Cooktown Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cooktown Holiday Park

31 - 41 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895 Australia
Traveller (22)
2 Bedroom Cabin - Fully Self-contained
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 7 campsites in Cooktown
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Self Contained Cabins/Units and Powered Sites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range

Location

31 - 41 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 44 out of 100
44
Cooktown Airport
174Reviews2Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 62
  • 9
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LinnieA1 wrote a review Sept 2020
Cooroy, Australia29 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff are helpful and friendly and show you to your site and assist with parking.
Facilities consist of 2 rows of self contained bathrooms with shower, vanity and toilet which are clean and spacious. Laundry room has washers & dryers but is generally quite busy possibly due to Cooktown's location near to remote areas so campers bring loads of washing back with them but there are plenty of lines for drying. There are lots of trees so sites are mostly shady. Close to town. Take Aeroguard.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 14 Sept 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. Your feedback on our Staff, Park and facilities is great. Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharee G wrote a review Aug 2020
Gold Coast, Australia31 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights. Beautiful park and the dearest in town. We were put on site 38 which faces the trees and a narrow waterway. Perhaps it was a drain but didn't look or smell like one. The site was large and toilets and showers were close. Laundry, unisex shower/toilet blocks were very clean. Large rotary hoists for clothes lines, lovely swimming pool area and large camp kitchen all very clean. Washing and dryers cost $4.00 a load. Fish cleaning/wash bay and cost for washing cars $6.00.
We walked Webber Esplanade which is a lovely parkland and from there into town. We also walked up Grassy Hill to view the lovely Cooktown a great view from there. We were surprised when we arrived in Cooktown on how clean and nice this little town is. They have done the foreshore up beautifully, even with a small splash park for the kids.
We are happy we decided to come and visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. Your feedback on our Park and facilities is wonderful as well as for our little town. We look forward to welcoming you again. Safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just off the main street the park has easy entry and parking access for vehicles of all types. It's a peaceful location with plenty of shady trees.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to ensure your needs and requests are met.
The cabins are holiday park average size but the internal lay out was spacious and so much better than some of the cabins we have stayed in at holiday parks. There is plenty of space for eskys and suitcases inside, a nice patio at the front, decent size kitchen with all the utensils required. My most pleasant surprise was the amount of charging points - there were so many we could charge all of our devices at once which is a luxury most cabins don't seem to have.
There is a pool with a shallow end suitable for toddlers and a great BBQ/Outdoor kitchen area for the camping sites.
If you've got a boat there is ample parking and designated fish cleaning areas. There is a space to wash your car/boat if required and ice and bait for sale in the office.
Very comfortable stay for our family and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 9 Feb 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. We appreciate your wonderful feedback on our Park and facilities.. We look forward to welcoming you back to the park in the not too distant future. Safe Travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan D wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Cabins are old and outdated. Expected to clean dishes with a quarter of a scouring pad that looked like it had been used by the previous 20 guests. The freezer in the family rooms is older and outdated then the normal rooms. I don’t know how they expect you to feed a family from a fridge freezer that one person would struggle living out off. If other guest choose to stay the night even if there are available beds in the room they will charge extra $20 per person. Even though you paid for the room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 25 Feb 2021
HI Ryan, I am sorry to hear that you had concerns with your room and that you did not address with us during your stay. All rooms are provided with a large non-scratch scourer and a smaller one. All motel rooms are supplied with Top Mount Fridge/Freezers which is more than what is normally supplied in Motel Rooms. Your room (booked by your employer) was for 1 person. Any additional guests are charged at $20.00 per person. It is also our policy as discussed with you, that due to the COVID Health Plan and Emergency purposes we are to be advised of all additional people on site and relevant paperwork to be completed. I am also disappointed that during your stay you were addressed regarding noise levels of yourself and your visitors.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob D wrote a review July 2020
Ipswich, Australia46 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay, relaxed, clean facilities and well managed during CIVOD-19.
Tammy on front counter was the most cheerful host we have met on our travels.
I unfortunately reversed into a paml tree and smashed my trailer plug - Tammy to the rescue, with ideas on where I could get an auto electrician for a repair that afternoon, her first suggestion was great, close by and repaired in an hour at a reasonable price.
Another great feature is the escort to your site, guidance to get in - saved a divorce, my wife hates giving directions to park.
My pick of the parks in Cooktown.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: This is a caravan Park, it has cabins and a motel. Van sites are shady and well grassed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 9 July 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. Your feedback on our services and facilities are greatly appreciated. Our staff are here to provide you with the stress free holiday we all now want! We look forward to welcoming you to Cooktown in the near future. Safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine L wrote a review May 2022
Tarwin Lower, Australia3,330 contributions248 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were originally staying here for four nights because we had a flight to Cape York organised but there were fuel problems and our trip was pushed back and we heard about this on our way so we booked in for seven nights and now we are quite happy we did. The service on booking was excellent and friendly, we were led around to our site and assisted with the backing in, our site is large and secluded and backs onto the creek. There is a problem with sandflies here so we have made sure we have all the protection we need. The park is close to town and has a real tropical feel to it, the outlook from our van is very pretty and the amenities are well maintained. Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 30 July 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. Your feedback on our Staff, Park & facilities is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future. Safe Travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise H wrote a review July 2022
Inverell, Australia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very clean and tidy caravan park. Lovely staff. The amenities are single rooms with toilet and showers, seat and sink - perfect for families with little ones. Laundry with washers and dryers. There are courtesy buses that run you into town for meals so you can set up and leave the car at home. Recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 30 July 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. Your feedback on our staff and facilities is appreciated. We wish you safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DFraserfam wrote a review Jan 2020
Darwin, Australia7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom cabin. Our first cabin had a problem with the smoke alarm & the staff were very helpful and moved us to an alternative cabin. The kids loved the pool & I enjoyed relaxing on the pool lounge. The cabin was neat & tidy with everything we needed. My only complaint would be that the curtains were super thin & the sun came beaming through early in the mornings.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CHPManager, Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. Your feedback on our Parks accommodation and facilities is appreciated and great to hear you had a nice chill out whilst here. We trust that you had no further vehicle troubles on your way south. Safe travels and Happy New Year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
twyfordjones wrote a review June 2021
Mooloolaba, Australia245 contributions110 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely large, grassy powered site for our tent. We spent 3 nights here. The caravan park is very clean with great friendly staff. Loved the roomy bathrooms, set up like an ensuite, very clean, with a mop to clean up after use. The laundry had plentry of machines. The camp kitcken was well set up and we cooked our dinner here 2 nights. Guests were friendly and very polite. We spent a morning by the pool to do the washing, catching up on bookings etc. Great, relaxing area. Great relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 5 June 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. Thanks for the great feedback on our staff and amenities. Great that you could relax and enjoy! Safe travels and we look forward to a further visit in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul N wrote a review June 2022
Brisbane, Australia115 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Accomodation was a cabin. We found the cabin clean and comfortable. The only problem was the stove took a long time to heat and when using both hot plates could not work them separately.
Price was reasonable and the park owner was able to give guidance on what attractions were best to see.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you book early to avoid disappointment.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Martland, General Manager at Cooktown Holiday Park
Responded 30 July 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cooktown Holiday Park. Your feedback on the facilities is appreciated. I will look into if you reported any faults with the stove during your stay. We wish you safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James M asked a question Jan 2020
Canberra, Australia13 contributions6 helpful votes
Are you dog friendly?
Answer from CHPManager
Cooktown, Australia
Hi, Thank you for your recent enquiry. Sorry No Pets!
Answer from CHPManager
Cooktown, Australia
Hi Jenny, Only 5 of the 2 Bedroom Cabins have a Queen Bed, all other accommodation have Double Beds. Cheers
Paul N wrote a tip June 2022
Brisbane, Australia115 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book early to avoid disappointment."
Read full review
Bob D wrote a tip July 2020
Ipswich, Australia46 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a caravan Park, it has cabins and a motel. Van sites are shady and well grassed."
Read full review
DeeL2911 wrote a tip Sept 2019
Greater Bendigo, Australia31 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Such friendly service, with great amenities...."
Read full review
Martin D wrote a tip Oct 2018
Poole, United Kingdom59 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We brought our own room"
Read full review
Bob N wrote a tip Aug 2018
14 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a Caravan Park"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cooktown area.
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCook ShireCooktown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COOKTOWN HOLIDAY PARK: 2023 Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cooktown Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Cooktown Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Cooktown Museum (0.9 km), Cooktown History Centre (1.2 km), and Isabella Falls (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cooktown Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an outdoor pool, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Cooktown Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Cooktown Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include River of Gold Motel Restaurant, Balcony Restaurant, and Gilld n Guttd Seafood Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cooktown Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is Cooktown Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Cooktown.
Are there any historical sites close to Cooktown Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cooktown History Centre (1.2 km).
All Cooktown HotelsCooktown Hotel DealsHotels near Cooktown Holiday Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars