BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village

Fairbairn Dam Access Road & Selma Road Central Highlands, Emerald, Queensland 4720 Australia
Traveller (144)
Great view from our site
Room & Suite (23)
Pool & Beach (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 5 campsites in Emerald
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Water lovers rejoice - this park is for you. Lake Maraboon is set on the banks of Fairbairn Dam, overlooking the tranquil waters of Lake Maraboon, no less than three times the size of Sydney Harbour. This magnificent location is sure to delight, with endless aquatic pursuits including fishing, swimming and water skiing. Lake Maraboon is fishing heaven, with eight different kinds of fish to catch - but most famous for its plentiful Red Claw Crayfish.Lake Maraboon is midway between Rockhampton and Longreach, under seven hours from Townsville and close to Emerald. The Sapphire Gemfields and coal-mining town of Blackwater are under an hour away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Restaurant
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Mid-range

Location

Fairbairn Dam Access Road & Selma Road Central Highlands, Emerald, Queensland 4720 Australia
Getting there
Emerald Airport
14.2 km
See all flights
178Reviews3Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 62
  • 14
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
dmmcconnachie wrote a review May 2021
Wollongong, Australia68 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lake Maraboon Holiday Village offers a magic combination of water views, recreational opportunities for boating and fishing, a beautiful swimming pool, restaurant - all in a peaceful bushland setting! I have not seen many places so perfectly set up for a relaxing holiday. Added to this is the excellent management by the owners, who run the pro as a family business. Everything is neat, tidy, and well maintained. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Nothing seems to present a problem to them! This is our second visit to this park and I find I just love it even more then first time around. There are lovely cabins available in various sizes, and lots of caravan sites and plenty of parking for boats. The facilities -camp kitchens, Laundry and toilet blocks are all spotlessly clean and very functional. The atmosphere at the park is laid back, friendly and relaxing. I really feel I have “got away from it all” when I come here for a holiday. I would not hesitate to come back regularly - when you find something this good, you should stick to it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This park is spacious - bring your caravan AND your boat! The restaurant serves beaut home cooked...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJTMaroondan wrote a review Apr 2022
Bundaberg, Australia63 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in very easy & friendly. requested 2 nights on a powered van site, no probs, we have a dog, no probs. There are no grass sites as the nature of the area does not allow grass to grow, no probs. There is a licenced bar, swimming pool, restaurant {eat in or take away}. We had pizza on 1 night {better than Dominos & Pizza Hut & ###}. Short walk/drive to dam. Park staff very friendly & helpful.Amenities clean an neat. Yes we would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kym L wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome week away with great service by admin staff Robyn and Mary. Melbourne Cup Day a total experience with sweeps, nibbles and great fun all done by Robyn and Ronnie. What a treat this place is. Relaxed the whole time, took a couple of days to find the red claw but when we did holy moly!
When it gets too hot take a dip in the pool and order a cocktail to be brought out.
Just awesome.
Thanks Robyn, Ronnie and Mary, you all rock!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brent Wright, Other at BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Thsnk you very much for your words, the guys and gals do a great job so again thankyou
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris82255060 wrote a review Aug 2020
Sydney, Australia38 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a villa which was nice, fairly clean but, there was only one scrappy tea towel supplied so I was not confident that cutlery/crockery etc was going to be Covid clean after washing up after dinner and breakfast. Towels were very thin and only supplied bare minimum, only one hand towel for bathroom, extra toilet and kitchen. No shampoo supplied, not a big deal but I did not bother taking any out as said fully equipped and because cabin was not cheap did expect a few more basics. Camp kitchen needs a good scrub and clean, certainly not up to standard let alone in this climate! Restaurant was nice, food good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gai P wrote a review Aug 2021
9 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This Holiday Park had generally good reviews but in hindsight we should have stayed in Emerald, which we were considering. It is 25 minutes out of Emerald and unless you like catching red claw in Fairbairn Dam, there is nothing else to see or do. Our major issue was our campsite. Be warned to check your campsite before paying. We were given site 81 which was very hard to manoeuvre into and probably the smallest site in the park. I had pre booked 2 nights; we didn't just arrive and paid $35 per night for a powered site, like others. After we had set up we walked around the park and both days we were there, there were plenty of much larger sites with some views of the lake. We did consider asking to be moved, but once you're on a site and set up, it is inconvenient. My husband asked if I was rude on the phone when booking - no, I was very pleasant and polite. Perhaps that is taken advantage of?? The reception and restaurant were at the other end of the park. The water had to be boiled before drinking, the laundry nearby was very small with only 2 washers, 1 dryer and no sink. There was a line up for it and my black clothes were covered in lint after washing. We like to support places so ate at the Cafe there and again food was disappointing. There needed to be a dipping sauce with the calamari and redclaw as they were crumbed and the calamari was dry. The redclaw was quite moist. The garlic cream red claw pizza had a hard, overcooked base and little filling. My strawberry daiquiri was good. Prices were reasonable but quality of food needs improving.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Walsh, General Manager at BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village
Responded 8 Sept 2021
WOW! Out of the entire park all you found enjoyable was a strawberry daiquiri? That's a shame. Friendly staff? quiet location? Nice bird life. Firstly, the drive from Emerald is 15 - 25 minutes depending which way you come. Site 81 is definitely not the smallest site in the park, its a shame that you didn't speak up upon seeing your site, because we could have given you alternative options if you had of spoken up. We have had a couple of new people in the office so they are still learning where to put people. (So NO, if you were friendly on the phone that doesn't mean you have been taken advantage of?) At the top end of the park, yes there is 2 washers & 1 dryer, if you had of looked on the end of the amenities block you would have seen the sink. Yes there was an issue with the drinking water, but this was out of our control (SunWater treats our water and they were having issues with the chlorination levels) I suggest in your future travels that you speak up when you have the chance, so the park staff actually have the opportunity to rectify your issues and to save negative reviews like this one because it is very disheartening to read ALL those negative things.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leanne G wrote a review June 2020
Buderim, Australia1,080 contribution133 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed a few nights in an ensuite site. Great having an ensuite but there is a yellow light on all night which shone straight into our camper. Very clean bathroom with everything provided. The camping itself does not look at the dam a few do but mostly the cabins. You can walk down to the dam is about 400 metres. The dog camping spots are at the back of the camp. They do a delivery of food which is so yummy. Great pizza. Beer on tap delivered around 4. Enjoyable stay but not what we thought by the pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jack B wrote a review Aug 2021
Southport, Australia144 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very well spaced out Caravan Park. Right beside the lake in a peaceful setting.
Easy to park and set up as there is plenty of space for each site.
Even homemade pizza is delivered to the van!
away from the highway, so no Road train noises.
we did stay in our Caravan, but cabins are available including wheelchair access.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: actually we stayed in our Caravan, what most people here are doing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
666pecker wrote a review Apr 2024
Bowen, Australia50 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stay. Loads of space and amenities. Very helpful staff. Lots of waking tracks down to the dam.
Plenty of red claw in the dam to be caught.
Pool area in good condition and very fresh in temperature
Will definitely stay here again whilst back out this way.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Park Manager Emerald, Other at BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village
Responded 18 Apr 2024
Thank you for your lovely review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a beautiful a time in the park. We had our spot in the naughty corner, right at the end of the park - nice green spot with lake view and a fridge around the corner (which was awesome as we don't have a fridge in the bus yet). Amenities were nearby and we also enjoyed the fact that you have a individual bathroom with toilette included, which is super practical as you can have a shower and do anything else like getting ready or doing your hair in one go. The amenities were very clean. Pool was nearly empty as we went for a swim, refreshing and clean as well. Staff is very friendly, thank you to the nice lady at the bar for a bit extra Kakao on the Cocktail. Would definitely recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sidney D wrote a review Mar 2020
19 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a family Cabin. Excellent facilities with a great view over the lake especially at sunset.
Several species of birds came in for a feed and some ate from your hand.
Reception staff (Emma) very obliging.
Nice bar to have a quiet ale;
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leanne G asked a question June 2020
Buderim, Australia1,080 contribution133 helpful votes
Are there any walks near the campground or dam?
Answer from Graeme Ryder
Coffs Harbour, Australia313 contributions51 helpful votes
maybe the question needs to be asked directly with the village. Not allowed to include a link in the answer but Google will find it for you. lakemaraboonholidayvillage
Eurong M asked a question Sept 2015
5 contributions9 helpful votes
Is the camping area pet friendly
Answer from Sue P
Ballarat, Australia58 contributions27 helpful votes
Absolutely, lots of people had their dogs with them. We even saw 2 people with their budgies.
Sue wrote a tip 5 May
Miami, Australia62 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"As with most caravan parks, better during the week - less guests"
Read full review
Robert I wrote a tip Aug 2023
Cairns Region, Australia4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hire the boat for the day, it’s very good value."
Read full review
enners78 wrote a tip July 2022
Melbourne92 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Discuss site sizes. They vary a lot."
Read full review
Jack B wrote a tip Aug 2021
Southport, Australia144 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"actually we stayed in our Caravan, what most people here are doing."
Read full review
dmmcconnachie wrote a tip May 2021
Wollongong, Australia68 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This park is spacious - bring your caravan AND your boat! The restaurant serves beaut home cooked food, but you must place your order by 4pm"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Emerald area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$154 - AU$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandEmerald
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG4 LAKE MARABOON HOLIDAY VILLAGE (AU$154): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Emerald) - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village
What are some of the property amenities at BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Emerald HotelsEmerald Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EmeraldHotels near BIG4 Lake Maraboon Holiday Village
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars