Cape Trib Beach House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cape Trib Beach House

Extremely OVERPRICED for a old tired room
Traveller (406)
Room & Suite (62)
Cape Trib Beach House
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
AU$240
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
AU$240
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Multiple ways to pay
AU$208
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hostels in Cape Tribulation
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Where the Daintree Rainforest meets the Great Barrier Reef, this location is the only place in the world where two world heritage sites meet, and Cape Trib Beach House calls it home. This rustic retreat is the ideal place to escape and disconnect from the world, while immersing yourself in the stunning natural surrounds. Experience the peace and quiet of the picturesque private beach frontage and discover the abundance of plant and wildlife while exploring the 110-million year old rainforest. Cape Trib Beach House offers a range of accommodation options from private beachfront cabins to family rooms sleeping up to four or six as well as shared dorm rooms; all air-conditioned. Enjoy meals at Tides Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner serving Australian and international cuisine. The relaxing vibe and inviting natural environment will have you enjoying some time just 'being' - being with family and friends, being with the environment and being at one with yourself.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Board games / puzzles
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
703Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 417
  • 168
  • 73
  • 24
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
gcpaterson wrote a review July 2022
Adelaide, Australia18 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was an amazingly unique experience. Was quite surreal to think that the rooms are nestled in the middle of the Daintree forest. Amazing plants & wildlife to see right outside of room. The staff were fantastic, especially the bar & restaurant staff who made an enjoyable environment at the bar area, some good laughs with the customers. Good food at the restaurant and prices were very reasonable. Amazing beach paradise just a few steps, onto a private beach area, lots of walks and heaps of things to see. Lots of day walks in easy reach, the reception staff very helpful to provide advice & directions. We loved being offline for a few days, felt like absolute paradise, was hard to leave and go back to reality.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annonymous wrote a review Aug 2021
Lochinvar, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Accommodation was clean, basic and bijou. My only gripe was they were nowhere near full capacity but still insisted on jam packing everyone next to each other as 2 cabins are adjoining. It would have been far more desirable not to constantly have a neighbour right next to you when there was plenty of options to be more seperated. The restaurant was perfection and we had the nicest steak and our overall food was really delicious. Location was excellent but the whole thing with being so close to neighbours was when it wasn't necessary makes me score this a 4 and not a 5.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter M wrote a review Oct 2020
Ingham, Australia5 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you must have internet wifi and phones 24 hours a day this is not for you. We were free of all this and loved every minute of it. To be surrounded by rainforest and still have the sound of waves made for a special stay. Thanks to corona chaos, the restaurant menu was somewhat limited, but produced delicious food served by friendly and cheerful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: St Crispin cabins would be best for couples
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma R wrote a review Aug 2020
Broadbeach, Australia114 contributions31 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok so the location is spectacular and not what I was disappointed about in the slightest but you can get way better accommodation in the same area with the same type of location (beach and rainforest).

The disappointment started the second I checked in. The young girl at the front desk was friendly enough but we were completely ignored by the older lady standing next to her not even a look in the eye or so much as a hi, very rude.

Then we got to our room and it did’t even have so much as a proper window! Sorry but the whole point when staying in the middle of the rainforest is to be able to see the rainforest when your in an ‘eco cabin’.

They put us in a cabin facing the walkway when other cabins facing the rainforest were available and the same type as what we paid for. Again not thought out and gives off the attitude of “I don’t really give a toss how your stay is”.

The restaurant and bar was only open for 2 hours in the evening with no other food or drink options available despite the resort advertising a restaurant. If you want breakfast you have to drive about 10 mins. No cooking or facilities other than a kettle and fridge available in the rooms.

The room was sub-par cleaned with the kettle unusable due to being so dirty. No water jug available either or place to buy water.

Don’t waste your money the resort needs a bug kick up the ass because you could do so much better with the facilities you have onsite. I feel like I wasted a time and money on my stay with you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holly wrote a review Nov 2020
5 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped in at Cape Tribulation Beach House hoping for a nice breakfast (as only a few places offer breakfast).
They unfortunately had a very small limited menu with no cold drink options (smoothy/juice).
We ordered a hot chocolate while we enjoyed the space but they were terrible and just a hot cup of milk.
We understand being remote is difficult but we left feeling disappointed in our choice. Hoping the team can improve.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruth Kuzmanovic, Marketing at Cape Trib Beach House
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Hello, I am so sorry to hear that you had this experience at our onsite Tides Bar & Restaurant. I am disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience dining with us and left our restaurant feeling let down and disappointed. We do now have many cold drinks including juice's, water and a full bar. If you are able to send an email to reservations@capetribbeach.com.au with more information about the day and time that you dined with us we will follow it up internally. We do hope that if you are visiting Cape Tribulation in the future that you give our restaurant another try. Best, Megan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan128 wrote a review Jan 2020
Rockaway, NJ36 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, comfortable cabins in the rainforest. Ours (St. Crispin 1) was located near the pool and restaurant and had air conditioning that kept things cool and relatively dry. The cabin has a small fridge and has instant coffees, teas and small containers of milk. There is a outbuilding with a shared kitchen and the restaurant has surprisingly delicious food. The beach is beautiful but don't swim! Just remember that you are in the rainforest so you may encounter insects, other wildlife and things tend to be rather moist. This resort puts you there with the creature comforts.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CAPETRIBBEACHHOUSE, Public Relations Manager at Cape Trib Beach House
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Beach House. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our beachside St Crispin Cabins in the heart of the Daintree Rainforest. You have described our cabins and the facilities that we provide to guests really well and I am so glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the delicious meals served at our onsite Tides Bar & Restaurant. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future :) Best, Morgan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amandaj2010 wrote a review Aug 2020
Gold Coast, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I had high expectations since it was recommended to us but I have mixed feelings & dont know if I’d recommend it..

PROS
✔️ Great area to disconnect & be close to nature
✔️ Pretty good price for the area
✔️ Beautiful private beach
✔️ Good location
CONS
✖️no kitchen facilities & no beach campfires. (Covid)
✖️Internet is only in the cafe & you pay for it & it’s spotty. Can’t get it in the rooms
✖️Nice but limited menu
✖️ We thought we had a single cabin but it was a quad block so you could hear everything from neighbours. Only single rooms are the beachfront ones.
✖️Also thought most of rooms were beachfront but only 3 are & they’re not unobstructed views.
✖️ Walk to our rooms was about 400m with a bit of an incline/decline so not great if you’re not fit or have issues with exercise or disability etc

The nature & beach were Lovely & was a good location but don’t think we’d return. Would definitely suit ppl who don’t mind no internet & a more basic back to nature experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruth Kuzmanovic, Marketing at Cape Trib Beach House
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post your review we appreciate your feedback
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curious47850018557 wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family of four stayed at this resort for one night and the experience was wonderful. We had moved out of a nearby resort that was very bad. Cape Tribulation Beach House is set right in the heart of the rainforest and the bar/restaurant/pool area is a one minute walk to Cape Tribulation Beach. We arose at 6am after being woken up by the chirping and calling of the birds in the rainforest. What a way to be woken up! We walked down to the beach to see the magnificent sunrise. The walk took 5 minutes. The bungalows from the outside might look old but the bedding, furnishings etc inside the bungalows are top notch. The bar/restaurant/pool area is very nice and we had the opportunity to play games like Pictionary from the games supplied by the resort. The staff were helpful and the cleaning staff were very prompt. The food at the restaurant was quite good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mdjtravel wrote a review Feb 2020
Greater Sydney, Australia72 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Cape Trib Beach House for 1 night in a Mackay cabin. These cabins are very close to the beach, pool and restaurant/bar.
The cabin itself was clean and adequate, a basic standard of accommodation but as others have said quite fitting for the location and definitely sympathetic to the beautiful surroundings.
It is quite a way from where you park, doesn’t seem too far going downhill but you definitely feel the return trip! I certainly second other comments to minimise your luggage for this reason.
The pool was cool and relaxing after a hot day, and it was great to go straight from the pool to the bar and dinner.
The restaurant and bar facilities look fairly basic but the dinner was very good and the service friendly and efficient.
The front desk service was very good and efficient and we were given numerous local suggestions for our day which were clearly explained to us.
I have rated this stay highly not because it was luxurious, but because of the overall experience and service in a stunning and remote location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Morgan Pettersson, Marketing at Cape Trib Beach House
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Beach House. I am so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time and rated your stay so highly. It sounds as though the customer service you received, presentation and cleanliness of our cabins and the delicious food at our restaurant could not have been better. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future in the paradise that is Cape Tribulation :) Best, Morgan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caroline wrote a review June 2021
MidEastTripper22 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I recently spent an overnight at Cape Trib Beach House. Had stayed here a few years ago and loved it. Latest stay was equally good. Cabin was very comfortable and clean, lots of space for luggage and very comfy bed. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful.

Only disappointment this time was the restaurant which I recall being very good previously. The menu is reasonable but the kitchen staff were few and seriously under the pump...may not have read our order properly...some guidance on ingredient pairing and presentation needed.

Look forward to returning!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Cabins are well spaced throughout the property. Cabins located near the restaurant are also near...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from CAPETRIBBEACHHOUSE
Aussie out and about24 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi Steve, Unfortunately despite being able to swim off our beach in the past- we can no longer recommend you do this. There have been crocodile sightings off the beach and we urge travelers to be careful around the water. However we are so blessed in this part of the world to have access to some of the most pristine freshwater swimming holes in the world. All of which are safe to swim in and very close to the Beach House. Emmagen Creek and Mason's swimming hole are both perfect for a refreshing dip- check out more information and pictures at our website.Our resort also has a pool right next to the beach so you can still enjoy a safe swim on-site. Look forward to seeing you soon- please email reservations if you have any further questions Thanks
Sonali B asked a question Feb 2018
55 contributions1 helpful vote
Is this beach house near Cape Tribulation horse riding company?
Answer from CAPETRIBBEACHHOUSE
Aussie out and about24 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi Sonali, Yes the Horse Rides are a 5 minute drive away from our resort, however they provide transfers before each ride. If you are staying with us please let reception know that you require a transfer and they will pick you up. Hope to see you soon! Bridget
Answer from DJANGO000
Rotorua, New Zealand125 contributions12 helpful votes
The beach house is quite secluded with limited shops. The beach house is suppose to be self sufficient. Most of the stuff is delivered from the main land.
Answer from CAPETRIBBEACHHOUSE
Aussie out and about24 contributions3 helpful votes
Easy Ok getting here any car can make it - road is sealed right to our door. No problemo. Heading further north - I suggest a tour Darcy of Daintree - takes a day to drive around the Bloomfield - spectacular.
Answer from CAPETRIBBEACHHOUSE
Aussie out and about24 contributions3 helpful votes
Wow - good question. No you cannot use public transport, there are 4 bus companies however that come up daily - Active Tropics Explorer, Capet Trib Connections. ,The Adventure Company and Jungle Tours :)
Tony_No wrote a tip Apr 2024
Great Missenden, United Kingdom99 contributions153 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check their room types on their website before booking and do email the hotel if you're not sure which room type is best for you"
Read full review
Russell M wrote a tip Dec 2023
13 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not suitable for mature guests and rooms very basic. Do not pay in advance told reception not for us within 1hr and told bad luck you paid"
Read full review
Rebecca wrote a tip July 2023
Adelaide, Australia2,216 contributions258 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Crazy busy around 12:30"
Read full review
g s wrote a tip Jan 2023
Cairns, Australia56 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here. There are way better places"
Read full review
Steven H wrote a tip Dec 2022
5 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with a kitchen (elsewhere)!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Tribulation area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$199 - AU$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cape trib beach house hotel cape tribulation
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandDaintree RegionCape Tribulation
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CAPE TRIB BEACH HOUSE (AU$199): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Cape Tribulation) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cape Trib Beach House
Which popular attractions are close to Cape Trib Beach House?
Nearby attractions include Marrdja Botanical Walk (1.9 km), Dubuji Boardwalk (5.6 km), and Cape Trib Farm (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cape Trib Beach House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Cape Trib Beach House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cape Trib Beach House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cape Trib Beach House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cape Trib Beach House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whet Restaurant, Turtle Rock Cafe, and Tides Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cape Trib Beach House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Cape Trib Beach House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cape Tribulation HotelsCape Tribulation Hotel DealsHotels near Cape Trib Beach House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars