Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel

47-51 Clermont St, Emerald, Queensland 4720 Australia
Traveller (20)
Studio Twin Queen
Room & Suite (29)
$10 Monday night Steak Special
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#4 of 5 small hotels in Emerald
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

47-51 Clermont St, Emerald, Queensland 4720 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Emerald Airport
99Reviews0Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 43
  • 14
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
aussiesinspain wrote a review Mar 2021
Sydney, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has a great website but the room I was in was an average motel room at best. Downstairs with no opening window I was forced to rely on the chugging old air conditioner despite a mild Emerald night.
The room was weirdly configured with little thought to guest convenience, for instance there was no place in the bathroom to put a toiletries bag even briefly. The bar fridge was in the bathroom. You needed to get out of bed to switch off the reading light. Small things but surprising as even older motels do better than this.
On the upside it was cheap, clean, good bedding and comfortable bed. Good location in the middle of town.
Maybe I was assigned a bad room for booking late ( booked a few hours before arrival via the Nightcap website) but the room did not resemble those seen on the website.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antinmelb wrote a review Oct 2022
Melbourne, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had to park and go in to ask directions to get in to park. My bad i should have read the instructions better. The back street just passed the drive in bottle shop.
Three story place, i explained one of us had a dissability and could we have a ground floor room, not a problem,no fuss and we were accomodated into a good room.
The Bathroom could use an update, but plenty of hot water and the whole room was ultra clean, lots of space too.

We ate at the pub which is part of the place, the food was good and it was great to see that they were supporing local youth sporting clubs with meat raffles Bic tick there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emerald Star Hotel, Owner at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel
Responded 27 July 2023
Hi there, Thanks for leaving your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us from our lovely staff to the wonderful food! We look forward to hosting your next visit to Emerald!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LeisaMP wrote a review Aug 2020
Barcaldine
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We always stay at the Star/Nightcap when stopping in Emerald. Cheap rooms that are spacious and clean, they have been modernised, beds are super comfortable, convenient location and off street parking. I wouldn’t recommend it as a “family friendly” hotel because it is at the back of a pub and can be noisy. So if you’re a light sleeper or have young kids in tow, maybe consider elsewhere. Bistro at the Star Hotel on site serves delicious food so that’s a win! Great place for couples or friends looking for cheap, clean accommodation with all the necessities for a night or two.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SanHow wrote a review Aug 2023
Brisbane, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were given Room 30 on third floor and there is no lift only stairs. Told no other rooms available. The room was very small and the toilet was continually running and stained so had been left like this for some time. The shower head wouldn't stay up. The hot tap was all wonky on the basin. Bathroom wasn't very clean. Tiles patched in shower. We complained and were moved to a larger room 27 but the fridge in that room made a terrible vibrating noise all night. The air conditioner remote did not work in Room 27 so could only turn off and on at switch and couldn't set temp. There was no toaster or microwave in either of the rooms. Only 2 bowls and two small plastic cups. The rooms do not look like they are pictured online and are very old and tired and lacking repairs. We paid $144 for one night and previously paid $105 per night for a room way better condition than this with no issues and much cleaner. Would not recommend at this price or if you want to sleep without dripping toilets, taps and noisy fridges. There was complimentary bottled water. That was only plus. Very disappointed and would not return or recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emerald Star Hotel, Owner at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2023
Hi Sanhow, Thank you for your review. We’re sad to see your visit didn’t meet our usually high standards and for that we apologise. We take all feedback provided seriously and use these to improve where we can. Please rest assured we have forwarded these concerns on to our management teams and have recently undergone further training with our housekeeping team to avoid less than perfectly clean rooms in future. We have also had the issues you’ve addressed with these rooms rectified with the help of local tradies. Again, we appreciate the feedback you have provided.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosemary H wrote a review Oct 2023
Hervey Bay, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Could not be more helpful. We got a cip in windscreen, and local O'Brien's was not interested in fixing or helping. But reception could not be more helpful, giving us numbers and contacts for local and Longreach windscreen repairs. We found Che k in easy and friendly. The wonderful lady behind the bar was exceptional with service and friendly. The room was basic and clean, no complaints from us given its a country town, it was great. We also got a complimentary drink vouchet when we checked in to use at the bar.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emerald Star Hotel, Owner at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2023
Hi Rosemary, Thank you for the awesome review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and of course our wonderful staff - they are the best! We hope you got your windscreen sorted out in Longreach and are enjoying the rest of your trip!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda M wrote a review Sept 2021
Townsville, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was clean, spacious and the bed was super comfy. Breakfast pack provided at reception was a bit ordinary. Location was good, close to everything. On line check in was easy. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bar fridge in bathroom:)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian_Pratt wrote a review Jan 2022
Brisbane, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the nightcap for one night in January 2022.

This is a pretty basic facility tacked onto the back of a pub. The room was fairly dated, with barely functional aircon.

Service was efficient and friendly.

I was concerned on a Saturday night that there'd be noise from the attached hotel, but we had absolutely no problems there.

For the price, you could do much worse than this, but don't go in expecting the Hilton!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dave Delanty, General Manager at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2022
Hi Ian, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay overall. Our rooms are in the process of being updated, unfortunately during these times it is just a slower process than usual. It is unfortunate that your air con struggled during your stay and is not a regular issue we have as we ensure they are serviced regularly. We are very happy you found our service to be friendly and we hope we can serve you again next time. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew H wrote a review July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So my business partner and myself ordered a meal. Business partner did nott finish his due to the quality of the produce. Myself on the others hand had the luxury of watching him finish his whole meal before received my entre. Apon receiving entre a asked "is there more to come?" To which I was assured "yes". Another 20 minutes passed and still no results . I have to be up at 330 am to get to work. By the time my meal came out it was time for bed, and I had already made an advance for leaving and asking for my money back. As I was doing this my meal appears. My business partner had finished his quite some time ago and also had to be up early.... I asked for my money back, the answer was I'll have to get my manager( time running short need to get to sleep) I replied I'll take a doggy bag. They then couldn't provide for additional sides that I had paid for. Piled everything into a box and poured entre sauces on top. I paid 70 dollars for this meal and I'm absolutely disgusted in. 1 how this matter was handled and 2 the end result. I have photos of the meal that I left with and 70 dollars is a lot of money for this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emerald Star Hotel, Owner at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel
Responded 27 July 2023
Hi there, Thank you for leaving your feedback. We're sorry to see your visit to our venue was not up to our usually high standards. This is definitely not the kind of experience we wish our guests to have! We can assure you that further training has been provided for our staff to address the concerns you have raised here, particularly the instance of your meals not being received together in a timely manner. We do hope you and your business partner give us another go in future and we would be more than happy to shout you a meal and beverage to make it up to you should you return - just show us your trip advisor account and review to confirm! Again, we apologise for this experience and thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flipping Panda wrote a review 3 June
Darwin, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a room well in advance. The night before completed pre-chreck in and confirmation of booking. Still, on arrival, there was no room available for me. Even worse, it sounded like it was my fault. Never again. Still, they've had no idea if I had been charged for the service never provided.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not think that if your booking is confirmed you will actually get a room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TDS1970 wrote a review Sept 2012
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't let the photo of the room on their website fool you, the rooms are very old, dated, noisy & dirty. After being given the run around about the check in time changing from "oh anytime after 9am" to 2pm I advised that I would like to cancel my booking costing $102.95 & go elsewhere. A frantic call was made to the manager who auddenly appeared & advised "No refunds" I pointed out that they had failed to meet the expectations set by their staff therefore I either wanted a room (it was 12:35) or a refund so I void go elsewhere. Suddenly a room became available. I go up & find a room with a carpet that would send a CSI team into meltdown there were so many stains. There was stops missing from the blinds allowing anyone to look straight in to the room, te light in the toilet didn't work, the hot water tap had been broken off & the concrete and tile work were exposed (and kept falling into the shower) and the icing in the cake was that the pub that this is part of closes at 2am and is as noisy as you could imagine. Save yourself the hassle & go anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Flipping Panda wrote a tip 3 June
Darwin, Australia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not think that if your booking is confirmed you will actually get a room."
Read full review
Linda M wrote a tip Sept 2021
Townsville, Australia199 contributions264 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bar fridge in bathroom:)"
Read full review
Prudence B wrote a tip May 2019
Queensland, Australia48 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a downstairs room away from the kids play area"
Read full review
Diane P wrote a tip Aug 2018
Germany20 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Away from where the band plays."
Read full review
martin m wrote a tip July 2018
Greater Melbourne, Australia94 contributions104 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"go some where else another place to avid"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Emerald area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$122 - AU$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandEmerald
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel (AU$122) - Hotel

Frequently Asked Questions about Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Emerald Train Station (0.08 km) and Emerald Art Gallery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Theo's Cafe, Emerald Star Hotel, and Blah Blah Sandwich Bar.
Is Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Emerald.
Are there any historical sites close to Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Emerald Train Station (0.08 km).
All Emerald HotelsEmerald Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EmeraldHotels near Nightcap at Emerald Star Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars