view! It's a small price...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I planned to stay at the hostel for 2 nights but I ended up in 5. I traveled the whole Australian east coast and this is far the best hostel I stayed in. Super friendly, FUN and HELPFUL staff. Never had to change the room even though I extended my stay day by day. The view is amazing and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 96nathalie
BASEMagnetic, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day there 96nathalie! Wow! Cheers for leaving us such a fantastic review! It's awesome that you enjoyed yourself so much as that's exactly what we aim for. We hope you come and visit us again here at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Trier, Germany
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Having spent quite a long time celebrating on the East coast I totally enjoyed staying at Base in magnetic Island as it was so relaxing and comfortable. The best: food vouchers and showers Unfortunately hardly no mobile Internet available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day Patrick S, Thank you for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a good one. Although there is limited mobile phone reception on Magnetic Island, we do think it helps people disconnect and relax. We do have internet available here however for those who can't bare to let go ;-) We hope to...

Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

As soon as you get off the ferry, head left towards the buses, catch the bus that goes to picnic bay. Base is vibrant but yet if you want to chill and sleep then you can do that too, just try and get Hut 122 as this is the furthest away from the party. Wake up early and catch the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Van H
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day there Van H! Cheers for leaving us a reveiw. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a really good time! We hope you come and stay with us again the next time you're in the area. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

6 bed dorm. The huts you sleep in are cool and beds comfy enough. The rooms are clean. Pool area is small but nice and the hostel is right on the beach anyway. The kitchen was always dirty with awful facilities, there were often no knives or forks to be found anywhere. Our food bag also had a big hole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby R
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day there Libby R, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the honest feedback. I've brought up your comments with our Housekeeping manager. We should always have plenty of cutlery and a clean kitchen - in this case we failed and for that I'm sorry. I hope the next time you're doing the East Coast you come...

Mission Beach, Australia
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

My stay here was one of my favourite in Australia! The hostel is beautiful to start, and has awesome rooms and the best location of any hostel I've been to. The staff are even better - the head of housekeeping (Jay) was an absolute legend. We had a problem (from a previous hostel) and he was immediately there to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kateproth
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day there mc3192n! Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We love when we hear that we've gone above and beyond our call of duty! I'll definitely pass the message on to Jay for you. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Everything was perfect. There is lots of sunshine on Magnetic Island as it is on a dry part of the coast. The camping fee was only $10 per night. Magnetic X-base is right on the beach and it is only a short walk to another great beach, Rocky Bay, with its beautiful headlands and rock formations. Thanks to all of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mc3192n
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this review

G'day Peter, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us an awesome review. We hope to see you again in the future :-) Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
3.2 km away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
234 reviews
6.1 km away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
105 reviews
5.8 km away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#3 of 18 in Magnetic Island
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
175 reviews
1.7 km away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
910 reviews
1.3 km away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Magnetic Island is a must do on any East Coast trip - in fact it's a destination holiday in its own right, especially as the only backpackers in Australia with 100% beach frontage. Boasting on average, more than 320 days of sunshine per year, Magnetic Island is the ultimate tropical adventure for anyone looking for something special Spend your days sipping a cocktail in the sun by the pool, spotting koalas from North Australia's largest wild Koala population or learning to dive at our on site SCUBA facility. From lazy days on the beach directly in front of the property to heaving parties of over 4,000 people for our Full Moon Down Under events - Base Backpackers has something for everyone. From ocean front en-suite private cabins - to shaded camping grounds and everything in-between, we've got an on site travel shop, cafe, restaurant and party bar and a team of staff that are willing to help in any way we can. Come stay and play in one of Australia's premier backpackers, on beautiful Magnetic Island. Getting here: Catch the SealinkQLD ferry transfer from Townsville to Nelly Bay, then it is a short ride on the Public Bus heading towards 'Picnic Bay' the bus stop is out the front of our property ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Magnetic Island

Address: 1 Nelly Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Price Range: $31 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Magnetic Island 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers Magnetic Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 24 & 25 have an ocean-view balcony. Rooms close to the bar would have been super loud.”
880deenam, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms by the sea are definitely the places to stay in. A real room with a view!!”
SWOOZ186258, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“far from the reception, front row”
Bbthequeen, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a beach hut at the front near the end!”
loveshotels4, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“try for ocean views”
r0bynb23, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5