We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nomads Magnetic Island

1 Nelly Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (329)
Room & Suite (79)
Pool & Beach (57)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 4 hostels in Magnetic Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nomads Magnetic Island is a must do on any East Coast trip - in fact it's a destination holiday in its own right, especially as the only backpackers in Australia with 100% beach frontage. Boasting on average, more than 320 days of sunshine per year, Magnetic Island is the ultimate tropical adventure for anyone looking for something special Spend your days sipping a cocktail in the sun by the pool, spotting koalas from North Australia's largest wild Koala population or learning to dive at our on site SCUBA facility. From lazy days on the beach directly in front of the property to heaving parties of over 4,000 people for our Full Moon Down Under & Island Life events - Nomads has something for everyone. From ocean front ensuite private cabins - to shaded camping grounds and everything in-between, we've got an on site travel shop, cafe, restaurant and party bar and a team of staff that are willing to help in any way we can. Come stay and play in one of Australia's premier backpackers, on beautiful Magnetic Island. Getting here: Catch the SealinkQLD ferry transfer from Townsville to Nelly Bay, then it is a short ride on the Public Bus heading towards 'Picnic Bay' the bus stop is out the front of our property
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Car hire
Adults only
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
951Reviews3Q+A90Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 425
  • 237
  • 115
  • 104
  • 70
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
account71991 wrote a review 17 Feb
1 contribution
My partner and I came to Nomad’s to stay for 2 nights in a private room with shared facilities/bathroom. We were told to check in at 3pm after arriving at 12pm. After waiting for almost 3 hours at 2:50pm, we asked if we could check-in to which we were told it would be no more than 5 to 10 minutes as we’d receive an email/text to say the room was ready. After going back to reception at 3:25, the woman at reception told us that she had check us in despite having received no email or text message, or even approached us to notify us of the room being ready. After going to our room finally, we discovered that the sheets on the bed - which had no duvet cover or protection - were stained with a red liquid which could be anything and is completely unhygienic and not safe at all (see pictures). Furthermore, the menu in the evening was pretty poor which only offered burgers until 8pm with live music starting at 4pm and finishing at 7pm weirdly on a Friday night. Overall, the cleanliness and health standards - yes it’s a hostel but the stained sheets aren’t anywhere near close to being acceptable - are very low and need to be attended. Positives included the view from the room balcony and social aspect.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid eating here and make sure your sheets aren’t blood stained
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Fantini, Owner at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 3 days ago
Hi there Sam, We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as desired due to the issues with your room. Our checkin time is 3pm as our housekeeping team need to clean all rooms after checkout at 11am so sorry you had to wait so long to get into your room. With the feedback we have replaced the linen since this reveiw and had a full re train of staff to ensure this doesnt happen again. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jess wrote a review 12 Feb
Isle of Man, United Kingdom215 contributions82 helpful votes
Lively hostel located opposite a bus stop. Within the reception area you have a bar and restaurant (the best bit about the hostel) which serves burgers in the afternoon and evening and a fantastic breakfast menu consisting of banana bread, smashed avocado on sourdough etc. The kitchen is tiny and I’m talking barely any room for more than three people cooking at one time. Whilst I was staying there, one of the fridges broke and a handful of people from my tour group had to throw out their food. The hostel has laundry services but I didn’t use them so can’t comment. The bathroom has more than enough showers with plenty of space in each cubicle. However, the bathroom was constantly dirty! The rooms were kind of like huts which thankfully had air conditioning. The bed frames were falling apart and rusty and the mattress protectors were filthy. No lockers and windows all around so you can’t escape the light. Fine with me as I had an eye mask (recommend that and ear plugs). The WiFi however didn’t reach the hut and you were lucky if you got service anywhere past the pool area. Great hostel, just not amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Fantini, Owner at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 3 days ago
Hi there Jess, Thanks for leaving us such a great reveiw of your stay and the hostel. We apologise for the inconveniance of the fridge during your stay and any food that was needing to be disposed of and noting some further improvments needing throughout the property. We hope to see you again soon. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emma W wrote a review Nov 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom32 contributions19 helpful votes
Terrible, curtains had mould on them as did the air con unit so goodness only knows what inside the air con system was like.. Very dusty . Not a pleasant place to stay at all. I think travellers are very much taken advantage of in Australia, especially by Nomads group. The one in Sydney was beyond disgusting. If your budget allows definitely book an upgrade in advance. We were with Intro Travel through Gap 360 UK. We were told small dorms for no more than 6 but sometimes 10 and 16 which was impossible to get any sleep. Also mixed males and females which isn't always appropriate especially if previously advised would be one or the other . Can be extremely un nerving for young solo travellers. Bathroom not pleasant, grotty. You expect basic of course but not mould and dirt.........
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Fantini, Owner at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 3 days ago
Hi there Emma, Thanks for your review and sorry to hear there were some issues during your stay with Nomads. We do have options of Female and Shared dorms which your agent should have advised when booking these tours. We have recently implemented some new procedures to ensure the standards are being upheld and bathrooms are spot clean and pleasant to be in. We hope to see you again with a much better experiance, Safe Travels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dominic H wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
My first time visiting nomads magnetic island and definitely will not be the last. The staff are very polite and make you feel welcome on arrival and throughout your stay. Located in Nelly bay right on the sea front there is no better location on the island. The night events through the week in the bar are so much fun. Amazing food served throughout the day with the best burgers iv tried in Australia. All in all a very pleasant experience surrounded by friendly people and good vibes.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Fantini, Owner at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 3 days ago
HI there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our Island Burgers. We hope to see you again soon, Safe Travels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ollie H wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Not the first time i've visited Nomads, and will not be the last, gets better every time! Probably the best location for a hostel in Australia. The nightly events in the bar are so much fun and the Island Burger food is elite! best value for money food on the island. Staff were great and accommodating from check in, told us exactly where to go to see local wildlife and other must do activities on the island. Definitely one of the must visit places for any backpacker travelling the east coast of Australia.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Fantini, Owner at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 3 days ago
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review, Great to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. We hope to see you again on your next adventure to Magnetic Island. Safe Travels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John M wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Worst hostel by far we have stayed in we were put in a room beside the staff so it was pretty loud even after the music stopped. At half 12 two men came in that weren’t supposed to be even in our room we found out the next morning. One of the men pissed all over the floor. so I asked the next morning for it to be cleaned and they said it would be we came back at half 5 that evening to see the floor had only been cleaned! Then I found out our other room mate had to ask again as it hadn’t been cleaned by 5 o clock! Also we have no idea how the men got in but we heard the unlock sound so can only presume one of the staff entered the code for them! Also there was supposed to be one meal one breakfast included in our stay but we got a ‘voucher’ for some money off!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Base Magnetic Island, Other at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 12 Aug 2023
Hello Thankyou for leaving your review. I have spoken to management in regards to this issue you have mentioned. The 2 guests that were in your room had paid to stay and were allocated to your room, however they had arrived late to the hostel. The room got cleaned twice once after 11am and again at 5pm. All guests that felt discomfort were offered to move rooms after no one wanted too, we did choose to move the 3 guests to a different room to make you all feel more comfortable. The vouchers we hand out for your breakfast and dinner had a value on the voucher, where there are several options at no extra cost. However if you choose to buy something different or larger there is a price difference in which you would pay. We are sorry to hear you felt this way during your time with us, we hope you have a safe rest of your trip. Nomads Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carlota v wrote a review July 2023
2 contributions
Had the greatest time in this hostel. The location of the hostel next to the sea is incredible. It offers amazing views and the staff is so friendly & go above and beyond to make sure everybody has a good time. The bingo night with Cameron as host was my favorite. Food was also delicious. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Base Magnetic Island, Other at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 31 July 2023
Hello Carlo, thankyou for leaving an awesome review! Its great to know about your positives of your stay and that you loved bingo as much as we do! We hope you stay with us again, safe travels nomads team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Santy M wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
Normally u get what u pay for… but in this place u definitely get wayyy more than u paid for the staff is very friendly and they don’t mind to go an extra mile to help u or to make u feel really comfortable definitely 5star service
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Base Magnetic Island, Other at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 31 July 2023
Hello Santym, thankyou so much for leaving an awesome review! We are so happy to know you found our staff friend and going above and beyond! We hope you stay with us again, safe travels, nomads team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sophie G wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
The best hostel I’ve stayed in! The views were amazing and every night at the island bar is so much fun. All the staff were really helpful and the facilities were clean, I will be staying here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Base Magnetic Island, Other at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 30 June 2023
Hey SopiegD187ND, Thank you for your awesome review! We're thrilled to be considered the best hostel you've stayed in. We're delighted that you enjoyed the amazing views and the fun-filled evenings at our island bar. Our staff takes pride in being helpful and ensuring our guests have a great experience. We're glad that you found the facilities clean and well-maintained. We can't wait to welcome you back for another fantastic stay at Nomads Magnetic Island! Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to providing you with more amazing memories in the future! Best regards, The Nomads Magnetic Island Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cameron A wrote a review June 2023
2 contributions
The most amazing location for a hostel I have ever seen! Right on the beach front, the bar overlooks the ocean & there isn’t a better spot to relax in the day and enjoy yourself at night! All the bar staff were amazing, super engaging and fun, ensuring everyone had a great time! The reception staff were all friendly & the food was amazing and great value for money. Could not recommend this spot enough!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: 100% stay here if you get the chance!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Base Magnetic Island, Other at Nomads Magnetic Island
Responded 30 June 2023
Hey 675camerona, Thank you for your fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you found our location to be the most amazing for a hostel. We're glad you enjoyed the beautiful beachfront view and the relaxing atmosphere during the day, as well as the fun-filled evenings at the bar. It's wonderful to know that our bar staff provided excellent service, engaging with guests and making sure everyone had a great time. We're proud of our reception staff for being friendly and accommodating. We're delighted that you loved the amazing food options and found them to be great value for money. Thank you for recommending our spot! We truly appreciate your kind words, and we can't wait to welcome you back to Nomads Magnetic Island for more unforgettable experiences! Best regards, The Nomads Magnetic Island Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Magnetic Island area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$90 - AU$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
base backpackers hotel magnetic island
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandMagnetic Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOMADS MAGNETIC ISLAND (AU$90): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nomads Magnetic Island
Which popular attractions are close to Nomads Magnetic Island?
Nearby attractions include Magnetic Island Forts Walk (4.9 km), Geoffrey Bay (3.2 km), and Stage Door (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nomads Magnetic Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Nomads Magnetic Island?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Nomads Magnetic Island?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nomads Magnetic Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include the REEF Bar Cafe, Scallywags Cafe, and Mamma Roma.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nomads Magnetic Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nomads Magnetic Island?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Nomads Magnetic Island?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kissing Point Fort (8.8 km) and National Trust Heritage Centre (11.9 km).
Does Nomads Magnetic Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.